We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Riad, Great Location - Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad le Clos des Arts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad le Clos des Arts to your Saves list
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
West Yorks
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Wonderful Riad, Great Location - Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

We have just returned from a fantastic three night stay in the Riad, located right in the heart of the medina in Marrakech. From the moment we arrived to moment we left we had a wonderful trip made all the better through the accommodation and service at the Riad.

We booked a transfer from the hotel and an executive car whisked us to the nearby parking lot where we were met by Massimo to guide us through our first taste of Marrakech!!

First impressions are where are we going!! If ever the phrase "Dont judge a book by its cover" was appropriate it was for accommodation in Marrakech. Hidden behind tall walls and austere doors lies an oasis of calm and beauty. The Riad is stunning, with beautiful attention to detail by the owners. On arrival we were offered mint tea and pastries together with a detailed overview of the city - must do's and maybes of a city that has a magnificent history most in tact to this day.

Our room was lovely with everything in place that you would need. Fluffy gowns and local toiletries were complimentary and air conditioning was available. Having said that our room was used for sleeping only, the riad has a wonderful terrace with a small pool and loungers. Plenty of loungers are available and the staff are happy to provide towels and sun hats.

Breakfast was a traditional affair of fruit, yoghurt, breads and jams together with a cup of fresh brewed coffee. Very filling, in fact we did not need to take lunch while we were there.

A special mention to the team at the Riad. Massimo and Giorgina have assembled (or the team have assembled themsleves!!) a really genuine welcoming team of locals who cannot do enough for you. Nothing is too much and the attentiveness of the team really add to the experience of the trip.

We went for a long weekend, and felt that Marrakech was probably more than 2 nightsbut probably 5 nights would be enough. The place was amazing and I will not try and describe the culture and atmosphere the city presents, other than if you enjoy experiencing things different to that of the UK or US then Marrakech is a must do!!

A final word to Marrakech. If like me you enjoy a drop of beer or wine then bear in mind it is virtually a dry country, very few places serve alcohol (although it can be found). My top tip would be to take in a couple of bottles of wine or a bottle of your favourite spirit together with a few double measure bottles from the plane. Fill them up every night and enjoy a "Cola Light" with your own added extra tipple while sitting watching the world go by in Jmaa el Fna.

Always happy to answer specific questions, but would not hesitate to recommend the riad as a base. Please see my other hotel reviews.

Have fun

Lee

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    867
    28
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
111
494
44
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds Yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

Myself and my husband stayed five nights at Le Clos Des Arts and had a wonderful experience.Georgina , Massimo and all the staff treated us like family and it felt like home from home in luxury surroundings.The meals were delicious and home cooked by Leila and were by far the best food we had in Morrocco.All the staff looked happy and seemed to have fun even helping us to purchase a particular pot similar to one at the riad.The rooftop garden with the pool was great to while away the afternoons enjoying tea and pastries lounging on the comfortable seats. I would certainly recommend this riad to all my friends as I couldn't imagine finding anywhere better.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

We enjoyed three terrific days at the Riad thanks to Giorgina, Massimo and their fine staff. All were most helpful throughout our stay. Delightful room, great meals...a delightful experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
modena
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

Riad Le Clos des Arts, very likely the best place where to spend a plesant stay while visiting Marrakech. Elegant, intimate, however the real luxury is the home feeling that Giorgina and Massimo, your discret but always present hosts, have been able to create which make every client feeling part of a family.
Massimo large Africa’s experience contributes to widen your view of this magic continent.
Giorgina’s personal touches are all around you and, at the end of another full day wondering around the medina, she welcomes you with gourmet food, supervised in all its aspect from preparation to the service.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

We were welcomed personally by the owners Giorgina & Massimo and given mint tea and freshly made pastries. They gave us information about the Riad and the area and educated us in the "Do's and Don'ts". Nothing was too much trouble for either them or the staff and there was always one of them available to answer questions or to ask for advice. They also arranged bookings in restaurants for us and also trips with a guide around the Medina and into the Atlas Mountains both of which were wonderful experiences.

The breakfasts were beautifully served in their small intimate restaurant and consisted of fresh fruit, yoghurt, freshly baked breads and pastries and speciality teas and coffee. There was absolutely no stone left unturned in order to make us welcome and provide for our every needs and we cannot praise Giorgina, Massimo and their staff for making our stay so memorable in this fascinating, vibrant city.

The Riad itself was luxuriously furnished in true Morrocan style and was a peaceful haven away from the hustle and bustle, yet so conveniently situated for the main square Jemaa El Fna. Our family shared four beautiful suites and the teenagers also loved the whole place and the true Moroccan atmosphere and felt very comfortable and relaxed there. There is a small pool on the roof terrace with comfortable seating, towels, sun hats and everything for your convenience.

I would not hesitate to recommend this beautiful Riad to anyone and have to say that Giorgina & Massimo treat people as friends and go out of their way to ensure that your stay is a truly memorable experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morges
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

Having spent five incredible days in Marakesh - unforgettable thanks to the the truly warm welcome, and to the efficiency of the proprietors -
my time in the riad "Le clos des arts" was memorable...
In its glorious situation right in the medina and yet sheltered from the noise, this riad is a perfect replica of the maroccan homes, with its comfort,
beautiful architecture and its impeccable service ( I recommend the typical local specialities and the cook's patisserie ! ).
The owners are quietly present and attentive to the details which make their guests' stay such a pleasure; nothing is too much trouble and the
place runs smoothly for the comfort of everyone.
The success of the visit is also due to the ideal number of visitors, not too many rooms, and therefore very personal attention ,indeed a family
atmosphere allowing welcome and discretion in equal balance. One can always find a quiet corner to be alone if one wishes.
In all, my stay will remain a delightful memory. Thank you to those who made it such a success
Violaine from Switzerland

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

We are just back from a splendid week at Le Clos des Arts with friends. Our stay was meant to be a sort of relaxing prize after 6 months of hard work and that's what we got but also much more! The atmosphere was a mixture of friendly and discreet comfort, excellent food and wonderful situation. Georgina&Massimo were perfect. When I went onto the website to write this I was so surprised to read the review by JayLittle London - I couldn't help but think he must be describing another hotel, he certainly didn't stay at OUR Le Clos des Arts! Anyway, both our and our friends' rooms were spacious and sparkling clean - neither did we have any problems whatsoever having showers when we arrived back after hot&dustry trips into the desert! Not to mention our long relaxing breakfasts and romantic dinners! All told it was a marvellous stay and we shall be back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad le Clos des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad le Clos des Arts

Address: Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#21 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a narrow street of the Medina of Marrakech come and discover Riad le Clos des Arts: a charming Arab house renovated in pure Moresque style. Be seduced by this fascinating oriental atmosphere, be tempted by the authenticity of traditional Moroccan flavours, be refreshed by a plunge into the small pool on the terrace.The riad offers 4 suites and 2 rooms, all with ensuite bathrooms and the possibility to have dinner on order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad le Clos des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Clos Des Arts Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad le Clos des Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.