We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A...MAZING!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad le Clos des Arts

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 2 more sites!
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A...MAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Right from the start it is clear why soooo many people have written so many lovingly, long and thoughtful reviews!

Read just one and book it!...(with dinner...mmm)... You won't be disappointed!

For nervous travellers to Africa and Marrakech... Here you will feel safe, spoilt and informed.

For Georgina, Massimo and the team ....thank you for making the start of our honeymoon so special, we felt like part of the family x

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    785
    26
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
102
446
37
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

All the reviews sum this place up perfectly, with Massimo and Georgina amazing hosts from the moment you arrive to the end of the stay. The other staff are similarly amazing, and truly make you feel at home.

Location is great, and room was perfectly sized and very nicely decorated (Rubis), which was the only room available demonstrating how popular this place is.

Evening Cous Cous dinner was great, and definitely recommended for any night of the stay.

Breakfast was amazing as were the activities we booked through Georgina (home cookery class and thai Luxury spa / massage).

Thanks Massimo and Georgina for being amazing hosts and for a fab 3 night break.

Tim and Vanessa

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

As many others have said, its really difficult to add anything to the reviews of this Riad but I can say they are all true.

From the moment we arrived until the moment we left we were looked after incredibly well, from being introduced to the Medina and the surrounding areas to incredible food and impeccable service. For me, the highlight though was the incredible generosity with which Giorgina, Massimo and the Riad staff celebrated my birthday (my 40th). From breakfast through to very last thing at night everyone was incredible kind. The two highlights were the staff bringing me flowers and lighting a candle for me at breakfast and then being given an incredible chocolate cake (Massimo's grandmother's recipe) at dinner (with a chorus of happy birthday).

The food in the Riad was excellent (highlight being the chicken tagine with olives, preserved lemons and garlic - delicious) and the room (Amethyste) was beautiful. The best thing about this riad is the escape it offers from the craziness of the medina. We were able to experience the best of Marrakech, and then retire to an oasis of calm. We were also grateful to Giorgina and Massimo's help in organising a guided tour of Marrakech and a trip into the Atlas mountains, both excellent (see separate reviews).

All in all, I would highly recommend this Riad, its simply wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

I am not sure i have anything new to say so won't repeat what has gone before. The commitment Massimo and Georgina give to the Riad and its guests make it an exceptional experience. It is particularly their knowledge and guidance that allows you to make the best of your stay in this frantic and fascinating city. Unreservedly recommended.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural Cambridgeshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I put off writing a review here, because directly after our trip I felt like my words cannot do this amazing place justice. And they still can't - but I cannot put this off any longer.

I think about this place almost every day, and how much I would love to return. I celebrated my 40th birthday here, with my husband and baby son, and we just had the MOST amazing and memorable experience. The riad itself is beautiful and tranquil, with the smell of jasmine wafting gently around. We ate here the first night, and had the most delicious and authentic tagine, and just a lovely relaxed dining experience that was amongst the best of our holiday - and full marks to the amazing staff team, who could not do enough for us, from tasty babyfood served on a gold platter for our 8 month old, to delicious breakfasts, to refreshing drinks after pounding the pavements.

But the most memorable thing of all for us were our hosts Giorgina and Massimmo - whose warm heartedness and helpfulness made us feel like old friends rather than new guests. They welcomed us with a kind of openness we have never experienced anywhere else in the world before, and suspect will never again. They gave the best cuddles to our baby son, and were always on hand with helpful advice, directions, offers of tea, places to go, how to observe local custom, and how not to get ripped off by taxi drivers. Nothing was too much trouble, and they bought a personal touch to everything. The warmth and humility of this lovely couple is what we take as our lasting memory of Marrakech. Its a beautiful city, made all the better by these lovely people and an amazing place to stay. Book your stay at this hidden gem now, it will be one of the loveliest of your life.

Thankyou peronally Giorgina and Massimmo, from Julie, Roger and baby Edward xx

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

When you read this review, you’ll read the trail of other fantastic reviews about Riad le Clos des Arts. This is exactly what I did a few months ago when I was booking my first trip to Marrakesh, to celebrate my 40th. I wanted the best and I did not want to stay in a hotel outside of the medina. So I contacted Giorgina & Massimo to guide me through what rooms were available and what activities I could plan. From the outset I received a friendly and attentive service. On arrival I was delighted with our room, the Riad, the homely cooking and the way Giorgina & Massimo looked after us. We took Massimo’s recommendation on pretty much everything, and everything was great. From massages, to balloon trips, quad biking to belly dancing, Massimo knows all the best contacts and helped make my birthday one special occasion. And it’s not just Giorgina & Massimo that make your stay perfect at this Riad, it’s all the staff as well, they are helpful, welcoming and also go the extra mile. As many others have said ‘don’t think twice book your stay now’ – I would agree, but you’re going to have to move quick.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford,UK
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Marrakech can be a bewildering place for a visitor. Choosing a riad is not easy as there are so many with wonderful reviews. I took ages to do this, but in the end put my faith in Trip Advisor and we were delighted with our choice. With this many excellent reviews, you know you are making a good decision.
Location is excellent , just south of the J'maa . It is a safe tourist area with lots of pretty shops and cafes. Easy access to the souks.
Every riad has its own particular unique point. It may be the food, the decor, a pool or a hamman. What Clos des Arts has as its special feature is the warm and personal welcome each guest receives. This is particularly good for the first time visitor. Massimo, the owner , took time to sit with us and give us a map and go through what we were interested in doing and what he would recommend. From the best hamman to where to buy hand-made , high quality babouches from an artisan we would otherwise never have found.
When I felt a bit off-colour Giorgina got the staff to make me ginger tea and Massimo sent someone out to a pharmacy for me . Very kind and much appreciated.
Everyone on this site has said all we could ever say about the food, the rooms and the home-from-home atmosphere.
Choose your riad as you wish : if you are looking for making your stay easy and comfortable then look no further .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad le Clos des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad le Clos des Arts

Also Known As:
Riad Le Clos Des Arts Hotel
Riad Le Clos Des Arts Hotel Marrakech
Address: Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a narrow street of the Medina of Marrakech come and discover Riad le Clos des Arts: a charming Arab house renovated in pure Moresque style. Be seduced by this fascinating oriental atmosphere, be tempted by the authenticity of traditional Moroccan flavours, be refreshed by a plunge into the small pool on the terrace.The riad offers 4 suites and 2 rooms, all with ensuite bathrooms and the possibility to have dinner on order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelBookers and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riad le Clos des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad le Clos des Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad le Clos des Arts to your Saves list