We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to experience Moroccan living” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Nomades

Save Saved
You added Riad Nomades to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Nomades
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   56 Derb Chentouf | Quartier Riad Laarous, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #228 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
london
1 review
“The best place to experience Moroccan living”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

Excellent service. Brigitte, Herve and staffs were friendly, helpful and attentive, they make sure that we were well looked after all the time but not being intrusive on our privicy. It is located close to most of the main attractions and good for shopping at the Souqs for leather goods and local crafts. The Riad is full of characters and we could experience true Moroccan living.
The room was too dark at night, it would be perfect if stronger lighting were fitted. Because of it's location, taxi could only dropped us off at the main street and we had to walked through dark alleyways to access the Riad, we were a group of three so we felt safe but would not recommended for lone female traveller.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    33
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
26
61
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

We stayed here for three nights. Hidden in a side street, Riad Nomades is in a perfect location to experience the bustling life of Marrakesh. It is close to the main square (5 minute walk) and souqs.

The owners gave great advice for getting around and haggling and a lovely breakfast is served unti 11am each morning which can be enjoyed on one of the two terraces.

Fully recommended for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada / uk
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

A really lovely find; I felt safe and comfortable and the charm of the place surpassed my expectations. I loved the rooftop terraces, the fact the place combined European-style comforts (wifi, truly hot water, real and immediate responsiveness of owners when the lock on our door went wonky and when I couldn't figure out how to turn the heater on...) with the feel of being in a truly foreign place.

It's true, it's down a few alleyways which, the first time down, might make you pause a little. But you'll soon learn this is because it's in a great location - in the heart of an area that's full of little alleys like that.

Pascale and Pierre-Alain are characters (they're full of opinions - as people who've lived in a country for years are wont to be!) but I appreciated their attentiveness and the fact that they truly care about running a quality business. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this riad to a friend - I already have.

Speaking French is an asset here.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

Located in the medina of marrakech you'll find this typical riad hotel as an ideal location to discover the old city center of Marrakech. The hosts Pascal and Pierre Alain are really trying their best to help you getting around. Reservations for excellent restaurants are easily made. The rooms are charming and well equiped. There is a roof terrace with stunning views over the city with the mountains of the Atlas in the background. A real good breakfast is served. Evening diners can be served after reservation. Good personal bar service.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

Having never been to Marrakesh before, we took this Riad on a recomendation. At first, I was worried about what we had done as we walked down poorly lit aleys you would avoid in the UK. What was all the fuss about?

Once through the little door in a wall everything made sense.

The owners, Peirre-Alain and Pacal are wonderfully friendly and well-versed with un-intitiated travellers. They know lots about the city and they are happy to share their advise and help make reservations etc.

The following day and we woke at 10.30 to be led to the roof terrace for a wonderful breakfast (included). Pascal gave us a roof top guided tour. The Riad is very centrally located right in the heart of the medina, close enough to the main activity to be there in 5 mins but far enough for peace and quiet. It really was perfect.

Marrakesh is an infusion of colours, sounds and cultures. Its facinating and exhausting. At the end of the day, it was a pleasure to walk (the very safe) alleys to find out temporay home. Thanks PA and P.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

It was our 1st trip to Marrakech so we did not really have any idea what to expect. We booked Riad Nomades after a recommendation from a colleague and will be sending them a bottle of wine as a thank you as it was exactly what we wanted. It is hidden in the back streets of the Medina and when you enter through the small wooden door you enter the most beautiful house. It is a traditional Marrakech house which has kept the original features. From the beginning our hosts made us feel at home. We stayed there for 7 nights and it was definitely the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

Would recommend you get the hotel to meet you on arrival as Marrakech is extremely confusing to navigate for the first time. The Riad is beautiful with different room colours to choose. All are delightful. Breakfast on the roof overlooking the Medina is ammaing.
We were there for 4 days and wished it was more. Can't thank Pierre-Alain and Pascal enough. It was the best part of our stay and travels through Morroco.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Nomades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Nomades

Address: 56 Derb Chentouf | Quartier Riad Laarous, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Nomades 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Nomades is magical, quiet and authentic. It is a combination of charms and beauty in keeping with the famous medina.If you are looking for good value accommodation, during your stay in Marrakech, we have five comfortable, air conditioned rooms (Tataoui, Berberes, Oasis, Touareg and Sahara). In addition we have our luxury Bedoin suite which is more spacious.The Riad Nomad has two terraces, one of them offering panoramic views of the famous Atlas Mountains which are the gateway to Aït Benhadou, Ouarzazate, the Draa valley and the Sahara desert with the Chigaga and Merzouga dunes. Why not take in the views over breakfast or enjoy some traditional cuisine such as couscous or tajine? For tea lovers why not try a relaxing cup of Moroccan tea under our shady Berber tent?We are situated in a little street in the quarter named Riad Laarous. Although very central this is a quiet location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Nomades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Nomades, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.