We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bellissimo - worth six stars!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad le Clos des Arts

Save Saved
You added Riad le Clos des Arts to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Bellissimo - worth six stars!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed as guests of the lovely Georgina and Massimo at their delightful Riad for a total of 4 nights, broken by a side trip we did to Essaouira. Wow, this Riad is just lovely! It is neat as a pin with lovely touches everywhere, from daily rose petals in the courtyard fountain, to fragrant burning oils. It is a small place with I think only 7 rooms, but the 3 rooms we used were all lovely. The decoration of this Riad is a real credit to Georgina, creating a cosy, intimate feel that warms the welcome and stay in this place. The Riad is well located on the Bahia Palace side of the medina, and an easy 5 minute stroll to the centre of action. All aspects of the Riad work well - wifi, bedding, bathrooms, etc. we could not fault anything! That is hard to do! We loved the occasional mint teas, delightful breakfasts and ever welcoming staff as the door opened when we got back from somewhere. Service is impeccable in this place, we were assisted cheerfully with even the smallest request. Georgina and Massimo have assembled a great team, and we especially want to thank the very cool dude Yousef who served breakfast with an eternal smile ( as well as ushering us several times to waiting taxis) and Adriana who cheerfully chatted away. It is rare when you leave a hotel that you feel a connection to the place and the staff that makes it so hard to leave - but we did here. If you want a fantastic Riad in Marrakech, especially such an atmospheric and welcoming one then you must stay here - just fantastic. Ciao xxx

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    785
    26
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
102
446
37
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This was my second time to spend my holidays at the Ryad. It was the Perfect decision, I have been welcomed by Giorgina and Massimo and it seemed to be part of their family. The staff was again so friendly and ready to help. The atmosphere was so warm and wonderful.
The icing on the cake was Christmas evening, not only did Giorgina and the chef surprised all of us with an exquisite dinner, but even we all received a gift from Massimo and Giorgina.
The menu was perfectly prepared in all its details, highlighting the textures of the best Moroccan cusine with a pinch of European touch ...and it was so delicious. The Moroccan soup and the lamb flavoured with honey, I never tried before such a good speciality. Thank you Massimo and Giorgina for all your lovely care, been at your Ryad make really the difference. It is always a special experience ,which I highly recommend.
Thanks again, Roberto.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby Lonsdale, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This was a surprise trip for my wife's 40th birthday. I saw the Riad on tripadviser and following my enquiry Georgina emailed back straight away with a lovely welcoming email. Herself and massimo organised our transfer which is a Deffo must do, no hassle, straight into Marrakech and met by Georgina. The Riad is amazing, very clean, the design out of this world and the service second to none. The Riad is like a home from home, very open and a real friendly service from all. Our room was also amazing, very traditional, exactly what we hoped for. The roof top was also fantastic, we sat up here drinking champagne and it was perfect. To cut a long story short we would recommend this place to anybody and would like to thank Massimo, Georgina and their team for all their help and the way they looked after us. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Being hosted in the exotic City of Marrakech by Massimo, Georgina, and their staff created a perfect experience. Of course the Riad is lovely and when complimented by Massimo and Georgina's warmth and the delicious food the Riad was simply wonderful.
Thank you Massimo and Georgina
M Australia

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armitage, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We travelled to Marrakech for my birthday weekend last yr in March. The Riad was stunning and Massimo and Giorgina were fabulous hosts. From start to finish they were beyond helpful. It was a pleasure to meet them both. Decor throughout the Riad is just beautiful and it was constantly filled with the aroma of Jasmine or delightful home cooked Morroccan cuisine. We ate dinner at the Riad twice - the food is out of this world. Eating out anywhere else after was a total dissappointment.

The morning of my birthday I was treated to a special birthday breakfast on the roof terrace and was presented with birthday babouches courtesy of Le Clos Des Arts team. I was so touched. We the headed out into the Atlas mountains on a trip organised by Massimo. Our driver even presented me with flowers at pick up. I have never been so spoilt! We had the best day thanks to Massimo and Giorgina and a trip I will never forget. Hopefully we will see you both again in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We cannot recommend this riad enough. Georgina and Massimo's high standard of care was evident before we landed as they organised transfers and a meet and to-the-door,. This is a must-do in maze-like Marrakesh. On offer is a surprising level of tranquility a stones throw from the hectic main square (Jamaa el Fna) and the adjacent souk. Tasty Moroccan dinner, available by request for a reasonable price further highlights the level of quality that our hosts so obviously live by. We also took part in a great hamaam (organised by G & M) which we recommend.
All in all, we loved our three night stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We chose this Riad when we searched Tripadvisor looking for a Riad in the Medina for a real Moroccan experience other than the hotel recommended by our tour provider. How lucky we were! Maximo met our driver and us in the parking lot outside the medina and guided all of us including our luggage carrier through the narrow streets and alleys to his wonderful Riad! Along the way, he pointed out landmarks to help us locate the Riad when out on our own. When we reached the Riad and stepped inside, it was magical! We were guided to the courtyard and sat and sipped mint tea with cookies while Maximo gave us a map and pointed out sights he thought we would enjoy as well as advise on where not to wander. It made us feel so comfortable and relaxed we couldn't wait to get out in the medina and experience it all! Our room, Turquoise, was just wonderful and beautifully furnished. At night, when we returned to the Riad, the staff made us mint tea (my favorite) in the courtyard while we winded down after very full touring days. Three nights at this Riad was not enough!!! The highlight was the wonderful dinner that Georgina and staff prepared for us our last night in Marrakesh - roast lamb!!! Excellent!!! The small dining area off the courtyard was just perfect to enjoy this special meal. Breakfasts were just wonderful served on the roof - eggs to order, wonderful breads and pastries. The staff was just so friendly and accommodating. But most of all, Maximo and Georgina are a class act. Don't miss this wonderful, wonderful property. Our tour operator from the US even visited this Riad to check it out and was extremely impressed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad le Clos des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad le Clos des Arts

Also Known As:
Riad Le Clos Des Arts Hotel
Riad Le Clos Des Arts Hotel Marrakech
Address: Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a narrow street of the Medina of Marrakech come and discover Riad le Clos des Arts: a charming Arab house renovated in pure Moresque style. Be seduced by this fascinating oriental atmosphere, be tempted by the authenticity of traditional Moroccan flavours, be refreshed by a plunge into the small pool on the terrace.The riad offers 4 suites and 2 rooms, all with ensuite bathrooms and the possibility to have dinner on order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelBookers and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riad le Clos des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad le Clos des Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.