We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“meraviglioso ....indeed... wonderful in any language!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad le Clos des Arts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad le Clos des Arts to your Saves list
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
WINTER COVER IN PLACE
Ranked #3 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Shrewsbury
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“meraviglioso ....indeed... wonderful in any language!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We have been to Marrakech before and stayed in lovely Riad's, however Riad Clos Des Arts is excellent and outstanding from the moment we were met by Giorgina when we arrived at the parking area...because Giorgina and Massimo make the whole experience special, by welcoming and making you feel so at ease and genuinely enthusing about your stay and meeting you.

Since we booked they could not have done more but their game is upped even more on arrival as they seek to help you get the very best out of your stay in Marrakech, as they ply you with mint tea and Moroccan biscuits...

A perfect position quietly situated just off the Riad Zitoun Jdid and a short walk to the main square of Djemma el Fnaa....

Clos Des Arts itself is so cosy and every room seems special...you would not be disappointed with any of them...we stayed in the Nacre Suite on the ground floor which suited us fine and we had breakfast on the enclosed roof terrace with it's private sunbathing area and plunge pool to retreat from the hubbub of Marrakech and it's souks. Rooms had hairdryers ...wifi was available

A bureau de change just around the corner on Riad Zitoun Jdid is handy!

Every meal is a delight and the dinners dished up by Leila, are alone worth visiting Riad Clos Des Arts for!

Each day we returned to our oasis it was like coming home and relaxing with mint tea or refreshing ginger drinks.....

Giorgina and Massimo arranged a special gala evening for our party and a group of visiting friends and prepared a special menu....you could not have bettered the food anywhere in Marrakech!

Our only disappointment was we had only 4 nights here where we wanted to stay longer! We plan to visit again.... inshallah!

Thank you so much Giorgina Massimo.... Leila and your team!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Nacre suite which was ground floor so great for those who struggle with steps and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    875
    28
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
112
499
44
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uttoxeter
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were very impressed with the riad clos des artes. The riad itself is absolutely beautiful, a very calm and tranquil place to relax after exploring the souks.

Giorgina and Massimo were excellent hosts, giving us local information, spa and cooking class recommendations and tips for first timers. They even recommended a good place to buy moroccan carpets!
The staff at the riad were very friendly and attentive, and always greeted us with a smile. The breakfast and dinner at the riad was also delicious!

The riad is a short walk from the main square so is perfectly located to explore the city, it is also nr the bank where you can top up on dirhums and there is a taxi rank nearby too if you need it.

We had a great time and really appreciate the warm welcome we received.
Highly recommended, especially if it is your first trip to Marrakech.

Shukran and Grazie Giorgina and Massimo!

Charlotte and Joe

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Staying with Giorgina and Massimo at Riad le Clos des Arts is such an amazing experience. From the first moment of contacting them directly to book a room to my departure with Giorgina helping with my luggage and Massimo riding up on a bicycle to say goodbye, the experience was a delight.
I spent four nights at the riad at the end of September / beginning of October and was allowed to use my room the final day until I headed out for my flight in the early evening.

Breakfasts on the roof terrace were delicious feasts with yogurt, fresh fruit, homemade breads and jams, eggs, fresh juice, tea and coffee. The room was comfortable and beautifully decorated. In many ways it is more like visiting a friend's home than booking an hotel. Giorgina and Massimo are available for advice on getting the most out of visiting Marrakech, or scheduling tours or a visit to a modern Hammam. (which I booked and loved -- after a day in the mountains).

Arranging for my pick up at 2:00am after a delayed flight, Iced lemon and ginger in the late afternoon, relaxed conversations with Massimo, arranging the visit to the hammam later in the evening after being out all day -- where else on the planet could this be done with such ease?

There is a climate of respect and a love of their work between Giorgina and Massimo and their staff that creates amazing hospitality. With respect for the culture and customs of their workers, work schedules allow time for family; daily lunch meetings keep things running smoothly; bonuses are available for excellent service. All of this enables a professional staff to work with warmth and sincerity to provide exceptional service.

Thank you, Giorgina and Massimo, for such an unforgetable experience,

Mary from Sacramento

Room Tip: My room was off the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I honestly don't know where to begin my review of Riad le Clos des Arts, was it the exceptional service, the amazing food, the wonderful location, the attention to detail, the attentiveness of our hosts Giorgina and Massimo, in the end it was all this and more that made our stay in Marrakech simply amazing.

Marrakech is a daunting place for even seasoned travellers, you need the experience of locals, and right from the start Georgina and Massimo looked after us like family, our pickup from the airport dropped as close to the Riad as possible, and before we could pull out the map and start wondering what we'd gotten ourselves into, we were met by staff with a trolley, and guided through the apparent maze that is Marrakech to the door of the Riad, our luggage was spirited to our room while Massimo gave us an introduction to Marrakech, all whilst we sipped on mint tea and cookies.

