We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I shal return - Inch Allah” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Amina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Amina to your Saves list
Riad Amina
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Sidi ben Slimane Derb Si Mouh No 1, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #245 of 1,113 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saint-Martin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I shal return - Inch Allah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Staid a week in 2009.
Amina and the Medina took me right back to 1964 and my first visit to Marrakech.
Accomodation with copper wash basin in the bathroom, large comfortable bed a little pool, Nice people and good tagine. What else...
Around 4;30 go to the terrace and listen to the muezzins calling the faithful to the afternoon salat ( prayer ). The moroccan culture will hit you full strengh head and heart.
galisbay11@yahoo.com
( 2009 cannot be selected in the proposed dated of stay )

Room Tip: Depends on the travellers ability to handle of the steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    29
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
64
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This was our second trip to marakech and although this riad was not as luxurious as our last one the service is second to none nothing is too much trouble for Miriam and her team it is a very sociable riad and we loved it would recommend this riad Miriam gives you a welcome talk and goes through maps in detail and gives advice on where to visit I will definitely be going back

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Staff and the level of service here is very good, our room was kept spotlessly clean as were most of the public areas, same couldn't be said for the plunge pool which was only cleaned on the last day of our 14 day holiday. We stayed half board, breakfast was continental style, bread, cake and pancakes with fresh juice tea and coffee, evening meals varied, some were very good, others not so, one even arriving not properly cooked. We weren't always given 3 courses and bananas with cream or ice cream for dessert became rather monotonous after five consecutive days. We did bring this to the riads attention and there was an improvement. The Riad was almost empty during our entire stay, this may have impacted on the menu and pool, the manager had said that the bombing had affected their bookings.
If you want the real experience then this is the place to stay, I would add that it has mosques around it which call to prayer starting at 4.30am so if you are a light sleeper you might want to take this into consideration.

There isn't a great deal to see and do in Marrakech, three to four days and you can see and do just about everything so if like us you like to keep reasonalbly busy then maybe do marrakech as part of a tour which most others calling at the riad seemed to be doing. Do go into the souks without a guide, yes you will almost certainly get lost but you will find your way out again and that is half the fun. Visit the Ensemble Artisanal first as this will give you an idea of the proper prices you should be paying, there are also some fixed price shops here - if your bartering skills aren't too hot your money will go further here but give bartering a try just for the fun of it, they will start with hugely inflated prices but remember you can always walk away. Try out a Hammam - Bains de Marrakech is amazing, best massage I've ever had and I've had a few worldwide. It's a total experience, for a hammam and a massage we were 3 1/2 hours, don't be fooled by the exterior it's very high class.

Avoid the tanneries, they're dirty and smelly, not very much to see, you will be taken to a not very good quality shop afterwards and be expected to buy something as well as pay for the privelidge of your two minute tour.

You also need to be a bit savvy, in order to try and get you to visit certain carpet and spice shops where the locals will get a commision they will spin stories that can be very convincing and they can work in pairs - they will tell you that places are closed, roads are closed, that they work in your hotel and will send you completely in the wrong direction. Just remember - nothing in Marrakech is free, cheap maybe but not free.

Taking money into Marrakech is controlled but don't worry, there are plenty of ATM's and banks and a money exchange in the airport. The rate is fixed by the government so it doesn't matter where you get your cash but remember to exchange it back before you leave, you get money right down to £1 coins so you don't lose out.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaneohe, Hawaii
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

I stayed at Riad Amina for 5 nights and I strongly reccomend this riad. This riad is very quiet and beautiful with excellent service right in the heart of Marrakech. The employees were all very kind, respecting, and helpful and I will never forget them.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

An excellent Riad - small and friendly, with superb service. Nora and Miriam, always made sure we had everything we needed, gave good advice and sorted out trips, taxis, restaurants etc for us when asked. The staff are all friendly and helpful and the Riad is a true oasis. When you are dropped off from the taxi in the main square, there is a guide to show you how to get to the Riad - only a few minutes walk - we changed some money at the Riad so we could give him a small tip of 20 MADs. (just under £2.00) a lovely restaurant called Dar Zellij is "round the corner" and a member of staff will walk you there to make sure you find your way and collect you if you are worried about the streets at night. We felt very safe though.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

I am writing this whilst still in the Riad which goes some way to showing how they have blended tbe modern (free wifi) with the old and traditional without compromising on either! From the moment you arrive, which in our case was late due to delays the staff were their waiting and had refreshments on hand and a no pressure approach to everything. As previously mentioned the staff are fabulous in that nothing is too much effort including fresh flowers each day, even down to folding, ironing and organising our clothes which due to the late hour we had hardly unpacked properly! Breakfast is a relaxed and varied affair with fresh breads and orange juice always available. The riad also sells local beer and wine which although slightly pricey is a rare commodity in and around the old town! I would have no hesitations in recommending this place to anyone as it really is a fabulous little location, as long as you can find your way back!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

We stayed at Riad Amina four night in June 2010 and wish it was a more extended visit. The riad is an oasis away from the hustle and bustle of the streets of marrakech. I couldn't praise the staff more. The room was immaculate and every day they added a nice little touch to our room with fresh flowers or scattered rose petals etc, you certainly noticed the attention to detail. The staff are very helpful and speak good English as most people in Morocco do. Riad Amina is situated in the heart of the old town just a short stroll to "Djemma El Fna Square" and the Souks. It's the perfect location if you wish to see, feel and breathe Marrakech at it's beautiful best. Anyone who stays at one of the big international hotels in favour of a Riad is missing out on so much. I'll finish on saying Marrakech is very safe to walk at any time of the day or night, just watch out for the scooters.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Amina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amina

Address: Sidi ben Slimane Derb Si Mouh No 1, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 1,113 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Amina 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Amina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Amina Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Amina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.