We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Zolah

Save Saved
You added Riad Zolah to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Zolah
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   114-116 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, El Haouz, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

When we got sick of being drenched by rain in Spain, we changed our plans and flew to Marrakesh with 12 hours notice. We were extremely lucky to find Ryad Zolah and find that they had a vacancy. The staff are so helpful, nothing Is too much trouble. Rooms are great, service is friendly. just loved it there. They helped us find more accommodation in Marrakesh when we had to move on after 3 days as they were fully booked. I would highly recommend this place...we will definitely go back

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    433
    27
    8
    8
    0
See reviews for
62
288
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed at Riad Zolah for the first four nights of our trip to Morocco. It was just as fabulous as we expected: beautiful, quiet, great food, kind and helpful staff, and a fantastic location right in the middle of the souks, a short walk from Jmaa el Fna, and walking distance of all the main sights. Our room was lovely, and the fireplace was great on chilly December nights. And the whole place just smells really good - I mean, so good that we're still talking about how good, and how we wish we'd asked them how they got it to smell that way. The last night of our stay, we were too tired to go out for food, and at the last minute they prepared a meal for us, which we ate in the lovely courtyard. They sent someone out to buy our bus tickets to Essaouira and didn't charge us for it. The free transfers from the airport / to the bus station were also very welcome, and we loved the in-room wi-fi. I can't wait to go back again.

The only negative (and negative seems too strong a word) is that we asked for a recommendation for dinner and they reserved a table for us at a strange touristy pleasure palace restaurant extravaganza right near Jmaa el Fna. I think they think this is the kind of place tourists want to eat, but it isn't - at least, we didn't. We walked past another place they recommended and it didn't seem our style at all either. So just bear that in mind when they make recommendations about eating out, and do your own research if you'd like somewhere less touristy.

Room Tip: We stayed in - and loved - suite 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago IL
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

A friend and I stayed here for two nights at the end of our two week trip to Morocco. The location is great. It was easy enough for us to find our way to and from as we wandered through the Medina. Everything about the riad is calm and peaceful. The staff was so wonderful. Our room was beautiful with a large sitting area and gorgeous bathroom. There were rose petals all over the bathroom. It was just a wonderful touch. The beds might have been the most comfortable of our stay. The ipod docking station was the best! We listened to music each night. Breakfast was filling and tasty. I really loved the hot chocolate. We spent several hours on the roof terrace reading and soaking up the sunshine. It was amazing how quiet the terrace was, even with the hustle and bustle of the Medina.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in Riad Zolah in September 2012. This riad is quietly located in the center of old medina, very close to Jmaa El Fna square and souks (about 5 minutes walking distance), as well as to Koutoubia Mosque, Palias Moulay Idriss and Palais Bahia (15 minutes by foot).

We had a very nice spacious room on the 3rd floor with beautiful traditional Moroccan decoration. The king size bed is firm and comfy. Bathroom is huge with a 'pool size' tub and shower. Shampoo, soap, bathrobe, hairdryer were provided. But you need to bring toothbrush and toothpaste. Towels, bedding were decent. Our room was cleaned twice a day. We love the iPod Bose docking station and it was so relaxing to listen to our favorite music at night. WiFi was free and fast. Besides, in the room there was complementary plate filled with fruits and nuts, plus two bottle of water everyday.

Breakfast was generous, freshly squeezed juice, mint tea, coffee, bread, pastry, Moroccan pancake, butter and jams as well as variety of fruits, see my picture.

Staffs were very friendly, helpful and thoughtful, a cell phone was provided to us in case we would get lost. They speak very good English.

We truly had a very good time in this riad, which providing an exceptional service, we highly recommend this place.

Note:
This riad has a tight stairs inside and outside the room, for example, in our room the bed area is raised, so we have to get one step up or down from that area to go to other area. Mentally, we had to constant reminder this issue to ourselves.

