We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of calm in the bustle of the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad le Clos des Arts

Save Saved
You added Riad le Clos des Arts to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
END OF SUMMER 2014
Ranked #3 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
London
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Oasis of calm in the bustle of the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The Riad le Clos des Arts had quite a reputation to live up to but from the moment we were met by Massimo to the time we reluctantly had to depart, it exceeded our expectations. Massimo walked us from the drop-off point after our airport transfer and pointed out routes and sights on the way. He continued his introduction to Marrakech over mint tea and biscuits when we reached the riad and no stone was left unturned - everything he told us came in useful during our four night stay and we were very grateful for the map that helped us out on more than once occasion.

The entrance to the riad is, like many similar properties, unassuming - it gives you little clue as to the comfort and beautiful decor that you're treated to inside. The surrounds are lovely, the fountain atmospheric and the smell and sight of the roses welcome you every time you return. We had turquoise room and it was beautifully decorated, peaceful and comfortable with a lovely bathroom and gorgeous four poster bed.

Nothing was too much trouble for Massimo and Giorgina and their expert team - some have commented about the family environment in the riad and it really does feel like you are being welcomed into your hosts' home. They were only too pleased to attend to our needs, answer our questions and feed and water us when we needed it. The icing on the cake was the roses in the room when we returned on my wife's birthday and a special gift for her from the the riad - it was a lovely thought, vey generous and much appreciated by us both.

Incidentally, we ate at the riad on our first night because we arrived quite late - the food was outstanding and the service impeccable in keeping with everything we experienced during our stay. The rooftop terrace was a perfect spot for our first meal in Marrakech and each morning started perfectly with a delicious breakfast that changed each day. We spent as much time up on the terrace as we could between meals and sightseeing - it epitomises the oasis that this riad is for its guests.

Staying in the Medina is for us the only way to experience Marrakech - the sights and sounds, the heat and the colour - and, after all of that, a return to the tranquility of the riad. There is certainly nowehere else that we would rather stay and we're looking forward to our return!

Room Tip: Turquoise room is lovely - peaceful, beautifully decorated and close to the stairs for the terrace a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    835
    27
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
109
478
41
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I was recently treated to a birthday surprise in the heart of bustling Marrakesh, staying at Riad le Clos des Arts. From the moment we were met at the airport by the prearranged driver to being dropped back at the airport we felt welcomed and completely looked after. The Riad is located a short stroll down one of the pedestrianised roads and without that initial guide might have been slightly difficult to find but we were guided expertly by Massimo, who pointed out the key landmarks to watch out for. Arriving at the Riad, we were given a refreshing drink and guided through the important landmarks and special watch-outs of the Medina, we also met Georgina who invited us to eat with them, however we were keen to get stuck into the city as quickly as possible. After quickly inspecting the well proportioned and very well appointed room we would be staying in we headed out.

The room itself contained a four poster bed, large lounging chair (large enough for two people to sit comfortably), two cupboards and the obligatory safe. The bathroom was extremely nice, with a large shower and more than enough space for two people to comfortably get ready for the day or night ahead.

Breakfast is served on the roof terrace, usually a fruit salad and yogurt plus local breads, pancakes or cakes served with fresh orange juice and tea or coffee, and it is here you can relax on one of the sunbeds with a towel, small sheet and sun hat provided. A dip in the small but beautiful plunge pool certainly refreshed in the heat of the mid-day.

Staff are exceptionally polite and helpful and they were more than happy to put up with my mangling of the Arabic language as I tried to string sentences together. The Riad provided lunch for the staff every day and all tips were put into the pot to share out with the whole team from the doorman to the person washing the sheets, which I thought was a very fair system.

People or all persuasions are welcomed to the Riad and I cannot recommend it enough if you are looking for traditional rustic charm in the heart of the old town. Forget staying in an impersonal soulless chain hotel outside the city walls and stay at this home away from home, but they only have a few rooms so make sure you book well in advance!

Room Tip: All rooms are on the first floor looking out on the the central courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had the most lovely long weekend in this beautiful little Riad where Massimo and Georgina did everything possible to make us feel welcome, including giving us useful tips when we arrived, going through the map, places of interest and advice on local culture, shopping and everything. The first night we decided to dine at the Riad, and it was unquestionably the best meal of our stay.

