We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Riad with lovely staff and owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad le Clos des Arts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad le Clos des Arts to your Saves list
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
WINTER COVER IN PLACE
Ranked #3 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Memorable Riad with lovely staff and owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

There are already so many great reviews of this lovely place, I won't repeat all they say.

The staff at the Riad are wonderful; lots of reviewers have mentioned the owners, Georgina and Massimo;and it's true; they are sincere, interesting, friendly people and very diligent owners. But the cook, housekeeping and other general staff complete the impression that this is a very effectively run establishment. It's perfectly located, the food is excellent and the day trip and massage we arranged through the Riad were both excellent.

We'd both go back without any hesitation and I've already recommended the place to another couple who will be visiting the city in March.

We wish the owners and staff of this Riad good luck and thanks very much for a memorable stay!

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were nice and are similarly located in the property - I don't think any sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    874
    28
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
112
499
44
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

When my husband and I were planning our trip to Morocco, we were overwhelmed with information and confused in choosing a riad in the medina. There are so many. Which ones were good? Which were close to the Djemma and which were far away? Thanks to the advice of friends and Tripadvisor, we chose Le Clos des Arts and could not have been happier with the selection.

Massimo and Giorgina have spent many years working in Africa and the last several operating the riad. They arranged for pick-up at the airport and transfer from the busy parking area through the lanes to the riad entrance. Les Clos des Arts is at the end of one of the small streets in the medina and is very quiet. Living in a city at home, it was almost spooky quiet for this city girl. We were greeted with mint tea and a very extensive local briefing by Massimo that made us feel comfortable navigating the area. Opting for dinner at the riad on our first night was another great choice. The wonderful salads and amazing tagine were lovely and sent us to bed with full bellies and renewed energy for our agenda in the morning.

We ended up spending three nights at the beginning of our trip and one at the end at Les Clos des Arts. While we did have to move rooms due to previous bookings, each one we stayed in was comfortable and quiet, with climate control units to ward off the January chill. I wish it was warmer so that we could take advantage of the great rooftop terrace. Perhaps on the next trip.

Les Clos des Arts is warm, welcoming and while not the cheapest accomodation you will see listed in Marrakech, it is worth the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

A wonderful place. Thanks to the hospitality and kindness of the staff we had a fabulous time. The Riad is traditionally and tastefully decorated with clean, comfortable rooms. There is an attractive roof terrace which, even at the beginning of January, was ideal for relaxing in the sun. Highly recommended.We’d love to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

A-MA-ZING!

I felt like a prince. This riad (well it’s a Dar actually, but that’s not important right now) is the most decorative and elegant of places we stayed on our holiday in Morocco. The rooms are furnished to such a high and elegant spec, and full of exotic Moroccan splendor.
I don’t want to talk in too much detail about the Riad - the rooms in particularly - as it is such a great moment walking in for the first time, so I do want to spoil that feeling for future visitors.

We stayed in for dinner one evening, and the team pulled out all the stops. They made our Christmas eve and final night in Marrakech a night to remember. Breakfast was good each morning, and the roof terrace is a nice place to relax and read a book or splash in the plunge pool.

The riad is so enchanting that you will really have to drag yourself out the door to see Marrakech itself. But when you do leave you are Ideally located right in an area of market, but not in the actually unrelenting souk itself, just a moment walk from place jemaa el fna.
Georgina & Mosimo are interesting and welcoming hosts. Very knowledgeable about Morocco and Africa in large. They were also helpful in recommendations and booking taxis, bus tickets etc.

I may be ruined for life. Now every time i walk in to my own drab bedroom back home I wish I could be back at the Road le Clos des Arts.

I would AB-SO-LUT-LY return to Riad le Clos des Arts if I return to Marrakech, I certainly hope to again one day.

Book it!

Room Tip: I popped my head in to a few of the rooms and they all look great, but i can vouch for our room the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Five friends and I spent 5 nights over New Year at this lovely Riad. Thanks to the hospitality and kindness of the owners Massimo and Giorgina and their staff we had a fabulous time. From the outset they were extremely helpful with our booking, replying to our various emails promptly and providing assistance readily.

The Riad is traditionally and tastefully decorated with clean, comfortable rooms. There is an attractive roof terrace which, even at the beginning of January, was ideal for relaxing in the sun.
We ate breakfast and two evening meals at the Riad and enjoyed freshly made, delicious food.
Coffee or Mint tea and homemade biscuits were available upon return to the Riad each day .

We booked the Riad's Airport Transfer which avoided any problems locating the Riad. We were met at the airport and taken to a nearby drop off point, then greeted by Massimo and a porter who took us to the Riad, which was about five minutes walk through a cobbled street, then a smaller alley. Thereafter,our friendly hosts spent time explaining local culture and provided many invaluable tips to ensure we would have the best possible experience in Marrakech.

In addition Massimo and Georgina made phone calls on our behalf to book a local guide, restaurants, a balloon trip and Hamman appointments. All excellent recommendations. They also ensured we were escorted to taxis or restaurants and arranged a taxis to collect us to return to the Riad after our New Year's Eve meal. Exceptional service to ensure we felt safe and comfortable, all delivered with patience and good humour.

Many thanks to Massimo and Giorgina for a wonderful start to 2013.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Massimo and Georgina - the owners - are the best hosts you can have in Marrakech. Not only are they extremely helpful and dedicated when it comes to helping you sort out the details of your trip, but they also run a beautiful Moroccan riad, with an atmosphere and decoration that make the experience of being in the heart of Marrakech even more enjoyable. And they are fun too!
Staying at Les Clos des Arts was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. Service is personal and simply impeccable, there's always fresh mint tea waiting for you when you come back from walking around this amazing city. Rooms are cozy, super clean and there's 100% control over their temperature. You can't get better than this for such a competitive price, especially with the treatment you get from Massimo and Georgina.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

There is NOTHING to disagree with in any of the great reviews about this Riad. Massimo and Giorgina were lovely and offered many things, including some that I didn't expect: meeting at the taxi (with baggage cart help) to walk us to the Riad—and giving tips on how to re-find our location later on, pointing out landmarks, answering questions about etiquette, interaction, and making recommendations. This was very, very helpful and reassuring as first timers to Morocco!
Upon our return to Marrakech there was no room at the inn and we stayed elsewhere. I missed the wonderful English and the humour of G&M, but accommodation-wise the other place we stayed was on nearly the same exact level. And the cost was about 1/4 of the price.
Summary: A wonderful place. Pricing: a bit steep for me...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad le Clos des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad le Clos des Arts

Address: Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#24 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a narrow street of the Medina of Marrakech come and discover Riad le Clos des Arts: a charming Arab house renovated in pure Moresque style. Be seduced by this fascinating oriental atmosphere, be tempted by the authenticity of traditional Moroccan flavours, be refreshed by a plunge into the small pool on the terrace.The riad offers 4 suites and 2 rooms, all with ensuite bathrooms and the possibility to have dinner on order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Riad le Clos des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Clos Des Arts Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad le Clos des Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.