We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Zolah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Zolah to your Saves list
Riad Zolah
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   114-116 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, El Haouz, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We arrived at the entrance of the medina walls and were met by someone from the riad who carried our luggage. He walked us down the windy roads and we thought we may end up somewhere that wasn't very nice. We came to a discrete door and when it opened, we felt like we were in paradise. We were suddenly in a quiet haven where we were met with arabic mint tea and snacks.

The staff were so helpful and made us feel very welcome. They gave us a mobile phone to use for loacal calls which was a major plus.

There is a lovely balcony to sit and enjoy the sun.

The rooms were lovely and covered in red rose petals. There was also an iPod docking station and free wifi.

If you are not bothered about having a big pool, this is a great place to stay. It's really close to everything as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    28
    8
    8
    0
See reviews for
66
306
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Riad Zolah is set up like a big house with many rooms. The street leading to the Riad is not clean-it smells and feels unsafe at first, just so you are aware of this. I think almost all medina streets are like that in Marrakech.The garden is cute and tidy-but flies are present which nobody does anything about. The room we stayed in seemed a bit dark, but kind of romantic. Funny thing was there was no telephone to call the front if I needed something. I had to go down physically to request for what I needed. Another disappointment was that they were not punctual. One instance was when we told them we wanted our breakfast at 7:30 so we can leave at 8 but it wasn't ready until 7:55 so my guide had to wait extra 15 minutes. It seems they don't really care about punctuality. It is not a " hotel". The setting and ppl are nice but, I feel a bit more professionalism won't hurt.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spent one week in Riad Zolah and appreciated it very much.
The Riad is an authentic one, 6 rooms only in total and a lot of personal to take care.
We experienced a friendly and service orientated team, very flexible, organizing trips to the desert and sea at the very last minute and with always good advices regarding restaurants etc. We also tested hammam and massage in the Riad and were impressed by the quality.
We appreciated the terrace for excellent breakfast and relaxing moments after shopping in the souks. Riad Zolah is a habour of peace in the middle of Medina's hectic and excited life.
We recommand however the room near to the terrace if you wish to sleep longer in the morning.
Central location, great service, good food, Marocco at its best. We will be back.

Room Tip: There is one room next to the terrace which is quiter than others rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just what we were looking for -- an authentic Riad experience in the middle of the Medina- full of charm and a peaceful oasis from the surrounding excitement/chaos. Outstanding service and good value for for money.
- very accommodating with kids, including the set up of the room. (This would not be the place to bring rambucious children -- the Riad has the feel of staying in someone's home.)
- Always very gracious in assisting us with all requests, from finding missing kids backpacks left in other locations to airport pick ups etc
- Breakfasts were always plentiful and on the lovely roof terrace with views of the surrounding rooftops and even the Atlas mountains beyond
- Trip guides and drivers they booked for us were always a pleasure to be with (though daytrip to Atlas mountains was a bit pricey at 850 dirham per adult)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had the most wonderful experience and great service from the very first moment. The hotel arranged a driver and we received help with our luggage to walk from the wall to the Riad. The architecture and decoration is authentic. Our dinner there was one of the best we had in town. The room was romantic, with all the amenities, views to very nice patio with trees and flowers. We had breakfast every morning on the roof terrace, overlooking the city and the mountains. And they were very kind to serve us breakfast rather late in the day.
They recommended and made reservations for us at the best restaurants and arranged day trips with great guides. We were always treated in a friendly and familiar manner. They even arranged a birthday cake and complementary bottle of wine for my wife, when they overheard it was her birthday. We go back to Marrakech we definitely will stay at Riad Zolah again.

Very central, minutes from the main square. Thanks again to Khadija, Fatima, Omar and Abdul.
Hope to see you soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Surprisingly quiet and calm although directly situated in the Medina, seconds from the souks and about 10 minute walk from Jamaa El Fna. The staff (Fatima, Khedizha, Omar, Abdul and others) were more than happy to help with anything and we cannot thank them enough. Breakfast on the roof terrace, the Hammam were all memorable. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. MichaelM

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Just come back from 4 days of bliss in the Riad Zolah. An oasis of calm in the bustle of Marrakech. The room was amazing, the service perfect and the hammam was so relaxing I went to sleep. Our thanks to Fatima , Hadisha ( forgive me if I got that wrong) Omar and all the staff for a great time. Go there if you can.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Zolah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zolah

Address: 114-116 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, El Haouz, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#37 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Zolah 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located luxury boutique hotel in the heart of the ancient walled city. Traditional charm plus the very best of modern facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Zolah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Zolah Marrakech
Riad Zolah Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Zolah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.