We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Zolah

Save Saved
You added Riad Zolah to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Zolah
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   114-116 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, El Haouz, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Riad Zolah is truly an exceptional riad in old Marrakech. My husband and I celebrated our anniversary in Marrakech and we could not have asked for a better place and better service. Khadijah and her staff treated us like we were V.I.P. for example, we were escorted throughout the souks by Riad Zolah staff to shop for doors and other items, we were escorted to restaurants that were hard to find on our own (some being 20 min walk away!), we were escorted at 11:30 at night to our taxi to catch our red-eye flight to Spain, we were provided with a cell phone and we called whenever we needed anything and I mean ANYTHING.

Our room was the largest at Riad Zolah thanks to Khadijah who upgraded us because it was our anniversary. Inside, our room had beautiful traditional Morrocan decor, which we loved and preferred over traditional European decor seen in the hotels in New Marrakech. Our room was very clean and was cleaned twice each day. We loved having iPod Bose docking station to listen to our music.

Location, location, location...means so much. The Riad is centrally located in Old Marrakech and about 5-10 minute walk to Jemaa el Fna. Perfect distance. On the way to Jemaa, there are sooooo many souks and so our journey typically was longer than 5-10 minutes to get to the square because we were shopping an negotiating prices. Our trip to the Atlas mountains was arranged by Khadijah and her staff and we really had a great time. We had a wonderful tour guide and the arrangements for lunch (as part of the tour) was at the best restaurant the Atlas Mountains had to offer. We loved that our tour was truly reasonably priced and the service was outstanding. We honestly thought that the money paid we be equated with ok service. I am glad that we were wrong.

Because the Riad only has 6 rooms, we were able to get the personal attention (that is often associated with exorbitant prices) without paying a ton of money. The staff really treated you like family and everyone greeted you each time you were seen. The breakfast and dinner was very good and the amount provided could feed an army. The Riad was very peaceful and we loved that we were able to leave the bustling crowd and return to a peaceful and really truly beautiful Oasis.

In sum, we loved staying at Riad Zolah and when we return to Marrakech, we will be sure to stay there. We highly recommend you'd to stay at Riad Zolah. Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    446
    28
    8
    8
    0
See reviews for
63
300
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We spent four nights at the Riad Zolah. Overall, the rooms are very clean, the toilets flush, and the water is hot. The location was convenient inside the medina. The square is 10-minute walk. To help ensure that you don’t get lost in the souks, Kadesia (spelling)—the GM--gives you a mobile phone upon check-in with the Riad’s number programmed.

Wi-Fi was fast and free. Breakfasts consisted of coffee, fruit, and breads. On request, the staff brought us eggs/omelets. The Riad also supplies unlimited bottled water and ice upon request. While the Riad does not sell alcohol, Kadesia directed us to a grocery store outside the medina where we could purchase wine, etc. The round trip taxi fare was 100 Dhs or about $11 USD.

FYI: The Riad has several areas and rooms that have tight steps/stairs. If you have trouble climbing stairs, have balance/coordination issues, or just like to get up in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom, this may be something to consider.

Yes, the Riad’s service was truly exceptional and in some cases over the top, and Kadesia is truly invested in the guests’ happiness. So, why not five trip advisor circles? We had two “significant to me” issues occur. Unfortunately, things spiraled downward from there. Please note, we are seasoned travelers (79 countries), have stayed in all types and levels of accommodations, have had just about everything good and bad happen on trips, and are usually able to go with the flow. But, one of the significant issues was personal and it set the tone for the remainder of my stay.

Note: Kadesia is truly exceptional and is the reason I am giving four circles and not three.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We have recently returned from our "second home" in Marrakech.
Our experience of Riad Zolah from the second we arrived until the second we left was perfect.
The staff are all friendly, helpful, respectful of your privacy, informative, nothing was ever too much trouble.
The Riad is full of charm and character with the old features of the building having been carefully maintained and it being decorated with modern tasteful drapes, rugs, furniture etc
You can chose to eat by the pool, in the dining room or on the roof terrace. The food is very good and the red wine rather good too!
There is ample space on the roof terrace with tables under a pergola, day beds, sun loungers and table and chairs both in the open and under shade.
A fridge by the pool always has bottled water in and you can help yourself which we discovered is not possible at all riads, you have to pay sometimes at others.
The pool was clean and a welcome relief in temperatures of 42-50 degrees.
The air con in the bedroom worked very well.

