We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad le Clos des Arts

Save Saved
You added Riad le Clos des Arts to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 2 more sites!
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Home from home in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Right from arrival... collected at the airport (taxi waiting) to the carpark where the owner met us for the last 5 minute walk into the Medina, our stay was never less than excellent.
We opted for dinner on arrival which was delicious. Rather than burdening us before bed - we arrived at after 9pm, we had our orientation after breakfast on the first morning. Oh, I should mention breakfast... Delicious... Fresh juice, fresh bread, fresh pastries... excellent coffee and a myriad of tea choices... and eggs whatever way you like them. That's as standard. If you want something different, they'll try their utmost to get it for you.
Back to orientation... about half an hour pointing out the sights of the city, recommendations for visits, drinks, restaurants and even a hammam. We didn't go wrong after that. And they booked anything we wished - all part of the excellent service!
We stayed in the Corail room... beautiful... I'm not sure what else to say??? It was a beautiful room, refreshed daily - great shower (good pressure), plenty of hanging room, safe for valuables, aircon (we didn't use - no need).
The riad itself was beautiful... immaculate. From the moment the door was opened we were home. The owners, Massimo and Giorgina really could not have done more for us. Nothing was too much trouble, but additionally, they took the time to just chat, ask how your day had been. We felt like we were staying with good friends.
The location was excellent. We were on a very quiet street, so no disturbance at night, BUT only 5 minutes walk from the hustle and bustle of the Medina... Everywhere was walkable and we felt very safe, even coming home from dinner at night. The riad itself is very secure, and again, like a home from home, not like a hotel with strangers passing in and out. Instead, we felt like honoured guests.
If you go to Marrakech, stay here. It really is that simple.

Room Tip: First floor. We were on the first floor and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    786
    26
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
103
446
37
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Beautiful small Riad which is an oasis of calm from the busy city. Located on a quiet road but minutes away from the main square, it is perfectly located to explore Marrakech. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful. The night we arrived we were welcomed with tea and a very informative run through of the city map and local customs which meant we could blend in with the the locals and avoid the pitfalls some travellers may find themselves in. Breakfast and dinner are home cooked and delicious. I would definitely recommend booking dinner here for a real flavour of Morocco. Georgina and Massimo certainly make you feel at home. They can recommend and book excursions and a hamman. I can't recommend this Riad enough, it was simply perfect!

Room Tip: We stayed in 3 different rooms as we returned back to Riad after a trip to essaouira and all were be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Right from the start it is clear why soooo many people have written so many lovingly, long and thoughtful reviews!

Read just one and book it!...(with dinner...mmm)... You won't be disappointed!

For nervous travellers to Africa and Marrakech... Here you will feel safe, spoilt and informed.

For Georgina, Massimo and the team ....thank you for making the start of our honeymoon so special, we felt like part of the family x

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

All the reviews sum this place up perfectly, with Massimo and Georgina amazing hosts from the moment you arrive to the end of the stay. The other staff are similarly amazing, and truly make you feel at home.

Location is great, and room was perfectly sized and very nicely decorated (Rubis), which was the only room available demonstrating how popular this place is.

Evening Cous Cous dinner was great, and definitely recommended for any night of the stay.

Breakfast was amazing as were the activities we booked through Georgina (home cookery class and thai Luxury spa / massage).

Thanks Massimo and Georgina for being amazing hosts and for a fab 3 night break.

Tim and Vanessa

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

As many others have said, its really difficult to add anything to the reviews of this Riad but I can say they are all true.

From the moment we arrived until the moment we left we were looked after incredibly well, from being introduced to the Medina and the surrounding areas to incredible food and impeccable service. For me, the highlight though was the incredible generosity with which Giorgina, Massimo and the Riad staff celebrated my birthday (my 40th). From breakfast through to very last thing at night everyone was incredible kind. The two highlights were the staff bringing me flowers and lighting a candle for me at breakfast and then being given an incredible chocolate cake (Massimo's grandmother's recipe) at dinner (with a chorus of happy birthday).

The food in the Riad was excellent (highlight being the chicken tagine with olives, preserved lemons and garlic - delicious) and the room (Amethyste) was beautiful. The best thing about this riad is the escape it offers from the craziness of the medina. We were able to experience the best of Marrakech, and then retire to an oasis of calm. We were also grateful to Giorgina and Massimo's help in organising a guided tour of Marrakech and a trip into the Atlas mountains, both excellent (see separate reviews).

All in all, I would highly recommend this Riad, its simply wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

I am not sure i have anything new to say so won't repeat what has gone before. The commitment Massimo and Georgina give to the Riad and its guests make it an exceptional experience. It is particularly their knowledge and guidance that allows you to make the best of your stay in this frantic and fascinating city. Unreservedly recommended.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural Cambridgeshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I put off writing a review here, because directly after our trip I felt like my words cannot do this amazing place justice. And they still can't - but I cannot put this off any longer.

I think about this place almost every day, and how much I would love to return. I celebrated my 40th birthday here, with my husband and baby son, and we just had the MOST amazing and memorable experience. The riad itself is beautiful and tranquil, with the smell of jasmine wafting gently around. We ate here the first night, and had the most delicious and authentic tagine, and just a lovely relaxed dining experience that was amongst the best of our holiday - and full marks to the amazing staff team, who could not do enough for us, from tasty babyfood served on a gold platter for our 8 month old, to delicious breakfasts, to refreshing drinks after pounding the pavements.

But the most memorable thing of all for us were our hosts Giorgina and Massimmo - whose warm heartedness and helpfulness made us feel like old friends rather than new guests. They welcomed us with a kind of openness we have never experienced anywhere else in the world before, and suspect will never again. They gave the best cuddles to our baby son, and were always on hand with helpful advice, directions, offers of tea, places to go, how to observe local custom, and how not to get ripped off by taxi drivers. Nothing was too much trouble, and they bought a personal touch to everything. The warmth and humility of this lovely couple is what we take as our lasting memory of Marrakech. Its a beautiful city, made all the better by these lovely people and an amazing place to stay. Book your stay at this hidden gem now, it will be one of the loveliest of your life.

Thankyou peronally Giorgina and Massimmo, from Julie, Roger and baby Edward xx

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad le Clos des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad le Clos des Arts

Also Known As:
Riad Le Clos Des Arts Hotel
Riad Le Clos Des Arts Hotel Marrakech
Address: Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a narrow street of the Medina of Marrakech come and discover Riad le Clos des Arts: a charming Arab house renovated in pure Moresque style. Be seduced by this fascinating oriental atmosphere, be tempted by the authenticity of traditional Moroccan flavours, be refreshed by a plunge into the small pool on the terrace.The riad offers 4 suites and 2 rooms, all with ensuite bathrooms and the possibility to have dinner on order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelBookers and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riad le Clos des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad le Clos des Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.