We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calming & relaxing after your senses have been shocked.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad le Clos des Arts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad le Clos des Arts to your Saves list
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
London, England
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Calming & relaxing after your senses have been shocked.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Just back from a superb trip to Marrakech, made all the better by this charming riad, it excellent owners and great caring staff. From my first enquiry to having to change my original dates to new ones, the owners went out of their way to accommodate all my requests and I could not have asked for anymore. My room was perfect for me and everything else in the riad are what you would expect, given their current rating on TA.. This riad should be your first choice when deciding to book somewhere to stay in Marrakech.

Room Tip: Go for a suite room as they are bigger and charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    867
    28
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
111
494
44
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at Riad le Close des Arts for 7 nights and can't fault it. I booked directly with the riad and this was dealt with very efficiently and provided us with all the information we needed before we arrived. As part of the arrangement we opted for transfers to and from the airport organised by the riad and when we arrived our taxi driver was waiting for us with a large, comfortable vehicle and, as no vehicles can get to the riad door, we were met by Massimo and a gentleman with a cart to take our luggage for us. After a few minute walk we arrived at the riad and were warmly greeted by Giorgina and given some lovely mint tea and biscuits as we completed our paperwork. We arrived in the evening and so after freshening up had dinner in the riad, which serves delicious, fresh, homemade food - if you stay be sure to eat in at least one night. The following morning Massimo took us through all the essential information, made some recommendations about what we may like to see and do and he and Giorgina were kind enough to make bookings for us, where necessary. It was so useful to get "insiders" information on a place we hadn't visited before.

The whole riad is wonderfully decorated in an authentic way but with all the necessary touches to make your stay comfortable. Fresh plums were put in our room daily and there were some nice details such as fresh flowers dotted around the room and the riad.

Each morning we were presented with a lovely breakfast of fresh fruit and yoghurt, a selection of breads and pastries and sometimes eggs too. It was all delicious and on most mornings we were able to have it on the roof terrace, which was a lovely setting to start the day.

Unfortunately a couple of days into our trip we became unwell with an awful virus but everyone at the riad was extremely kind and looked after us so well. We were offered tea, broth and once we were feeling up to it light food - they did everything they could to make us feel as comfortable as possible in the situation and we are very grateful for this. Sadly it meant that we couldn't go on all the trips that had been arranged but it won't deter us and we will return to Marrakesh and will definitely stay again with Giorgina and Massimo at this riad as we couldn't have wished for more! They have built a fantastic team at the riad, who are always happy to help and friendly. They quickly learn what you like and are eager to accommodate you. Massimo said when we arrived that they treat the riad like a home and we are the guests in their home - we certainly felt cared for and the help we received was much more personal than any other accommodation I have stayed in.

Thanks Giorgina, Massimo and all the team - we hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

stayed here for 4 nights. Massimo and Georgina are the perfect hosts.
The riad is close to the main square and the roof terrace is really quiet considering it is in the middle of the medina.
The breakfast was nice and varied with fresh fruit.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a beautiful riad. The rooms are exquisite and the decor very traditional. We stayed 2 nights with our 2 children in ambre and citrine rooms which are adjoining. After travelling around Morocco for 2 weeks this was the highlight of our stay and a bit of luxury to finish off our holiday. The dinner was divine and was definitely the best of all the food we ate in Morocco. The staff were very attentive and excellent with the children. We felt very relaxed staying here with our lively kids! The location is excellent for sightseeing and shopping. All in all a lovely stay, thank you Giorgina and Massimo! We will be back...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This review is from both Shanti and Christine who had a wonderful stay at Riad le Clos des Arts. Both Giorgina and Massimo were so helpful and gracious. The Riad was beautiful and well kept. Situated very close to Jemaa El Fna. They took the time to make sure we understood where we were and how to get around. That we were safe and understood the culture. Helping us plan everyday of our trip. We were very pleased with every recommendation they made. As 2 women traveling alone we felt very taken care of. The dinners prepared at the Riad were by far better than any restaurant. We had an amazing time and our trip to Marrakech would not have been the same without them. We hope to return and when we do we will definitely stay with Giorgina and Massimo again. Wish them well and all the best!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed here as a single woman October 16-20. Flew from Casablanca and was met at Menara airport by the Riad's driver. Upon arriving Massimo greeted me immediately and I was offered tea and cookies. Massimo supplied a map of the area and conveyed many tips. Immediately I knew I would be safe and well cared for here.
During my stay Giorginia was always quick in answering my questions. (By the way she speaks 6 languages including Swahili - most impressive!)
My room, Ambre, was perfect - clean and a very comfortable bed. Good ventilation. The employees are great and speak highly of Giorginia and Massimo - good people.
Staying in this riad in the medina is the best as the location is perfect - close to Jemaa el Fna, La Koutoubia, Palais, Mellah, Palais El Badi, Dar Si Said, Saadiens in Kasbah, and I walked from the new area back to the riad without any difficulty stopping at Medersa Ben Youssef, Maison de la Photographies and Musee, and La Mamounia.Took taxi to Jardin Majorelle. Previously I stayed in the Albatross Hotel and there is no comparison. Upon returning I would stay in this same Riad le Clos des Arts. - highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have recently returned from an all too brief visit to Marrakech were we stayed at this gorgeous Riad. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel extremely welcome. The owners, Massimo and Georgina go out of their way to ensure that you have the best possible time and we enjoyed their humorous banter (especially regarding' haman extras'!!) as well as important advice, such as where to get a cold beer following an amazing day of quad biking in the Atlas foothills (dunes and desert). The riad is very well located, quiet, beautiful and authentic. The food was delicious and excellent value for money. We have stayed at two other places in Marrakech, both of them were beautiful but this Riad offers a little bit more, a real home from home. Many thanks for helping to make our visit a real success!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad le Clos des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad le Clos des Arts

Address: Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#21 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a narrow street of the Medina of Marrakech come and discover Riad le Clos des Arts: a charming Arab house renovated in pure Moresque style. Be seduced by this fascinating oriental atmosphere, be tempted by the authenticity of traditional Moroccan flavours, be refreshed by a plunge into the small pool on the terrace.The riad offers 4 suites and 2 rooms, all with ensuite bathrooms and the possibility to have dinner on order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelBookers and Priceline so you can book your Riad le Clos des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Clos Des Arts Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad le Clos des Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.