We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad le Clos des Arts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad le Clos des Arts to your Saves list
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Kingswood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had the most lovely long weekend in this beautiful little Riad where Massimo and Georgina did everything possible to make us feel welcome, including giving us useful tips when we arrived, going through the map, places of interest and advice on local culture, shopping and everything. The first night we decided to dine at the Riad, and it was unquestionably the best meal of our stay.

Thank you for a wonderful introduction to Marrakech Massimo and Georgina and all your super staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    28
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
109
488
44
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous stay at this riad. There are so many wonderful things to say about this riad, owners and staff.

The riad is a wonderful, peaceful, gorgeous haven in the hustle and bustle that is Marrakech. Our room was the Rubis - the smallest of the rooms but perfectly formed, from the beautiful style and the lovely local toiletries that are available in the rooms everything was catered for.

The staff in the hotel are simply wonderful - polite, through, friendly and courteous. They work incredibly hard and are really a credit to the riad and the wonderful owners.

We ate at the hotel on our first evening and the dinner was delightful, the staff even stayed till 11pm in order to serve us, this maybe standard protocol in Morocco but every other country we have travelled to the kitchen would have been closed by then. Breakfast was lovely each day, fresh breads, juices, jams etc, everything you need for a good breakfast before hitting the city. Do try Giorgina's lemon and ginger drink it was delicious and so refreshing.

The part that absolutely made our experience was the lovely Giorgina and Massimo it is hard to know where to start with how wonderful they were from Massimo personally meeting us from the taxi walking us to the riad and making us feel at ease, to Giorgina sitting down with us for 40 mins to run through where are where not to go in Marrakech ensuring we did not get lost - invaluable advice in Marrakech, booking tables and taxis, recommending places of interest dependant on us and what we did, the list simply goes on and on. They could not do enough for us.

If you are one of those savvy travelers that believes in sustainable tourism and giving something back to the local community this riad is completely that, the staff are all locals and so is the food sourced and I am sure all the fixtures and fittings are as well. It was clear that Giorgina and Massimo whole heartidly support the local area and was something that was a pleasure to see. That in my view is why the staff were so lovely from the respect they got from the owners.

I spent weeks researching somewhere for our stay in Marrakech and I decided on this based on the reviews if you are looking at this and contemplating this against another riad just book it I GURANTEE you will not be dissapointed.

I do now believe that our time in the riad has spoiled us for any other hotel we ever visit - if only Giorgina and Massimo ran more hotels :-)

Room Tip: They are all beautiful and wonderfully designed you will not be dissapointed whichever you chose. As...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Wow. The place has been lovingly restored without glamour or glitz. It felt like an exotic home and Massimo and Georgina are hosts extraordinaire. I wish they ran hotels all over the world. It is a mix of beauty, design and simple elegance. Their dinners for guests are excellent and everything people say is true. One of my best hotel experiences ever and I have travelled the world!
It is also safe and a great way to engage the culture. Forget the big hotels!

Room Tip: Check the web. The pictures are accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This riad is ran by an amazing couple who really love what they do and it shows in every aspect.
From the moment we walked in we felt at home and after being away from home for a while it felt great. Giorgina gave us plenty of helpful info about marakesh (the dos and donts) and massimo made sure i got my dose of medicine when i got sick. There is no place I would rather be if im ever in marakesh again.
A big warm thank you to Giorgina, massimo and the staff
Sandra and Meyer

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My mother and I spent 3 nights in Riad le Clos des Arts in early June 2014 and had a wonderful time. Massimo, Giorgina and their staff made us feel completely at home while at the same time being so accommodating (especially when my Mum got food poisioning!). The space is beautifully maintained and the oils make it smell amazing. The rooftop terrace is the perfect spot for breakfast and some rest and relaxation after a day exploring. Highly recommend having dinner here at least one night too. You won't be disappointed if you stay here!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Citrine Room which is the smallest (I think). It was absolutely fine though so if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I don't think I've read so many positive reviews of any hotel before on Trip Advisor. I've always trusted Trip Advisor in the past, trusted it this time, and was very pleased that I did. I can only echo the majority of the sentiments on here. This Riad is very, very special. It's utterly tranquil with just the burble of the courtyard fountain for company. It's astonishing how close you are to the utter melee of the city, but from only a few hundred yards away, you hear nothing of it. This is exactly my kind of place. I'm still young enough to enjoy the frenetic pace of a place like Marrakech, but old enough to want an escape from it when it suits me, and Riad le Clos des Arts is that place. As many others have stated, Giorgina and Massimo are as special as their accommodation, an utterly charming couple who float gracefully about the Riad in a calm manner, chatting quietly in little corners to their guests and taking 'service' up a notch from anything I've had the pleasure of encountering before. I've always said that you can't teach folk to be courteous and caring, you can always see through such people with ease, Giorgina and Massimo weren't trained to be engaging and thoughtful, they were born that way and they genuinely care about their guests. It was honestly a faultless experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Willing to visit Marrakech, with my wife we went for this Riad, in between the many, through friends recommendations. It resulted being an excellent choice: have been warmly welcomed by the owners, which showed further being attentive to any need, flexible in providing assistance when required, always available. Moreover, you clearly perceive staff is carefully selected to provide a polite and effective service.
Location is great inside, would say quintessential, tasty and tidy, and perfectly located in town for visiting.
At times Marrakech might be demanding, therefore turning a couple of corners and dive into a cosy calmness makes a pleasant difference.
Dining on the beautiful terrace or in the courtyard is a refined pleasure, local cuisine is nicely proposed.
As initiatives we have been proposed a tourist guide an wellness treatments, both proved being great, very good value for money, likewise everything we got through this highly recommendable pick.

Room Tip: First floor, adds the extra bit, though not essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad le Clos des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad le Clos des Arts

Address: Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a narrow street of the Medina of Marrakech come and discover Riad le Clos des Arts: a charming Arab house renovated in pure Moresque style. Be seduced by this fascinating oriental atmosphere, be tempted by the authenticity of traditional Moroccan flavours, be refreshed by a plunge into the small pool on the terrace.The riad offers 4 suites and 2 rooms, all with ensuite bathrooms and the possibility to have dinner on order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Riad le Clos des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Clos Des Arts Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad le Clos des Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.