Thank you for a wonderful introduction to Marrakech Massimo and Georgina and all your super staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous stay at this riad. There are so many wonderful things to say about this riad, owners and staff.

The riad is a wonderful, peaceful, gorgeous haven in the hustle and bustle that is Marrakech. Our room was the Rubis - the smallest of the rooms but perfectly formed, from the beautiful style and the lovely local toiletries that are available in the rooms everything was catered for.

The staff in the hotel are simply wonderful - polite, through, friendly and courteous. They work incredibly hard and are really a credit to the riad and the wonderful owners.

We ate at the hotel on our first evening and the dinner was delightful, the staff even stayed till 11pm in order to serve us, this maybe standard protocol in Morocco but every other country we have travelled to the kitchen would have been closed by then. Breakfast was lovely each day, fresh breads, juices, jams etc, everything you need for a good breakfast before hitting the city. Do try Giorgina's lemon and ginger drink it was delicious and so refreshing.

The part that absolutely made our experience was the lovely Giorgina and Massimo it is hard to know where to start with how wonderful they were from Massimo personally meeting us from the taxi walking us to the riad and making us feel at ease, to Giorgina sitting down with us for 40 mins to run through where are where not to go in Marrakech ensuring we did not get lost - invaluable advice in Marrakech, booking tables and taxis, recommending places of interest dependant on us and what we did, the list simply goes on and on. They could not do enough for us.

If you are one of those savvy travelers that believes in sustainable tourism and giving something back to the local community this riad is completely that, the staff are all locals and so is the food sourced and I am sure all the fixtures and fittings are as well. It was clear that Giorgina and Massimo whole heartidly support the local area and was something that was a pleasure to see. That in my view is why the staff were so lovely from the respect they got from the owners.

I spent weeks researching somewhere for our stay in Marrakech and I decided on this based on the reviews if you are looking at this and contemplating this against another riad just book it I GURANTEE you will not be dissapointed.

I do now believe that our time in the riad has spoiled us for any other hotel we ever visit - if only Giorgina and Massimo ran more hotels :-)

Room Tip: They are all beautiful and wonderfully designed you will not be dissapointed whichever you chose. As...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Wow. The place has been lovingly restored without glamour or glitz. It felt like an exotic home and Massimo and Georgina are hosts extraordinaire. I wish they ran hotels all over the world. It is a mix of beauty, design and simple elegance. Their dinners for guests are excellent and everything people say is true. One of my best hotel experiences ever and I have travelled the world!
It is also safe and a great way to engage the culture. Forget the big hotels!

Room Tip: Check the web. The pictures are accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This riad is ran by an amazing couple who really love what they do and it shows in every aspect.
From the moment we walked in we felt at home and after being away from home for a while it felt great. Giorgina gave us plenty of helpful info about marakesh (the dos and donts) and massimo made sure i got my dose of medicine when i got sick. There is no place I would rather be if im ever in marakesh again.
A big warm thank you to Giorgina, massimo and the staff
Sandra and Meyer

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My mother and I spent 3 nights in Riad le Clos des Arts in early June 2014 and had a wonderful time. Massimo, Giorgina and their staff made us feel completely at home while at the same time being so accommodating (especially when my Mum got food poisioning!). The space is beautifully maintained and the oils make it smell amazing. The rooftop terrace is the perfect spot for breakfast and some rest and relaxation after a day exploring. Highly recommend having dinner here at least one night too. You won't be disappointed if you stay here!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Citrine Room which is the smallest (I think). It was absolutely fine though so if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad le Clos des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad le Clos des Arts

Address: Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#14 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a narrow street of the Medina of Marrakech come and discover Riad le Clos des Arts: a charming Arab house renovated in pure Moresque style. Be seduced by this fascinating oriental atmosphere, be tempted by the authenticity of traditional Moroccan flavours, be refreshed by a plunge into the small pool on the terrace.The riad offers 4 suites and 2 rooms, all with ensuite bathrooms and the possibility to have dinner on order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Riad le Clos des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Clos Des Arts Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad le Clos des Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.