Room Tip: We had room number 2 which has no outside windows (I am unsure if any do) it was very quiet on the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Beautiful Riad, stylishly furnished, the perfect retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city. Its perfectly located for shopping and access to some of the best bars and restaurants in Marrakech,though I have to say the best lamb tagine we ate, was served in the riad by the wonderfully helpful and charming staff who run it. We all felt very welcome and nothing could be too much trouble. Someone described the staff as making you feel like honoured guests - I whole heatedly agree!

Room Tip: All so stunning nothing to add
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

What makes Riad Zolah exquisite is not just the beautiful and tasteful decoration, the convenient location, the in-ground pool or the rooftop terrace but the service.

Fatima and her team are there to attend to your every need without being intrusive and it's the extra touches that made it such a memorable experience. There were fresh roses in the room with rose petals scattered around the room, candles that were lit when I came back every evening, babouche (slippers) to take home as a souvenir, a birthday cake for my birthday as well as organising guides and day trips, a hammam and massage as well as henna tattoos (don't even think about having one done in the square - they are nothing in comparison!). Compliments to the chef as well for the gorgeous dinners (such wonderful tagines) and breakfasts. All the staff really were fantastic but Fatima deserves a special mention. She really is a 5 star asset.

The decor throughout is lovely and is alwayskept clean and tidy. I can highly recommend Suite 4 with it's sunken bath and swathes of curtains including the roof made to look like a Berber tent. Air conditioning is a much welcome relief too from the heat. There is also free Wifi in both public areas and in the room.

The location is excellent and very close to the souks (markets) and the square. A local mobile phone is conveniently provided in case of getting lost (easily done!) and one of the boys will come and return you home which was much appreciated. One afternoon one of the boys even escorted me to a local restaurant I wanted to try and was worried about finding in the maze of the medina.

Would I recommend Riad Zolah to others? Would I go back?

In a heartbeat.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Road zolah is a tranquil place in the middle of Marrakech. It is a true old style hotel, more really like a home. The focus is always on your needs as a guest (and yet somehow they are not in your face). The rooms are gorgeous, the decor lovely and the air conditioning is very welcome. The meals are authentic and tasty, served by helpful staff who always treat you as honoured guests in their home.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoboken
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My wife and I had booked lots of hotels/resorts for our recent 3 week honeymoon holiday. Admittingely I was nervous about most of our destinations -- Riad Zolah was the exception to the fact. I was amazed to find such a fantastic deal for Zolah on Agoda.com -- the reviews on every travel site are amazing. Deservingly so, Fatima, Abdul and the entire staff at Zolah treated my wife and I as members of the family. It felt as if we were visiting long lost cousins, eager to show us the city - ply us with their food and charm us with the stories we weren't around to enjoy. For those of you who have not visited Marrakech, it is best described as an assault on the senses. It is a bustling, loud and frenetic city that can take you by your bootstraps and whip you around like a rag doll. That being said, you need a respite. An escape from it all -- see Riad Zolah. A beautifully adorned and meticulously kept Riad tucked in to the cavernous medina that is Marrakech.

If you do want treat, enjoy a meal with the staff. We were encouraged to enjoy a dinner on our first night and it was a lovely idea. As I have forgotten the exact name for it, you must try the cheese stuffed fried appetizers. YOU MUST!! Breakfast on the veranda is a treat in and of itself -- you get lovely fresh made treats of the staffs choice, different options every day. Not to mention that you enjoy the company of the lovely kittens, Michelle and Mitchell -- I don't even like cats, but I wanted to take them home!!

Last but not least, the kindness -- it is unmatched, their were times that we were genuinely intimidated by Marrakech but we knew that we could escape to the comfort of our Riad for much deserved, R & R.

Thank you Riad Zolah -- you're an 11 on a scale of 1 to 10.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Zolah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zolah

Address: 114-116 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, El Haouz, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#41 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#64 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Zolah 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located luxury boutique hotel in the heart of the ancient walled city. Traditional charm plus the very best of modern facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Riad Zolah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Zolah Marrakech
Riad Zolah Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Zolah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.