We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad; Lovely rooms; Fabulous food; Wonderful people. Heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad le Clos des Arts

Save Saved
You added Riad le Clos des Arts to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Riad; Lovely rooms; Fabulous food; Wonderful people. Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

From the moment of contacting Giorgina and Massimo we knew this riad was going to be a good choice (their emails were so helpful and friendly!). When we arrived we found it was an excellent choice (the riad was so lovely and the food delicious!). And when we left we knew it exceeded all our expectations and hopes (we felt really pampered and looked after!) It is truly hard to think how our stay could have been bettered. If you are looking for a place which is personable and which is ran by people who are truly committed to doing all they can to make your stay the best it can be, then this is the place for you! Being so near to so many interesting and lovely parts of Marrakech, yet in such a quiet and safe location was a real find! But the most wonderful thing about the Riad le Clos des Arts is the people you meet there and the warmth of Giorgina and Massimo, their friends and all the staff.

Room Tip: The Nacre Suite is so lovely and ideal if you need twin beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    828
    27
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
109
474
40
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

What a lovely Riad run and staffed by lovely people. A completely calm oasis in the hecktic madness of central Marrakech. Both Giorgina and Massimo were the perfect hosts. And their staff were simply fantastic and we wanted for nothing. We ate breakfast on the terrace every morning and twice we had evening meals and the was superb. The helped us arrange our guide for the day and recommended a hot air balloon company "Marrakech by air" who to we're great. We had a lovely bedroom that had everything in it you need with a lovely bathroom. I could go one forever about this Riad. Just perfect should really sum it up. Thanks to everyone for making our first stay in Morrocco just so.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

A holiday I will always remember thanks to Georgina and Massimo. They have created a wonderful Riad that is simply beautiful. From start to finish, they made us feel incredibly welcome and familiar with our surroundings. As previous reviews have mentioned, the couple make a conscious effort to welcome you not only to the Riad but Marrakesh, which for us meant the short amount of time we had was tailored to what we wanted from our trip. Massimo recommended us a local guide and a hammam treatment in a nearby spa, all of which we cannot fault. His suggestions seemed in our best interest than for any personal gain, which is sometimes the case with much larger hotels. If you would like an authentic Riad experience, with the warming hospitality of a home but the amenities of a small but great hotel then this is definitely a place worth visiting.

Thanks again Massimo and Georgina,

Lauren and Robbie

P.S. we'll get you that Marmite sometime soon!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

From my very first communication with Giorgina and Massimo (the owners of the Riad), I was extremely impressed by their kindness, timely response and attention to detail. They made me feel 110% confident in not only the Riad, but with our travel arrangements as they were sending someone to pick us up from the airport. We booked the Turquoise room, which was perfect for two women with huge suitcases! It was an absolutely gorgeous roomed, decked out in traditional Moroccan decor. In addition to our room, the entire Riad was absolutely gorgeous and so comfortable. Besides being in paradise as it relates to the Riad itself, what made it really stand out was the service and staff. As I mentioned early, Giorgina and Massimo were incredible! When the airport shuttle dropped us off, we were dropped at a parking lot since cars can't go into the Medina. Massimo was standing there with a smile on his face to greet us and show us to the Riad. Along the way, he took the time to carefully point out landmarks and things of intererst so that we could make a note of how to get to the Riad and back out to the parking lot. SO nice of him! Upon our arrival we sat down with Massimo over mint tea and Moroccan cookies and he gave us an overview of the Riad and Morocco and answered the 10,000 questions that we had. Also, once we got to know the Medina, we realized how amazing the location of this Riad is. Is very close to D'jemaa el-fna, but not too close so that you hear a lot of noise. We dined at the Riad our first night and the food was divine! By far the best food we had while in MOrocco, so I highly recommend spending the $$ to dine at the Riad. They don't serve alcohol, but you can bring your own wine if you would like. Breakfast was absoletely wonderful each morning as well. Giorgina and Massimo lined up a tour of the city with an amazing tour guide, Abdul, which was absolutely perfect. Make sure you ask for Abdul - he is their best and most popular tour guide as he is knowledgable, speaks great English and doesn't take you into stores to try to get commissions. I think he is on Trip Advisor now, under Marrakech Guided Tours. I also recommend the hammam and massages that the Riad can line up for you at Angsana. Not super cheap, but worth every penny - a great experience. Also, make sure you do a tour to the Atlas Mountains/Berber Village. This was our favorite activity and was mind blowing! One regret, we didn't have time for a desert safari and i've heard that's a must do. I really can't say one negative thing about Riad le Clos des Arts - I travel all over the world and certainly have my opinions when it comes to hotels, but this one is hands down perfection! Giorgina and Massimo have done an incredible job with this place and they will make you feel right at home - I couldn't have asked for a better experience.

