We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect. Really.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad le Clos des Arts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad le Clos des Arts to your Saves list
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Larchmont, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Perfect. Really.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

As you’ve read…the reviews here are overwhelmingly positive, and I’m happy to add….they’re 100% accurate. This Riad is a spectacular place to stay.

We stayed for 3 days in mid-February in the “Nacre” suite on the first floor.

Briefly (because so many others have covered it…), the Riad itself is very beautiful. The details are all nicely considered, our room was comfortable; the center “courtyard” was lovely and the whole place smelled amazing. It was a quiet, calm oasis to come home to…and when you’re coming in from the chaotic, loud, crazy streets of the Medina it’s all the more striking and appreciated.

Next, the food was excellent. We had breakfast every morning and dinner one night. Breakfast (served on the roof terrace) was great. All homemade…including the delicious yogurt and freshly baked basket of local-style breads and pastries. Dinner one night was special…a set 3 course Moroccan menu that was delicious. We had chicken Tagine with lemon and olives and it was the best single dish we had out entire trip to Marrakesh.

But what really sets this Riad apart is the hospitality and attention of the staff.

It’s immediately apparent that for the owners, this Riad is a labor of love. Georgina and Massimo made our trip measurably better-- and when was the last time you could say that about the owners of a hotel you were staying at?

They have a brilliant system that, for us, was welcoming and just what we needed during out first trip to Marrakesh. Georgina personally welcomed us at the parking area and walked us back to the Riad, pointing out landmarks and basically explaining how to “home in” on the Riad from anywhere. The Medina can be confusing, so that first 5 minutes was invaluable. It should be noted that the Riad is on a very quiet back street about a 5-7 minute walk from the Jemaa el-Fnaa. Very centrally located if you’re walking everywhere (which we were).

Georgina then sat us down for a short welcome (over Mint tea and cookies) and a review of the map of the medina. She outlined the basics and some places to see…and importantly, some neighborhoods to watch out for. All very nice and very useful for us.

Massimo was interesting (and gregarious!) and always willing to sit for a few minutes to chat over a tea. He’s a super interesting guy that has done some amazing stuff.

Both of them (and Adrianna, the daytime manager) were always available and present for a recommendation or a bit of help on any topic.

For me, the most impressive part of our visit wasn’t anything tangible. It was the hospitality provided by the owners. We literally felt like friends of theirs. Really.

And when you consider that they replicate that same level of attention (and that same feeling) for all their guests…it’s all the more impressive.

If you’re thinking about staying in the Medina, you should stay at this Riad. Full stop. Just do it…you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    851
    28
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
109
488
44
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed at this Riad for one week 11-18th February 2014. We booked it over the internet without any problems and emails from Giorgina and Massimo were friendly and reassuring for first time visitors to Marrakesh. Giorgina and Massimo organised for us to be collected from the airport and when our taxi arrived at the edge of the Medina Massimo was there to guide us through the maze of alleyways to our Riad, which was great as we arrived in the dark and it would have been difficult to find without him! Massimo told us Moroccan houses are plain on the outside and all their beauty is on the inside and so it was with this Riad. Giorgina is an architect by trade and has lovingly and beautifully restored this old building and created an elegant peaceful oasis with extraordinary attention to detail. The surroundings are five star, but the atmosphere is relaxed and friendly. The staff are extremely attentive, and the breakfasts and dinners delicious. Breakfast is a bowl of prepared fruit with a pot of set yogurt, orange juice, tea/coffee and a plate of bread with cake, picklets, or little pancakes and you can have eggs. Dinner is three course, fresh local produce, with delicious olives and bread to nibble while you wait. The rooms have a safe, plenty of storage space and coat hangers (always a bone of contention in hotels I find) Plenty of hot water and toiletries and a comfortable bed with white linens. There is also an a/c system which can be used to heat as well as cool the room should you need it. If the sun is shining breakfast is served on the roof terrace where there are loungers and a plunge pool to relax in during the day when wrestling with the enthusiastic traders in the souks gets too exhausting. The Riad is in a great position just a five-ten minute walk from Place Jemaa-el-Fna. We had supper out at le Salama at the end of our alleyway a couple of nights where the food was good, great service, nice music, euro prices and alcohol if you wanted it. We also ate at Le Marrakeshi on the square where the views from the first floor windows of Place Jemaa-el-Fba at night were great and the food was ok, again euro prices. On our first morning at the Riad we were given a very thorough and enormously helpful induction by Adriana, (Massimo's cousin who has had a house in Marrakesh for the last 10 years and knows a thing or two) she checked us out each day to see if we were OK and organised a wonderful day trip into the Atlas Mountains for us. We had a late flight on our final day and were not rushed out of our room at day break and where encouraged to use the facilities of the Riad until it was time to go. This place is why we never go to large hotels anymore but seek out small, relaxed and beautiful places where people with local knowledge and impeccable hospitality look after you as well as you could ever expect.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Turquoise room which was beautiful and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in Georgina and Massimo's Riad for a combined 50th celebration. A really fantastic experience, very friendly staff and brilliant advice and booking of trips and guides from Georgina. All the other comments made, we experienced as well. Accomodation first rate and a great break! Massimo also lends out his short coat djellaba if you have not got a jacket!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I visited Marrakech last week with my boyfriend and had the most wonderful time staying at Giorgina and Massimo's Riad. It feels like a beautiful and tranquil oasis away from the bustle of the town, despite being positioned so centrally and close to everything. You feel you are getting an authentic understanding of what it's really like to live in Marrakech.

