We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A uniquely charming oasis in the midst of the medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Boussa

Save Saved
You added Riad Boussa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Boussa
192 Derb Jdid - Dabachi | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #8 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Waedenswil, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A uniquely charming oasis in the midst of the medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We have been so much spoilt by the warm welcome and the hospitality receveived during our - unfortunately too short - stay of just one night in Marrakech. Not only is the riad situated in the midst of the medina, its perfectly styled interieur and decor give you the feel of a truly Moroccan guesthouse. As the building has kept its original structure, the interior climate is most refreshing so that we did not have to make use of air conditioning. Brigitte, owner and manager of the riad, is most familiar with Marrakech and can give you any advice including on public transport. The dinner served in the patio was most delicious and we enjoyed the company of Brigitte and her crew while having a chance to exchange with other guests. Being served the breakfast on the roof terrace was a last great experience before we had to leave for the airport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beurgit, Propriétaire at Riad Boussa, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Peter,
Thank you for your message and the pictures.
It was the first time for you but not for Mélanie, your daughter.
She stays with you this time.
The Riad BOUSSA is her house at Marrakech. She stays here every year and recommand the riad to the others members of your family (your other daughter, Max and Ursula..).
You liked it ? Perfect, sure you will stay more than one night next time, before to go to Essaouira or before to come back in Switzerland.
Come back this summer !!
Kind regards
Brigitte and the Riad BOUSSA staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    728
    53
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
113
304
67
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed at the Riad Boussa for five nights and highly recommend it. The Riad is centrally located, a five minute walk to the Souks and ten minute walk to the Square, and provides a peaceful retreat from the activity of the markets. Brigette, Ali and staff are extremely personable, which adds a very friendly atmosphere to the Riad. They really like to engage with their guests, and were helpful with recommendations for restaurants and activities. The rooms are not large, but are comfortable and well-appointed. We have daughters (10 and 13) which slept in the loft bedroom. This worked perfectly for us, although could be cramped for larger/older children. Ideal for two kids between 6-12, I would say, as have to be old enough to climb the ladder. The terrace is a lovely retreat and a perfect spot to have the delicious fresh breakfast.

Room Tip: The room that slept four people is perfect for a family of four with middle-aged kids (~6-12).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beurgit, Propriétaire at Riad Boussa, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Ann and Jim,
Thank you so much for your kind message on tripadvisor.
We always try to do the best for our guests and if you were enjoyed, we are enjoyed too of course !
You took few minutes to share your feeling with the future guests and it's really nice from you.
We will be glad to welcome you later or your friends and family.
Best wishes from all of us.
Brigitte
Riad BOUSSA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Last March we stayed with Brigitte. The location is perfect, central but away from the crowds. The rooms and the Riad are very tastefully decorated and clean. The breakfast is delicious. Even in the early morning of departure she prepared us a breakfast. We enjoyed her enthusiasm for Marrakech and she was very helpfull to book for us some nice restaurants. And Brigitte sent us some nice souvenirs from Marakkech we wanted but couldn't find at the Souks. Thank you Brigitte and staff for the very nice stay, we hope to come back very soon!

