We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad le Clos des Arts

Save Saved
You added Riad le Clos des Arts to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 2 more sites!
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Giorgina and Massimo are warm and natural hosts, making our first visit to Marrakech much easier than it may otherwise have been. We were greeted at the nearest car park to the Riad where Giorgina was waiting with a porter to help with our bags. It's only a couple of minutes walk to the Riad and all the way Giorgina pointed out directions and memorable signposts so you don't get lost in the tangle of narrow alleys. The Riad itself is beautiful with very tasteful decor and the welcoming scent of orange blossom as soon as you leave the dusty little alley way outside and step in. On arrival you are greeted with glasses of mint tea, little biscuits, tangerines and a very useful introduction and map to what can be an intimidating town.
We stayed in two rooms, the Rubis room on the ground floor - small, comfortable and (I think) the cheapest option and on our return from a few days in Essaouira, we had a couple of nights in the Corail room in the first floor, larger, lighter and just gorgeous!
Even in early Feb you can eat breakfast on the terrace each morning served by the multi lingual staff. The selection is tea or coffee with freshly made yoghurt, fresh fruit salad, a variety of breads and the offer of eggs how you like them.
If you choose to eat dinner here, let them know in the morning and prepare to be spoiled! We were served a very generous mix of salads followed by delicious tagine and fresh fruit jelly. Afternoons on the terrace after hectic haggling in the nearby souks are accompanied by mint tea on request. Nothing is too much trouble.
Le Clos Des Arts really is an oasis of calm and we very much appreciated the obvious thought and care that goes into making everyone's stay here special and memorable.
Thank you Georgina, Massimo and Team.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    787
    26
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
104
446
37
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I just returned from Marrakech and recommend this wonderful Riad to everyone! The food is exquisite (we ate dinner here two of our 4 nights in Marrakech) and the service is incomparable. Giorgina gave us wonderful recommendations for the nights we did venture outside of the Riad and also set up our excursion into the desert which was perfect. Beautiful accommodations, great location, and you truly feel like you are a guest in someone's home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We are really looking forward to our trip to Marrakech. From reading reviews on TA we decided we'd love to stay at this Riad. We couldn't find any availability so e-mailed the hotel direct. Giorgina and Massimo were able to offer us accommodation for part of our stay. They have also been able to give us so much useful information on the options for the things we would like to do and try while we are in Marrakech. Local knowledge and experience is so useful in planning a trip.

Rather cheekily I asked if they could recommend another place to stay for the remainder of our trip - and they did - giving us a range of choices they were happy to suggest.(We settled on Riad Azoulay, that also looks lovely.)

We haven't even reached Marrakech and I think I have had the most attentive service I have ever received.

Many thanks to Giorgina and Massimo. We are so looking forward to meeting you and experiencing your Riad.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petworth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just returned from a blissful 5 days in this quiet, intimate and well run Riad. Nothing is too much trouble and everything is provided with a smile and good grace. The food is outstanding, rooms extremely comfortable, and the roof terrace inviting and restful.
It is conveniently located to the main square, and as others have said, the owners and staff are wonderfully helpful and attentive. I will definitely be returning and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noss Mayo, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have just returned from a wonderful stay at the Clos des Arts - the Riad is beautiful and the attention to detail incredible. Giorgina & Massimo are the most friendly and helpful hosts and all the staff are eager to please. The food is absolutely delicious and the surroundings make you want to just relax there all day, but there is so much to see in Marrakech and Giorgina arranged everything for us. A really great experience - I hope to be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I can't remember how many times I have been to Riad Clos des Arts but I think it is about 8 times in the last three years. It is perfection. I have been with my husband, with my sons, with friends and just recently with 7 others and we took over the whole Riad. Georgina and Massimo are perfectionists and the Riad is fabulous and very good value for money. Couldn't speak more highly of it. But don't tell anyone otherwise there won't be room for me when I next want to go!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

As just about every one has said, it's the staff and management that make the difference at this charming hotel. You feel like you are a guest at a friend's home from the moment you arrive. The rooms are charming, the location is great and the breakfast memorable. We also had dinner, which was also excellent. The owners could not be more helpful, but the rest of the staff also go the extra distance. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad le Clos des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad le Clos des Arts

Also Known As:
Riad Le Clos Des Arts Hotel
Riad Le Clos Des Arts Hotel Marrakech
Address: Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a narrow street of the Medina of Marrakech come and discover Riad le Clos des Arts: a charming Arab house renovated in pure Moresque style. Be seduced by this fascinating oriental atmosphere, be tempted by the authenticity of traditional Moroccan flavours, be refreshed by a plunge into the small pool on the terrace.The riad offers 4 suites and 2 rooms, all with ensuite bathrooms and the possibility to have dinner on order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HostelBookers so you can book your Riad le Clos des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad le Clos des Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.