We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape the Medina HERE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Zolah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Zolah to your Saves list
Riad Zolah
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   114-116 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, El Haouz, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
hoboken
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Escape the Medina HERE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My wife and I had booked lots of hotels/resorts for our recent 3 week honeymoon holiday. Admittingely I was nervous about most of our destinations -- Riad Zolah was the exception to the fact. I was amazed to find such a fantastic deal for Zolah on Agoda.com -- the reviews on every travel site are amazing. Deservingly so, Fatima, Abdul and the entire staff at Zolah treated my wife and I as members of the family. It felt as if we were visiting long lost cousins, eager to show us the city - ply us with their food and charm us with the stories we weren't around to enjoy. For those of you who have not visited Marrakech, it is best described as an assault on the senses. It is a bustling, loud and frenetic city that can take you by your bootstraps and whip you around like a rag doll. That being said, you need a respite. An escape from it all -- see Riad Zolah. A beautifully adorned and meticulously kept Riad tucked in to the cavernous medina that is Marrakech.

If you do want treat, enjoy a meal with the staff. We were encouraged to enjoy a dinner on our first night and it was a lovely idea. As I have forgotten the exact name for it, you must try the cheese stuffed fried appetizers. YOU MUST!! Breakfast on the veranda is a treat in and of itself -- you get lovely fresh made treats of the staffs choice, different options every day. Not to mention that you enjoy the company of the lovely kittens, Michelle and Mitchell -- I don't even like cats, but I wanted to take them home!!

Last but not least, the kindness -- it is unmatched, their were times that we were genuinely intimidated by Marrakech but we knew that we could escape to the comfort of our Riad for much deserved, R & R.

Thank you Riad Zolah -- you're an 11 on a scale of 1 to 10.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    28
    8
    8
    0
See reviews for
66
312
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

As you step inside the Riad Zolah, after a day spent in the Souq of Marrakech, in Jeema el-fna, or just sightseeing the beauties of this wonderful city, you will understand why it is ranked 5 stars.
Everything can be perfect in every hotel, worldwide, but this place has something more: magic.

Point 1, the staff: Everyone did their best to make our stay in Riad Zolah perfect. As we arrived, we were welcomed with mint tea and a very clear explanation of "what to do and what to visit" in the city. Even though we didn't need it, they also gave us a mobile phone with a Moroccan sim card (free of charge), to be used in case we got lost.
Everyone was really nice to us and always did their best to book restaurants, arrange trips and excursions (Camels rides in the palmeria etc...) and transfers to other cities. 5 stars

Point 2, the room: I travel a lot, but this was the first time that this happened: the room was better than how it looked on the website!
Everything was cleaned up EVERYTIME we weren't in, (so about 3 times a day). It was excellent.
And that was not just about making up the room: we always found rose petals on the bed and in the bathroom, candles in the evening, complimentary water replaced on and on (and that is important when outside is as hot as in Marrakech!) .... And last but not least, the main complimentary item of the Riad: Babouches!
As we stepped inside our room, two typical Moroccan pairs of Babouches were offered, and that, as simple as it is, was really nice!
The bathroom was something amazing... Do not trust other reviewers saying that hot and cold water come and go, we didn't have any problem. 5 stars

Point 3, Facility- Riad Zolah is neat and clean, but, most of all, absolutely fascinating.
They have also a small pool to cool off after walking all day long, hammam and gommage (plus massage) service, which was good, a top floor solarium from which you can get a view of the mouassine and, very important: an amazing homemade breakfast: Moroccan pastries, fresh fruit, omelettes and crepes, fresh bread with jam and so on... A good start in the morning!
Wi-fi connection was always available for free, both in the room and throughout the Riad, and Moroccan food can be enjoined both for lunch and dinner. (special requests were possible). 5 stars

Point 4, Position- Maybe this had to be at point n.1 - Riad Zolah is about 2 minutes away from the Souq, 5 minutes to Jeema el-fnaa, and about ten minutes (max) to the kotouiba. You are in the hearth of Marrakech! 5 stars

Point 5, My opinion - When I checked out, Fatima, at the reception, said: 'if you will ever come back to Marrakech, please consider this as your second house'. Actually I felt like it was my second house. 1000 stars

Go and experience this wonderful city and Riad Zolah.

From Italy with love,

Marco Giorgi & Irina Corjov

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

The Riad is inside the medina. The service was very nice you feel like you are a guest in your own house the breackfast was delicios . The staff really made our hollyday very special. I really thank them as they orginize excurcion and day out.
Highly recomended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I cant think of a better place to stay in Marrakech, Riad Zolah has it all! A family member raved about this Riad and recommended us to stay there for our long weekend, and I am so glad we did. It is quiet, beautiful, and yet within a short walking distance of all the action. We were overwhelmed by the hospitality of the staff, which made our stay pleasant and hassle-free. We also ate dinner there the first night and it was outstanding. So were the fresh and varied breakfasts served to us every morning. There were so many things included- airport transfers, internet service, snacks- and they even went to the trouble to add in a few details that made my husband´s birthday really special. I would certainly go back to Riad Zolah if I get back to Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Riad Zola is a great place to stay, it is quiet and beautiful, and an escaped from the chaos nearby. It is a 300 year old original house, refurbished and just lovely. The food was the best we have had in all of Morocco, and the staff is anxious to meet your every need. Highly recommend. We were 6 women and had the place to ourselves, and a perfect pool to cool off when returning from a day of sight seeing or shopping.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

A lovely place, like staying in a friend's home, the staff were warm and helpful, and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The charge was the room rate they had quotedf to us, everything else including breakfast, airport pickup, snacks, guide service and internet access was included.

If you take excursions out of town, or to a restaurant in another part of the city, you do have to be able to walk i5 minutes to get to a taxi because the Riad is deep in the bazaar. But it is only a 2 minute walk to the shops of the bazaar, and 8 minutes to the enormous square where all the action is.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor, which was fine. The first floor might be a bit noisy, and the third f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed Here for 3 nights in April 2012. The riad was all u could ask for. Located centrally within the medina. Extremely friendly staff. Ever helpful. Had our most memorable meal ( fabulous lamb and chicken tajine) here!!!!! Also pampered ourselves with a hamam bath followed by an Argon oil massage. The decor of the hotel was very beautiful hotel The rooms were spacious with an unimaginable. Mosaic tiled bathtub!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Zolah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zolah

Address: 114-116 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, El Haouz, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#27 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#53 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Zolah 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located luxury boutique hotel in the heart of the ancient walled city. Traditional charm plus the very best of modern facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Zolah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Zolah Marrakech
Riad Zolah Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Zolah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.