When we arrived Massimo greeted us and walked us to the Riad, before sitting us down and offering us tea and delicious sweet treats, getting out a map and showing us all the key places to see and visit including authentic restaurants which are not touristy and off the beaten track.

We opted for the cheapest room Citrine which was perfect for us and a great option if you don't want to pay so much but still want to stay in a beautiful high quality Riad. All of the staff in the Riad were absolutely wonderful and so attentive, the breakfast was delicious served on the lovely sunny terrace (in February!) and the dinner we opted for one night was also very tasty and a nice option for the first night when we tired and didn't want to walk out to a restaurant.

I would definitely recommend doing the imlil trekking day trip which the Riad can organise, our guide was so lovely and informative and showed an entirely different side to Marrakech!

I could go on but overall I would recommend this Riad without a moments hesitation, the hosts are wonderful and there to help your every need as well as the staff - you honestly feel like you are in paradise!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

We found the Riad with the help of a very welcoming and harmless local... As we knocked on the door I had no idea what to expect.. We were hot and and a little disorientated.

The door opened to the biggest, warmest smile I've ever seen. We were welcomed into a calming sanctuary that smelt of summer. Adriana served mint tea whilst she explained the customs of Marrakech and the do' sand don't's. I instantly felt at ease and relaxed.

Our room was beautiful. The bed was extremely comfortable. The shower was huge! It was immaculately clean and the interiors whilst modern still reflected a traditional Riad.

Breakfast was included. It was very appetising. Fresh fruit, home made breads,pastries and eggs washed down with fresh juice and coffee. Perfect start to the days served on the roof terrace.

The little touches the staff made meant something. We never mentioned my partners birthday but Adriana noticed when we checked in. It was this attention to detail that lead to birthday cake and a generous gift.

Gorgina and Massimo were on hand for advice on day trips, what to see where to go. Our only regret is that we never ate in the Riad. When we go back we will definitely eat our evening meals there!

Don't hesitate. It's the best place you could ever stay in Marrakech!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I decided on this riad for my honeymoon based on TA research and reviews. I am very pleased with my decision :)

Our experience followed exactly what many others have mentioned - Massimo greeting us at the taxi area, taking us inside to the riad, providing a map and offering history/tips, etc. Georgina & Massimo were wonderful and very friendly hosts.

We stayed in two different rooms and both were beautiful.

I had advised Georgina on our food preferences, and those were taken into account into the delicious dinner we had at the riad (the main was essentially a Moroccan version of meatballs in a tomato gravy).

We booked a couple activities through the riad (a cooking lesson, a trek to the mountains, a half day tour), and were satisfied with all our experiences, though they can get a bit expensive (I don't think less expensive options are available though).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

It is not often I feel compelled to write a review. I don't usually bother moaning when something is bad as it just brings back bad memories. So I reserve my efforts when something is exceptional - and both Marrakech and the Riad les Clos Des Arts were exceptional.
The Riad is a little gem. I don't really want to share it with you in case it gets too busy ! Giorgina and Massimo who run the hotel could not have made us feel more welcome nor looked after us with any greater care. The Hotel is beautiful and the rooms just lovely, the guide Giorgina got for our tour of the city was incredible - ask for Yousef if you want a great, funny, friendly, knowledgeable tour, Then try the Hammam experience which they organised - Just WOW ! Dinner on our last night was exceptional - even catering for my limited taste buds whilst impressing my wife (the chef) with a traditional Tagine and Broats.
Marrakech was a surprise to me. It is an assault on your senses, The colours, the smells, the noise, the people of the souks just hit you one after another. The people do drive you mad trying to sell and, yes, begging - but we found a smile and a simple but stern Non Merci usually did the trick. And laughing along with any comments helps. We especially loved that all the locals learned English watch Eastenders and Mr Bean leading to wonderful cockney accents in this wonderful ancient market place. Being told to come and have a Shufti just made my day.
This is the first time in a very very long time I have gone on holiday and felt as relaxed as I did as quickly as I did. What a wonderful holiday. Can't wait to go back !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad le Clos des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad le Clos des Arts

Address: Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a narrow street of the Medina of Marrakech come and discover Riad le Clos des Arts: a charming Arab house renovated in pure Moresque style. Be seduced by this fascinating oriental atmosphere, be tempted by the authenticity of traditional Moroccan flavours, be refreshed by a plunge into the small pool on the terrace.The riad offers 4 suites and 2 rooms, all with ensuite bathrooms and the possibility to have dinner on order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad le Clos des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Clos Des Arts Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad le Clos des Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.