We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean stay away from the noise - great hosts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad le Clos des Arts

Save Saved
You added Riad le Clos des Arts to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
New York, NY
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Clean stay away from the noise - great hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

I don't feel like I need to add to the positive reviews, but I read some of the negative ones, and I'm sure they aren't talking about the right place.

The riad was clean, the hosts were amazing, the staff was so gracious. They really seemed to do whatever they could to make sure we were happy and comfortable.

Our room was not featured on the website, but here are pics of the Rubis Room.

It's a 5 minute walk to Djemaa El Fna.

It's located on a VERY quiet street. On the first night, we were a little scared to walk back to the riad because it wasn't as crowded on the street, but once we got comfortable and used to Marrakech, it wasn't an issue and we felt fine.

It was very relaxing and calming being there and great to get away from the business of Marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starindar, Owner at Riad le Clos des Arts, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thanks a lot for your kind words. These are especially appreciated taking into account that during your stay you experienced some hot water shortages. We are happy to inform you that we found the cause and replaced the fuse that was causing the breaking. With our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    827
    27
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
109
473
40
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

We have been in heaven for a week. The place is magnificent in every way... it's the perfect blend between true oriental magic and western comfort. It is peaceful, cozy, welcoming and beautiful. Every day had a great start thanks to a delicious home made breakfast . The main piazza is round the corner therefore visiting the Medina is a pleasant and relaxing activity. Thank you Giorgina and Massimo for providing not only helpful informations but also the right contacts for guides , drivers , restaurants and a fantastic spa place. Last but not least, a special thanks for being so cool and friendly with our 2 teenagers.
Fernanda, Pio, Giorgia, Rocco

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starindar, Owner at Riad le Clos des Arts, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Dear Guests,
It was a pleasure having you with your 2 "teenagers": we wish to compliment the parents for the excellent result! With the best wishes for this 2011!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lissone, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

The Riad le clos des arts is a beautiful place to stay in marrakech. The atmosphere is magic and the host very helpful and nice.
After a long day out in the wonderful caos of marrakech, coming back to the Riad is like entering a oasi...and the mint tea is a must!

I reccomend it!
Eleonora

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canillo, Owner at Riad le Clos des Arts, responded to this review, December 28, 2010
Than you for the nice review . We look forward to drink more mint tea together. Happy new year from a sunny Marrakech. Giorgina and Massimo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

We expected a lot and found even more! Lovely Riad, comfortable quiet rooms, excellent food. Giorgina and Massimo were the perfect hosts, taking the time to tell us about the city, recommend great restaurants, and help us in every way. They are charming and personable, and we enjoyed learning about their lives as well as about Marrakech. We loved the Thai-run Angsana Hammam they recommended where we enjoyed an incredible 2-hour couples experience. Upon learning that one in our party had a birthday during our stay, they arranged a fabulous tangia dinner, complete with wonderful live music, birthday cake, and a gift of Moroccan slippers! Don't miss Riad Le Clos des Arts when you visit Marrakech! Be sure to bring cash or be prepared to pay via PayPal, however, as they don't accept credit cards.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

We stayed at Clos des Arts for three nights in room rubis. The riad is lovely and really well located in the heart of the medina, close to the square, souks and other sights. We had a really warm welcome from Massimo and Georgiana who gave us great advice about where to go and what to do. They were really helpful booking dinner, hammam etc for us. On our last night we had a fabulous dinner in the riad, the best tagine of our week in Morocco!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piacenza, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

A very nice and charming riad in a very quiet and beautiful part of Marrakech medina, with clean and romantic rooms that merge the traditional moroccan style with lovely design furniture.
The owners, Massimo and Giorgina, and the overall staff are very lovely people whose goal is to make you feel at your home. They provided us with a lot of information and suggestions about the best ways to enjoy the city and thanks to them we could find surprising places for having amazing lunches and dinners in the earth of the medina.
It is definitely the perfect place for a romantic and relaxing stay in Marrakech.
I suggest also to ask Massimo and Giorgina to prepare a moroccan dinner for you: be ready for an extraordinary gastronomic experience!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

We chose Riad Le Clos des Arts because of the apparent good reviews. To say that we were disappointed is an understatement. We were also embarassed because we invited friends for a long weekend break.

The riad is ok but certainly nothing like the hype! Staff friendly,but overworked. Rooms cramped,damp and rather basic. We had to ask several times to get fresh towels or have the room serviced.

The management were smiling and cordial until our bill arrived and we questioned the extra charges and the 20% addition to our original quote. After a rambling response about taxes,service etc., they became very defensive and said they would not call a taxi
and did not care if we missed our plane. Very commercially driven people.

It was a mistake believing the hype and very embarassing for us having invited friends.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canillo, Owner at Riad le Clos des Arts, responded to this review, December 10, 2010
We are committed to high standards, starting from truthfulness.

As the owners of the riad, we are constantly in contact with our guests.
Unfortunately we don't recall any situation where we had guests arguing about the bill.
It doesn't belong to our professional ethics to threaten our guests and anytime we have to solve inconvenient situations it is our philosophy to do our best to have our guests happy and satisfied.

All prices are quoted at booking time, including requested extras, taxes, etc. They also appear in our website for fair information. There is no service or extra charge foreseen out of those listed in the website, unless for services specifically requested by the guests such as meals, drinks, transfers, clearly not included in a BB rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad le Clos des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad le Clos des Arts

Address: Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a narrow street of the Medina of Marrakech come and discover Riad le Clos des Arts: a charming Arab house renovated in pure Moresque style. Be seduced by this fascinating oriental atmosphere, be tempted by the authenticity of traditional Moroccan flavours, be refreshed by a plunge into the small pool on the terrace.The riad offers 4 suites and 2 rooms, all with ensuite bathrooms and the possibility to have dinner on order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad le Clos des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Clos Des Arts Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad le Clos des Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.