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beurgit, Propriétaire at Riad Boussa, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Sofie,
Thank you for your message. We were enjoyed to welcome and take care of you.
It wasn't a problem to be awake early for your breakfast...
And you have received today the metal buttons you didn't have enough time to buy because your departure. It's perfect !!
Kind regards from all of us.
Brigitte
Riad BOUSSA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We are very happy to have chosen Riad Boussa for a 6 night stay in March 2013. Brigitte welcomed us warmly and was very generous with her advice and help - she went out of her way to make our stay an enjoyable one. The Riad itself is beautiful, calm and peaceful, and our room was great - very comfortable and clean. From our arrival when we were picked up at the airport and brought to the Riad (a good option to avoid getting lost in the tiny medina backstreets) until we left, everything went smoothly. When we arrived we sat down with Brigitte and she gave us good advice about places to see and good places to eat in Marrakesh; she also arranged for us to stay for one night at the Riad Watier in Essaouira (also a fantastic place). On our final day and at very short notice Brigitte organised a trip into the mountains with a private driver (a great guy called Noureddine) to 3 valleys including the verdant Ourika. The whole team at Boussa were lovely - Ali and the girls in the kitchen were very friendly and the standard of service was very high: lovely breakfasts in the patio, a gorgeous fish tagine one evening, rooms cleaned spotlessly every day. We highly recommend Riad Boussa - you won't be disappointed! Thank you Brigitte, Ali and everyone at Riad Boussa for a marvellous stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beurgit, Propriétaire at Riad Boussa, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Hello Patrick and Marion,
Thank you for your message.
It was really a plesure to welcome you and your mum for few days.
You stayed enough time to enjoy Marrakech, Essaouira and the mountains.
But come back later to relax again on the terrace with a delicious mint tea..and for more adventures.
Boussa (kisses) from all of us
Brigitte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Riad Boussa for 4 nights in March. It was an excellent stay - Bridgette was extremely helpful; she arranged a day trip for us to the high atlas mountains (which was a highlight of our trip to Morocco) and made us an appt at a hammam. All of the staff were very friendly - no request was too much trouble. Our room was very nice and cozy; the lounge areas were great to relax after a busy day out esp when the fire was lit. The location was good - very close to the square. Overall great stay and highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beurgit, Propriétaire at Riad Boussa, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Lena,
Thank you for your message.
We were enjoyed to welcome and help you to make your stay very enjoyable.
Thank you to have shared your feeling with the futures guests.
Brigitte and Riad BOUSSA staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We've spent a wonderful time at the Riad Boussa, although it's one night only.

The location is very central - like 5 minutes to the famous square and market. Our room is a twin bed room on the first floor , very tidy and clean. I like the Riad's open lounge, it's nice decorated and cozy. It also has a wonderful terrace where you can enjoy Shisha and sunshine, or moon light...

Most importantly, the people here are very very nice and welcoming! ( Thank you Brigitte and Ali!) We had the chance to enjoyed/or learn the Darbuka , in the form of a mini concert from the people in the Riad. Very impressive!

I will highly recommend this Riad to all of you, and surely you will find your unique experience here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beurgit, Propriétaire at Riad Boussa, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Stephanie,
Only one night booked at Riad BOUSSA but a special one with your friends and Ali with mint tea and chicha party !! The music was for the day after, too noisy on the terrace at 2.00am, of course !
Come back when you want....Uk is not so far....
We will welcome you with pleasure for more fun.
Warmest regards from all the staff, especially Ali, of course.
Brigitte
Riad BOUSSA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

It was actually a happy coincidence that we stayed in this cosy little Riad that was an absolute delight embedded in the quiet alleyway that's really close to the square el fna. We stayed for just one night but it was enough for the whole befriending and falling in love with every working staff in the Riad (special thanks to Brigitte the owner and Ali). Brigitte was wonderful in helping us in every possible way. She was so kind and gentle. We felt like midnight shisha and cigarettes so Ali carefully prepared everything and stayed up with us till 4 in the morning. He's such a great person We spent quality time together and we simply couldn't stop laughing because of his jokes and everything(he's even funny in English! how hard is that!) anyway, it's a great place to stay, regardless.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beurgit, Propriétaire at Riad Boussa, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hello Olivia,
Only one night at Riad BOUSSA but good moments shared with my staff and I.
You were sooooooooo nice like your three friends.
Stay in a second riad was for you an excellent way to enjoy a different atmosphere.
Come back again, you have many things to do again in this amazing city !
Warmest riads from my staff, especially Ali, of course !!
Brigitte
Riad BOUSSA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Boussa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Boussa

Address: 192 Derb Jdid - Dabachi | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from Jemma el Fna Square, in a peacefull alley, you will find the restful place you are looking for.Enjoy the patio's coolness in summer days, seat and relax around the fire place in the winter.Cosy lounges, shady terrace, confortable bedrooms.Let us greet you to the ideal place for an ideal stay into an unparalleled magical atmosphere of Marrakech and enjoy, in our place, true maroccan lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Boussa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Boussa Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Boussa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.