A few random tips - make sure you have a pen with you when arriving/leaving the Marrakech airport. You have to fill out paperwork and they don't provide pens anywhere! Also, be careful about what you eat. My friend bit into a date that was served along with soup at a restaurant, and there were worms in it. Yikes! Last tip, ladies - the more you cover up (no shorts, skirts or dresses that show your knees and no tank tops/spagetti straps) the better off you will be! TRUST ME!

Room Tip: Turquoise room was very spacious and great if you have a lot of luggage! Had a sitting area with a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The great reviews of Riad Les Clos Des Art do not do justice to this fantastic retreat within the Medina. From our welcome on arrival and guided walk to the Riad by Massimo to our personal oversight of Marrakech by Giorgina on the roof terrace, our stay was enriched by the warm and genuine friendliness of our hosts. The Riad is stunning and restored to an unprecedented level of detail and authenticity. Everything within this family-run home is of the highest quality - whether it is the tasteful decor, the linen and towels or the scented toiletries in the bathroom. However, what really makes Riad Les Clos Des Art is the people. You are encouraged to feel like one of the family. The staff are not always behind you but on call all the time to service your needs - whether it is mint tea by the pool or refreshing the plums in your room. Giorgina and Massimo gave us great insight into Moroccan life in the Medina, with advice on do's and don'ts, restaurants to eat in, the best places to visit and what to pay for your shopping! Testament to our hosts is not best paid by us but by the Marrakech community who knew Giorgina and Massimo everywhere we went, often remarking that they were their favourite Marrakech family - as Massimo said to us, 'that is praise indeed'.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

From the minute of booking our stay at Riad le Clos des Arts, you felt very welcome & nothing is a problem. Massimo & Giorgina & their staff are nothing short of exceptional in making your Marrakech stay fabulous. When Massimo greets you in the parking lot to show you to the riad & then the refreshing welcome iced tea & a brief on the area, you instantly feel at home. Having the 20 minute or so, brief with Massimo we found very helpful. As this allows you to ask questions about the area, culture & do's & dont's. The rooms are exquisite. We had to change rooms part way thru our stay, which was no problem, but gave us a look into two different styles of rooms. Both gorgeous. Breakfast, in the summer, is served on the roof terrace which is just fabulous. Dinner is also available on request & we would encourage everyone to try at least once. The terrace plunge pool is also a great way to relax after a maddening day in the old Medina. Once you walk thru the door of the riad, you really do lose yourself as to where you are. The madness of the alleyways outside are forgotten & you can relax with a refreshing mint tea. Free wifi, which works all thru the riad. We strongly recommend taking a private guided tour of the old medina - Abdel is fantastic & very knowledgeable. This can be arranged thru the riad. A very big thankyou to Massimo & Giorgina, for making our stay so wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My trip to Morocco was everything I imagined it to be and it wouldn't have been possible without Giorgina and Massimo from Riad le Clos des Arts!

Our stay here was a home away from home...all aspects exceeded my expectations from the home-made breakfasts, the service of the staff, the beautiful rooms, the delicious food and the fabulous hosts (even the shampoo and shower gel were amazing!)

This Riad is in the perfect location, just a 5 minute walk to the main square and souks- it's perfect in that you can come back from time to time during the day to drop off shopping bags, have a rest or just relax by the pool.

Giorgina was extremely helpful when it came to planning our trip- so much that we didn't have to work with a travel agent. I told Giorgina what we wanted to do and see while we were there and she helped to make reservations or put me in contact with the right people.....from booking a trip to the desert, scheduling a hammam treatment, recommending where to eat, and setting us up with a tour guide in Marrakech.

I would highly recommend Riad le Clos des Arts to anyone going to Marrakech- it truly adds to the magic of Morocco!

Room Tip: I came with a friend so they were able to give us separate beds in the same room which worked out pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad le Clos des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad le Clos des Arts

Address: Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a narrow street of the Medina of Marrakech come and discover Riad le Clos des Arts: a charming Arab house renovated in pure Moresque style. Be seduced by this fascinating oriental atmosphere, be tempted by the authenticity of traditional Moroccan flavours, be refreshed by a plunge into the small pool on the terrace.The riad offers 4 suites and 2 rooms, all with ensuite bathrooms and the possibility to have dinner on order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad le Clos des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Clos Des Arts Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad le Clos des Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.