We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a comfortable oasis smack dab in the middle of where you want to be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Nomades

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Nomades to your Saves list
Riad Nomades
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   56 Derb Chentouf | Quartier Riad Laarous, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #240 of 1,070 Marrakech B&B and Inns
canada / uk
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“a comfortable oasis smack dab in the middle of where you want to be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

A really lovely find; I felt safe and comfortable and the charm of the place surpassed my expectations. I loved the rooftop terraces, the fact the place combined European-style comforts (wifi, truly hot water, real and immediate responsiveness of owners when the lock on our door went wonky and when I couldn't figure out how to turn the heater on...) with the feel of being in a truly foreign place.

It's true, it's down a few alleyways which, the first time down, might make you pause a little. But you'll soon learn this is because it's in a great location - in the heart of an area that's full of little alleys like that.

Pascale and Pierre-Alain are characters (they're full of opinions - as people who've lived in a country for years are wont to be!) but I appreciated their attentiveness and the fact that they truly care about running a quality business. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this riad to a friend - I already have.

Speaking French is an asset here.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    34
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
28
63
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NL
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

Located in the medina of marrakech you'll find this typical riad hotel as an ideal location to discover the old city center of Marrakech. The hosts Pascal and Pierre Alain are really trying their best to help you getting around. Reservations for excellent restaurants are easily made. The rooms are charming and well equiped. There is a roof terrace with stunning views over the city with the mountains of the Atlas in the background. A real good breakfast is served. Evening diners can be served after reservation. Good personal bar service.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

Having never been to Marrakesh before, we took this Riad on a recomendation. At first, I was worried about what we had done as we walked down poorly lit aleys you would avoid in the UK. What was all the fuss about?

Once through the little door in a wall everything made sense.

The owners, Peirre-Alain and Pacal are wonderfully friendly and well-versed with un-intitiated travellers. They know lots about the city and they are happy to share their advise and help make reservations etc.

The following day and we woke at 10.30 to be led to the roof terrace for a wonderful breakfast (included). Pascal gave us a roof top guided tour. The Riad is very centrally located right in the heart of the medina, close enough to the main activity to be there in 5 mins but far enough for peace and quiet. It really was perfect.

Marrakesh is an infusion of colours, sounds and cultures. Its facinating and exhausting. At the end of the day, it was a pleasure to walk (the very safe) alleys to find out temporay home. Thanks PA and P.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

It was our 1st trip to Marrakech so we did not really have any idea what to expect. We booked Riad Nomades after a recommendation from a colleague and will be sending them a bottle of wine as a thank you as it was exactly what we wanted. It is hidden in the back streets of the Medina and when you enter through the small wooden door you enter the most beautiful house. It is a traditional Marrakech house which has kept the original features. From the beginning our hosts made us feel at home. We stayed there for 7 nights and it was definitely the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

Would recommend you get the hotel to meet you on arrival as Marrakech is extremely confusing to navigate for the first time. The Riad is beautiful with different room colours to choose. All are delightful. Breakfast on the roof overlooking the Medina is ammaing.
We were there for 4 days and wished it was more. Can't thank Pierre-Alain and Pascal enough. It was the best part of our stay and travels through Morroco.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

The Riad Nomades was the perfect place to stay in marrakech. It is in the heart of the Medina, you go out and you are in a colorfull, vivid soukh. Only 10 minutes walk to the Jemaa el Fna place and virtually walking distance to everywhere in Marrakech, even the places in the new city (we never took a taxi: we walked). Despite being in the pulsing center, it is a real oasis: you walk a little quiet street from the soukh, enter the riad, and you are in heaven! No more noises; instead, the sound of the water fountain in the patio and the singing of birds. Pascal and Pierre Alain, the owners, have invested alot of energy with an amazing love for the detail in order to create a fantastic dreaming athmosphere. It is simple, clean and beautifull. Two great terrasses -the higher one with breathtaking view, on clear days you see the Atlas mountains in the horizon- with their birdcages and chaisselonges are the perfect place for relaxing after a day of walking, shopping and museums. The breakfast is delicious (freshly squeezed orange juice, tea or coffee, different marocan pancakes, lemon/orange/figs marmelade..) and can be taken (until 11AM!!) in the ground floor alongside the fountain, or in either terrasse, or in your room: it is YOU who decide! We had once dinner in the riad: it was lovely prepared and delicious, also great value for money. We ordered to be picked up at the airport (i strongly recommend this; otherwise it migh be difficult for you to find the riad), a service which worked perfectly... Well you see, I have only positive memories of our stay in Nomades. I want to thank heartly Pascal and Pierre Alain, as well as Fatima and Ibrahim for making our stay absolutely pleasant!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

This is a lovely place. It's down a side passage off a bustling thoroughfare in the north medina, lined with shops and full of shoppers, tradesmen and people on motorized scooters. We had two rooms - our sons aged 17 and 20 had one and we had the other - both were excellent. We found all staff at the riad very friendly and helpful. Pascal, one of the owners, met us when we arrived and gave us information about how to get round Marrakech. He also offered to take us down to the main square the following day. Although we didn't take the offer up, he was as good as his word as he called to us see us the following day before he made his way into town. We also arranged to have a vegetarian meal the night we arrived. It was really good, and very plentiful - we'd recommend eating here one night on your stay - the wine and beer are good too!
The riad offers to get someone to pick you up at the airport for a 15 euro fee. This is a reasonable deal and the driver takes you to the door - the riad is about three minutes walk from the nearest point that cars can reach (which, of course, means there is no traffic noise). I doubt whether a general taxi driver would find the riad easily.
The breakfast are good too - fresh pancakes and fruit. We had ours served on the terrace overlooking the town and the Atlas mountains. There's a covered area too - very good spot for a quiet read.
We walked through the more modern part of Marrakech, where many of the western style hotels are. You really could be anywhere in Europe in this quarter. Riad Nomades is the real thing. If you want an authentic experience in a place central to the heart of Marrakech, then this fits the bill. Our sons thought it was great too.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Nomades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Nomades

Address: 56 Derb Chentouf | Quartier Riad Laarous, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 1,070 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Nomades 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Nomades is magical, quiet and authentic. It is a combination of charms and beauty in keeping with the famous medina.If you are looking for good value accommodation, during your stay in Marrakech, we have five comfortable, air conditioned rooms (Tataoui, Berberes, Oasis, Touareg and Sahara). In addition we have our luxury Bedoin suite which is more spacious.The Riad Nomad has two terraces, one of them offering panoramic views of the famous Atlas Mountains which are the gateway to Aït Benhadou, Ouarzazate, the Draa valley and the Sahara desert with the Chigaga and Merzouga dunes. Why not take in the views over breakfast or enjoy some traditional cuisine such as couscous or tajine? For tea lovers why not try a relaxing cup of Moroccan tea under our shady Berber tent?We are situated in a little street in the quarter named Riad Laarous. Although very central this is a quiet location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Nomades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Nomades, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.