We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Worthy Travellers' Choice Winner.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad le Clos des Arts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad le Clos des Arts to your Saves list
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
WINTER COVER IN PLACE
Ranked #3 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Worthy Travellers' Choice Winner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Five friends and I spent 5 nights over New Year at this lovely Riad. Thanks to the hospitality and kindness of the owners Massimo and Giorgina and their staff we had a fabulous time. From the outset they were extremely helpful with our booking, replying to our various emails promptly and providing assistance readily.

The Riad is traditionally and tastefully decorated with clean, comfortable rooms. There is an attractive roof terrace which, even at the beginning of January, was ideal for relaxing in the sun.
We ate breakfast and two evening meals at the Riad and enjoyed freshly made, delicious food.
Coffee or Mint tea and homemade biscuits were available upon return to the Riad each day .

We booked the Riad's Airport Transfer which avoided any problems locating the Riad. We were met at the airport and taken to a nearby drop off point, then greeted by Massimo and a porter who took us to the Riad, which was about five minutes walk through a cobbled street, then a smaller alley. Thereafter,our friendly hosts spent time explaining local culture and provided many invaluable tips to ensure we would have the best possible experience in Marrakech.

In addition Massimo and Georgina made phone calls on our behalf to book a local guide, restaurants, a balloon trip and Hamman appointments. All excellent recommendations. They also ensured we were escorted to taxis or restaurants and arranged a taxis to collect us to return to the Riad after our New Year's Eve meal. Exceptional service to ensure we felt safe and comfortable, all delivered with patience and good humour.

Many thanks to Massimo and Giorgina for a wonderful start to 2013.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    875
    28
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
112
499
44
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Massimo and Georgina - the owners - are the best hosts you can have in Marrakech. Not only are they extremely helpful and dedicated when it comes to helping you sort out the details of your trip, but they also run a beautiful Moroccan riad, with an atmosphere and decoration that make the experience of being in the heart of Marrakech even more enjoyable. And they are fun too!
Staying at Les Clos des Arts was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. Service is personal and simply impeccable, there's always fresh mint tea waiting for you when you come back from walking around this amazing city. Rooms are cozy, super clean and there's 100% control over their temperature. You can't get better than this for such a competitive price, especially with the treatment you get from Massimo and Georgina.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

There is NOTHING to disagree with in any of the great reviews about this Riad. Massimo and Giorgina were lovely and offered many things, including some that I didn't expect: meeting at the taxi (with baggage cart help) to walk us to the Riad—and giving tips on how to re-find our location later on, pointing out landmarks, answering questions about etiquette, interaction, and making recommendations. This was very, very helpful and reassuring as first timers to Morocco!
Upon our return to Marrakech there was no room at the inn and we stayed elsewhere. I missed the wonderful English and the humour of G&M, but accommodation-wise the other place we stayed was on nearly the same exact level. And the cost was about 1/4 of the price.
Summary: A wonderful place. Pricing: a bit steep for me...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Returned last month from Marrakech where we spent 3 amazing nights at the Riad le Clos des Arts. Perfectly situated within walking distance of the souks & square, it somehow manages to retain a tranquil peace in contrast to the hustle and bustle that is Marakkech streetlife. From the common areas to the rooms/suites, the Riad is beautifully and tastefully decorated in the traditional style…Massimo and Georgina are incredibly welcoming, friendly and interesting people, keen to pass on their knowledge of how best to engage with their adopted home – in particular, their recommendations regarding cookery classes and hammams were spot on! Although they aren’t Morroccan, Georgina & Massimo are really respectful of the local culture and have integrated into the Medina’s community. The rest of the staff, too, deserve praise for taking such good care of us also…And the food…absolutely delicious Morroccan cuisine, both nights we ate there. We also loved the breakfasts on the terrace in bright blue skies, fresh yoghurts, fruits and breads…the sun beaming down…the dreary gloom of wintry London seemed a million miles away!
Highly recommended…We’d love to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Riad le Close Des Arts is a perfect quiet oasis to relax at after a hectic day in the medinah. The roof top terrace was a fantastic place to relax by the pool listening to the sounds of the medinah outside. Massimo and Georgina were great hosts and even suggested a great restaurant for the evening. The location was perfect as well. A fve minute stoll and we were at the jemaa el-fnaa.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This Riad is amazing. Massimo and Giorgina (the owners) make the stay incredible and they speak English. They booked many wonderful excursions with a great tour guide that should not be missed. You must eat at the Riad -the food was the best we had all trip. It is the perfect location to get almost anywhere. I would absolutely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stayed at the Riad with my girlfriend for 2 nights at the Nacre and Turquoise suites. Massimo and Giorgina and the rest of their staff made my experience at the Riad unforgettable.

The Location. The Riad is located in the heart of the Medina with crowds of Jemaa el-Fnaa and the adjoining Souks just a couple of minutes away. In most cases, a convenient location such as this would result in a sacrifice of peace and quiet. But not for this Riad. Just entering the Riad would put you in another world, an oasis of calm from the relative chaos of Marrakesh.

The Riad. The Riad itself had an incredibly homely feel, where you always felt welcomed. The rooms were great and the suites that we stayed in fit seamlessly with the whole feel of the Riad, but yet were unique in their own ways. But the one thing, above all else, that makes the Riad stand out is the impeccable service.

The Service. By far, the best service I’ve had. This is one of the few places where I felt true hospitality by both the owners and the staff, where I was treated more than a mere guest and definitely much more than what I had expected. I made some requests as I was visiting Marrakesh with my partner and Giorgina and Massimo went out of their way to make my experience extraordinary. From the way the rooms were laid out when we arrived, to the outstanding dinner in the beautiful courtyard, nothing was spared to make sure my only job was to enjoy time with my partner.

Others. Do take the airport transfer as the Medina is rather difficult to navigate as a first-timer and it would be unfortunate if you get lost before your trip even begins, in addition, as the Riad is located along a side street, it would be good to be guided to the Riad by one of their staff. Do have dinner at least once in the Riad. The food cooked by the staff with extremely fresh ingredients is full of flavour and had the attention to detail that only cooking for small groups allows. The best meal I had in Marrakesh, both in terms of taste and experience.

Basically, THE place to stay in Marrakesh and there will be no regrets.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad le Clos des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad le Clos des Arts

Address: Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#24 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a narrow street of the Medina of Marrakech come and discover Riad le Clos des Arts: a charming Arab house renovated in pure Moresque style. Be seduced by this fascinating oriental atmosphere, be tempted by the authenticity of traditional Moroccan flavours, be refreshed by a plunge into the small pool on the terrace.The riad offers 4 suites and 2 rooms, all with ensuite bathrooms and the possibility to have dinner on order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Riad le Clos des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Clos Des Arts Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad le Clos des Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.