We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad le Clos des Arts

Save Saved
You added Riad le Clos des Arts to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

With its prime location (five minutes to the local square), beautiful decor and friendly staff, Riad le Clos dest Arts would enhance any city visit. It's somewhat removed from the more commercial hotels that surround the medina, but all the better for it. In fact, we felt more like guests in someone's home than customers in a vast chain hotel. The decor is understated but tasteful, with small - yet thoughtful - touches throughout the whole riad. We ate dinner the first night and then had breakfast each morning and all the meals were excellent, always using simple but fresh ingredients. When we wanted peace and quiet we were left to our own devices, but if we needed help, they were ready with a range of options and sage advice.

I'd mentioned it was my wife's birthday in passing during the booking process, and on the day, she was presented with flowers, a cake and beautiful jasmine slippers after breakfast, completely unbidden by me. We received the same treatment later that day at the (excellent) Pepe Nero restaurant, after Giorgina had told them why we were coming - more cake, prosecco etc.

I doubt we could have made a better choice and it really did enhance what was a truly memorable first visit to Africa for my wife.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    824
    26
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
109
470
40
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Beautiful Riad, lovely staff (friendly and helpful without being over bearing), amazing breakfast, great location. Need anymore?! If we had to find a fault, it would be the lack of wave machine in the dunk pool.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

This Riad is simply great! Their owners (Giorgina and Massimo) will treat you like real guests to their hone and the rest of the staff is incredible. The place is almost magical and every single detail there is carefully cared. I could keep writing here for long but if a review is to give you a good advice, then THIS is the place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

After so much indecision and dithering we finally decided on this place due to the reviews on Trip Advisor.... I'm so glad we did!

It's a wonderful place - not just the actual accommodation , but everything about it from the ambience to the people that worked there! It's also conveniently located as not too far from the square and as two single females we felt safe walking to and from riad late at night.

Giorgina (the owner) was a fabulous host, we were made to feel very welcome and the time she spent providing background information and other practical advice was invaluable.

All in all : a perfect place to stay!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Three of my friends and I stayed here to celebrate our 40th birthdays. We were made to feel incredibly welcome. Georgina and her lovely staff were warm and always happy to help / provide us with anything needed. The Riad itself is beautiful, clean and the decor is stunning - we will definitely be returning! We enjoyed two evening meals here which were outstanding, Leyla's cooking is sooooo good! The location is perfect as its only a stones through from the markets however, once inside, the Riad is totally quiet and peaceful. 10/10!!!
Alex

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We took Marrakesh's city walls by cab direct from a few days in La Palmeraie and were met by the Riads charismatic owner Massimo. He took us through the colourful winding alleyways of the Medina explaining the route as not to get lost! On arrival it was like being let into a beautiful oasis of calm- the intoxicating smell of jasmine in the air and the riad itself was stunning- just like those in the movies! He sat us down- poured mint tea and explained all the do's and donts which was so valuable. What I read before about this riad is the impeccable service Massimo and Georgina provide and it really does surpass anything I have experienced before. Everything you could ever need is provided for.
In the evening we were treated to a private meal in the courtyard which was perfect- and the breakfast in the morning on the rooftop was just what you needed to set you up for a day. I loved being looked after by Mohammed- such a lovely man!
There is a small plunge pool on the roof also and comfortable sun loungers should you want to have a bathe in the sun. It struck me how quiet it was in the riad above the bustling city.
We had the Turqouise room which was stunning- lovely soft furnishings, beautiful bathroom and the most astonishing ceiling.
What struck me about this riad was that it really did feel comfortable- you were made to feel like it was your home. Unlike other hotels where you are banished to a room. We stayed for 3 nights which was the perfect amount of time to discover the city.
I want to thank Georgina for being so hospitable when our flight was cancelled on the day we left. She made us a delicious lunch and kept us informed with airport information- she even helped us to our cab. This kind of service is rare- so we were most grateful. This is the only place you should stay in Marrakesh!

Marrakesh really does take you out of your comfort zone but once you are part of the
Wheel it is intoxicating and exciting. It is an inspiration and the people so warm and friendly. I will most certainly be back soon!

Room Tip: Choose the Turqouise room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

As many others, I found Riad le Clos des Arts via Tripadvisor, and our stay went far above our expectations. As opposed to staying in a hotel or guesthouse, this really is like visiting a wonderful family in a beautiful home. Massimo and Giorgina
have assembled a fantastic team, who will look after your every need.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad le Clos des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad le Clos des Arts

Address: Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a narrow street of the Medina of Marrakech come and discover Riad le Clos des Arts: a charming Arab house renovated in pure Moresque style. Be seduced by this fascinating oriental atmosphere, be tempted by the authenticity of traditional Moroccan flavours, be refreshed by a plunge into the small pool on the terrace.The riad offers 4 suites and 2 rooms, all with ensuite bathrooms and the possibility to have dinner on order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Riad le Clos des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Clos Des Arts Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad le Clos des Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.