This sort of personal and attentive service continued throughout our stay, I simply cannot list all the individual niceties that we experience whilst staying at Clos des Arts, I'd need to write a novel. After a long day haggling in the markets, Giorgina would offer us a cold ginger drink to refresh, or organise a digestive tea after a dinner. Massimo helped us with reputable guides and drivers, all making our stay much more relaxing. On our last night we had dinner at the Riad, it was specially setup for us, and after eating at La Sultana the night before, I can honestly the say the food was far superior at Clos des Arts, and served as if we were part of the family.

I'll say it like this, if you are heading to Marrakech, you need give no more thought were to stay, Riad Clos des Arts is like staying with family right in the heart of Marrakech, I cannot wait to come back and see Giorgina and Massimo for another stay in wonderful Marrakech.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'Citrine' room, and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I've just returned from 4 days in the Riad le Clos Arts. The location is fantastic (though suspect most would need help to find it the first time) being very close to the centre but up a quiet back street which means there is little noise. Entering the riad is like stepping back in time, it is beautiful and decorated to a high spec.

The staff are amazing, from the welcome provided by Massimo and Giorgina to all the restaurant and room staff. Nothing is too much bother, it feels extremely relaxed but all staff are willing to go above and beyond to make the stay perfect. Even on arrival Massimo helped get my bearings by talking me through the area and then showing me round the neighbourhood so that I could find my way back to the riad. We took his advice around restaurants and also ate in the riad a few times (which was always excellent).

The breakfasts were a true highpoint: always fresh juice, homemade yoghurt, fresh fruit, home made jam, a choice of breads and omelettes. Amazing way to start the day sitting on the roof eating such great food.

I stayed in the smallest and cheapest room but it it was pretty spacious and had all the amenities I could need (inc safe).

I would wholeheartedly recommend this riad and if you go, try the homemade lemon and ginger drink!

Thanks Massimo and Giorgina!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The Riad is only five minutes away from the most famous square Jameaa el-Fnaa . From the first moment you enter in the Riad you receive a warm welcome from Massimo and Giorgina. They show great hospitality by offering you tea and it doesn’t take long before you feel at home. The fresh smell of jasmine pervades all your senses. The architecture and the refined decorations are the result of the exquisite Moroccan style implemented by Massimo and Giorgina. The elegant rooms each of which has its own design and style, makes this Riad unique in its genre. The terrace offers not only a comfortable place to have your breakfast or dinner , but also a swimming pool, where you can rest and relax after a long day out in the heat of the city.
You can taste the wonderful and exquisite Morocco cuisine, tagine and Moroccan traditional homemade soup, with the soft light of candles and Moroccan-style lamps. Fresh cakes are baked every morning, and organic and homemade jams are all products of Georgina’s expertise.
The staff is friendly and really professional. They are always keen to help you and make your stay unforgettable; yes it is a really unique experience. I personally recommend the Riad Les Clos des Art as a fantastic place for an unforgettable holiday.
Roberto from London

Room Tip: the rooms are really comfortable, It is really quite and
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We wanted to go somewhere new for our honeymoon. Somewhere exciting with sightseeing and also a location we could relax. Morocco! We decided on three days in Marrakech and 6 in the Atlas Mountains. We were met at the airport by our driver which had been arranged directly with Georgina at the time of booking (15 euros). Massimo gave us a really useful 'briefing' over a fresh mint tea on Marrakech - where to go/not to go, recommendations for restaurants etc. They also booked a guide for us so that we got the most out of our time there. Youssef was great, very knowledgeable and enthusiastic, great English and he didn't drag us round to shops all morning trying to get us buy stuff.
We had dinner at the Riad each night - it was lovely. Three courses of beautiful, traditional and homemade dishes for 25 euros. Served on the roof terrace with the beautiful sound of the call to prayer in the distance.
we loved our time here and the whole staff team under Massimo and Georgina were excellent. I would recommend the Riad to anyone and I would return without hesitation.

Room Tip: A suite is worth the little extra for more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad le Clos des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad le Clos des Arts

Address: Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#23 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a narrow street of the Medina of Marrakech come and discover Riad le Clos des Arts: a charming Arab house renovated in pure Moresque style. Be seduced by this fascinating oriental atmosphere, be tempted by the authenticity of traditional Moroccan flavours, be refreshed by a plunge into the small pool on the terrace.The riad offers 4 suites and 2 rooms, all with ensuite bathrooms and the possibility to have dinner on order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad le Clos des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Clos Des Arts Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad le Clos des Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.