The car can not go into the medina, so make arrangement with riad staff to pick you up at the edge of the medina, (only 8 minutes from the parking place) and have riad phone ready in case the taxi driver needs to call it. The Phone number is: 00212 (0) 5 2438 7535. I attached a picture to show the alley leading to the riad.

To go to the Jamaa El Fna square is very easy, from riad, turn right, 1 minute turn right again, then go along the alley until you see a white gate marked “Bougainrullier Cafe” (see my photo) on the right, from there, turn left, by 3 minutes you will be in the square.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We spent four nights at the Riad Zolah. All the staff were friendly, incredibly helpful and ensured that our stay was as enjoyable as it could have been.

The riad itself was beautiful and relaxing, and the food was excellent.

Overall it was an excellent place to stay and I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We loved every minute we spent in Riad Zolah thanks to Fatima, Omar and the rest of the staff who made our visit the most enjoyable experience.
They really went out of their way to accommodate all our needs. As we stayed in the riad for my wife’s birthday she received a complimentary birthday cake. A really nice touch!
Our room was decorated in beautiful Morrocan style with nice touches of candles and red rose petals scattered around the room.
We were dining in riad as well as in other restaurants in the city, but we must say the food served in Riad Zolah was the best one we had during our stay in Marrakech. We would strongly recommend to eat there and to try the lemon chicken tajine!
We had a wonderful time in this beautifully designed, clean and friendly riad and if we ever come back to Marrakech the Riad Zolah will be the place we choose to stay!
Stayed in October 2012, travelled as a couple.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Riad Zolah is truly an exceptional riad in old Marrakech. My husband and I celebrated our anniversary in Marrakech and we could not have asked for a better place and better service. Khadijah and her staff treated us like we were V.I.P. for example, we were escorted throughout the souks by Riad Zolah staff to shop for doors and other items, we were escorted to restaurants that were hard to find on our own (some being 20 min walk away!), we were escorted at 11:30 at night to our taxi to catch our red-eye flight to Spain, we were provided with a cell phone and we called whenever we needed anything and I mean ANYTHING.

Our room was the largest at Riad Zolah thanks to Khadijah who upgraded us because it was our anniversary. Inside, our room had beautiful traditional Morrocan decor, which we loved and preferred over traditional European decor seen in the hotels in New Marrakech. Our room was very clean and was cleaned twice each day. We loved having iPod Bose docking station to listen to our music.

Location, location, location...means so much. The Riad is centrally located in Old Marrakech and about 5-10 minute walk to Jemaa el Fna. Perfect distance. On the way to Jemaa, there are sooooo many souks and so our journey typically was longer than 5-10 minutes to get to the square because we were shopping an negotiating prices. Our trip to the Atlas mountains was arranged by Khadijah and her staff and we really had a great time. We had a wonderful tour guide and the arrangements for lunch (as part of the tour) was at the best restaurant the Atlas Mountains had to offer. We loved that our tour was truly reasonably priced and the service was outstanding. We honestly thought that the money paid we be equated with ok service. I am glad that we were wrong.

Because the Riad only has 6 rooms, we were able to get the personal attention (that is often associated with exorbitant prices) without paying a ton of money. The staff really treated you like family and everyone greeted you each time you were seen. The breakfast and dinner was very good and the amount provided could feed an army. The Riad was very peaceful and we loved that we were able to leave the bustling crowd and return to a peaceful and really truly beautiful Oasis.

In sum, we loved staying at Riad Zolah and when we return to Marrakech, we will be sure to stay there. We highly recommend you'd to stay at Riad Zolah. Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Zolah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zolah

Also Known As:
Riad Zolah Marrakech
Riad Zolah Hotel Marrakech
Address: 114-116 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, El Haouz, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#25 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#56 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Zolah 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located luxury boutique hotel in the heart of the ancient walled city. Traditional charm plus the very best of modern facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsClick, Prestigia and Otel so you can book your Riad Zolah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Zolah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.