We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional hospitality in a comfortable setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Nomades

Save Saved
You added Riad Nomades to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Nomades
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   56 Derb Chentouf | Quartier Riad Laarous, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #271 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Exceptional hospitality in a comfortable setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

Pascal and Pierre-Alain are exceptional hosts, and take great pride in welcoming visitors to their riad and to Marrakech. Pascal in particular went far above and beyond, not only offering helpful advice on the city but gracefully accommodating our fluid travel plans with the help of another riad it seemed he was responsible for -- he even had our bags we left in Marrakech moved to the other riad when we returned from a side trip. He was also all to happy to offer a ride to the train station when he realized we were going there at the same time as he was going to purchase a ticket for a guest who had fallen ill. The riad itself is charming, and the breakfasts were excellent if a bit repetitive. Only complaint might be that Pascal very highly recommended a small family-run desert tour company (Desert Life - Mohamed Boulfrifi) that turned out to be a disappointment -- the scenery along the route and of course the desert itself were not to be missed, as we had been told by Pascal, but we felt taken advantage of and were disappointed with a generally unprofessional approach from the company. I imagine riad owners who are likely to recommend the services get better treatment!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    32
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
22
57
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

we were meet and taken on the transfer to this riad which is a oasis in the hectic streets
our room was real nice and felt exotic nice tasty breakfast which includes homemade pancakes, all the staff were nice to and you could get a beer to enjoy on the roof terrace,the drains did pong a bit some times but thats marrakech .

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

Pascal and Pierre run a lovely Riad here. They were very friendly and Pascal's English is good so that you can ask him the many questions you have about Marrakech. When we arrived Pascal greeted us warmly and gave us mint tea and pastries while he talked us through vital information and provided us a with a decent map to find our way to the main square.

We stayed in the suite there and it was beautifully decorated but just a tad too dark. Also the internet did not work for some of the time we were there which was a shame as we had paid for the suite with a computer. Appreciated though that this could not be helped. The suite was kept clean throughout our stay.

Breakfast was served in good time - 8:30am till 11am. It tasted lovely but would have been nice to have a choice some days. Waiter service was great.

Make sure you try the mint tea - Pascal makes it beautifully.
Also take good ear plugs - the early morning call for prayer across the city will wake you.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

Excellent service. Brigitte, Herve and staffs were friendly, helpful and attentive, they make sure that we were well looked after all the time but not being intrusive on our privicy. It is located close to most of the main attractions and good for shopping at the Souqs for leather goods and local crafts. The Riad is full of characters and we could experience true Moroccan living.
The room was too dark at night, it would be perfect if stronger lighting were fitted. Because of it's location, taxi could only dropped us off at the main street and we had to walked through dark alleyways to access the Riad, we were a group of three so we felt safe but would not recommended for lone female traveller.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

We stayed here for three nights. Hidden in a side street, Riad Nomades is in a perfect location to experience the bustling life of Marrakesh. It is close to the main square (5 minute walk) and souqs.

The owners gave great advice for getting around and haggling and a lovely breakfast is served unti 11am each morning which can be enjoyed on one of the two terraces.

Fully recommended for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada / uk
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

A really lovely find; I felt safe and comfortable and the charm of the place surpassed my expectations. I loved the rooftop terraces, the fact the place combined European-style comforts (wifi, truly hot water, real and immediate responsiveness of owners when the lock on our door went wonky and when I couldn't figure out how to turn the heater on...) with the feel of being in a truly foreign place.

It's true, it's down a few alleyways which, the first time down, might make you pause a little. But you'll soon learn this is because it's in a great location - in the heart of an area that's full of little alleys like that.

Pascale and Pierre-Alain are characters (they're full of opinions - as people who've lived in a country for years are wont to be!) but I appreciated their attentiveness and the fact that they truly care about running a quality business. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this riad to a friend - I already have.

Speaking French is an asset here.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

Located in the medina of marrakech you'll find this typical riad hotel as an ideal location to discover the old city center of Marrakech. The hosts Pascal and Pierre Alain are really trying their best to help you getting around. Reservations for excellent restaurants are easily made. The rooms are charming and well equiped. There is a roof terrace with stunning views over the city with the mountains of the Atlas in the background. A real good breakfast is served. Evening diners can be served after reservation. Good personal bar service.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Nomades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Nomades

Address: 56 Derb Chentouf | Quartier Riad Laarous, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Nomades 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Nomades is magical, quiet and authentic. It is a combination of charms and beauty in keeping with the famous medina.If you are looking for good value accommodation, during your stay in Marrakech, we have five comfortable, air conditioned rooms (Tataoui, Berberes, Oasis, Touareg and Sahara). In addition we have our luxury Bedoin suite which is more spacious.The Riad Nomad has two terraces, one of them offering panoramic views of the famous Atlas Mountains which are the gateway to Aït Benhadou, Ouarzazate, the Draa valley and the Sahara desert with the Chigaga and Merzouga dunes. Why not take in the views over breakfast or enjoy some traditional cuisine such as couscous or tajine? For tea lovers why not try a relaxing cup of Moroccan tea under our shady Berber tent?We are situated in a little street in the quarter named Riad Laarous. Although very central this is a quiet location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Nomades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Nomades, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.