We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 2nd Stay At The Riad Zolah” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Zolah

Save Saved
You added Riad Zolah to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Zolah
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   114-116 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, El Haouz, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
England
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Our 2nd Stay At The Riad Zolah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

This was our 2nd stay at the Riad Zolah, as we preiously stayed in August 2007. We stayed for 9 nights in Suite 6 which is on the roof terrace and has recently been extended. It is a great room, with large king size bed, sitting area and large bathroom. We ate at the Riad on 2 seperate occasions, and their portions were 'very' generous. We recommend the beef tagine as part of the 3 course menu. I was a little disapointed with the pizza i had on the last night as it was quite expensive (£12), but the morrocan food they serve is great and well priced. On one night we went to Bo Zin which is a taxi ride away and they serve Thai food. The food is great and the atmosphere is great, and i would recommend the Thai Beef (£15). Another great restaurant is Le Foundouk, which is a 15 minute walk from the Riad, near the Marrakech Museum. Great quality food at a reasonable price (around £10 per main course).

Ishmail, Aziz and the rest of the staff were once again friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. Ishmail arranged a couple of excurrsions for us, one was to the water park which was good fun and the other was an afternoon at Locoquad, which was quad biking about a 15 minute ride away. Locoquad pick you up and take you back and this transfer is included in the price. For a quad bike with my partner as a passenger, it came to around £75. The quad biking lasted for around 3 hours and included a stop off at a local house where we recieved refreshments and pancakes. Regarding taxi's to restaurants etc, the Riad have a flat rate of 200MAD (£15) arranged with a taxi firm (some taxi's are modern and air conditioned, however others are the standard old mercades which you could catch anywhere), which is a little steap for short distance journeys where you could get a lot cheaper taxi if you just went to a taxi stop, but this involves negotiating yourself which could be difficult.

The riad is clean, tranquil and the atmosphere at night has a bit of magic about it with candles lit. There is also a turn down service, which involves candles being lit in your room and rose petals scattered. The riad also offers a clothes cleaning service for free, but we left a small tip to say thank you. That saved on lots of washing when we got home.

All in all a great place, and we will look to go back again in the future when the potential extension which involves 2 extra rooms and a spa being added.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    447
    28
    8
    8
    0
See reviews for
64
300
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maldon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

I cannot recommend Riad Zolah highly enough. Ismael, Aziz and all of the staff were helpful and courteous and helped to make for a truly memorable holiday. My wife and I stayed for 3 nights in Room 4 with our friends who stayed in room 5. My wife has something of a phobia about dirt and hygiene and usually on overseas holidays is unable to feel comfortable with the cleanliness of the rooms but there were no such problems here - the suite was immaculate. I usually struggle to wind down but felt immediately relaxed in the quiet surroundings.
We had traditonal Moroccan dinner in the hotel on the first night which was lovely and very filling but chose to eat out after as we wanted to experience some of the restaurants recommended by the proprieter. My experience of the restaurants we visited suggested you will not find better moroccan food than in the hotel. I would however recommend the Bo Zin restaurant which offers a kind of Thai/Euro/Moroccan fusion - this was the most expensive but well worth it for the food and the excellent setting. I would recommend the Moroccan wines as much better value than french - Medaillon white and rose are very pleasant. Also try the Casablanca beer over foreign brands.
The breakfast at the hotel is an event in itself and I would recommend eating on the rooftop. At this time of year it is always more comfortable to eat on the roof terraces of the restaurants as there is usually a cooling breeze.
The Riad is perfectly placed for access to the Souks and the main square. If like myself you have not visited Marrakech before you will find the souks intense and you will get lost but the trick is to learn the route from the Riad to Porte Luxor, and the route from the Riad to the square. If you can manage that then you can always find your way back.
We took the day trip to the Atlas mountains and I would recommend that anyone who has the time should take this trip - but be prepared to do a fairly steep walk for about 90 mins to get to the Kasbah.
The transfers to and from the airport were accomplished quickly and efficiently. This was particularly welcome on the way out as our plane had been delayed.
I would recommend this hotel without reservation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

I love everything about this Riad!!! The location, rooms, service, comfort, food, everything is fantastic!!! I would definitely stay there again if I'm in Marrakech!!!! The staff is helpful, courteous, respectful, and friendly. I highly recommend Riad Zolah!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

Everything about this Riad was FANTASTIC!!! The food, service, rooms, location...EVERYTHING!!! I would definitely stay there again!!! I highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

I loved this Riad!!! The location, rooms, service, and ambience is fabulous!!! I would definitely stay there again if I were to return to Marrakech!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

Riad Zolah is fantastic!!! The staff is GREAT! The decor is beautiful; the service and rooms are wonderful!! The location is awesome! Right in the middle of everything!...but as soon as you walk in, it's nice and quiet with all the comforts of back home!!

Loved it!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

For your first visit to a new country you have to get some things right. The flight is a temporary memory but accomodation is a lasting one.

We went to Marrakech for a weekend break and stayed in Riad Zolah mostly due to the tips on Trip Advisor. It is a welcome calm in the eye of the storm that is the storm that is the Souks.

Our room had recently been extended and was the perfect siz, all the facilities were of the highest order too. The decor was outstanding and incredibly tasteful but most of all it was comfortable and welcoming each time we escaped the heat or the buzzing streets outside.

All this pales into insignificance compared to the service. Everyone went to every length to make sure we were happy - you know they go the extra mile when the lamp holders you have coveted but couldn't find in the souk are presented as a gift before you leave.

Its a great place well worth its ranking and for someone who travels a lot thats difficult to find nowadays.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Zolah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zolah

Address: 114-116 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, El Haouz, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#40 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#56 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Zolah 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located luxury boutique hotel in the heart of the ancient walled city. Traditional charm plus the very best of modern facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Riad Zolah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Zolah Marrakech
Riad Zolah Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Zolah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.