We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility in the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad le Clos des Arts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad le Clos des Arts to your Saves list
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tranquility in the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

My husband and i spent a few days at this wonderful Riad in early October. I had organised the trip as a surprise for his birthday and from the first time i made contact with Georgina and Massimo they couldn't have been more helpful.

Georgina met us on arrival and spent a great deal of time going over the map of Marrakesh, pointing out various attractions along the way.

The Riad is simply stunning, a cool courtyard, beautiful rooms and a lovely roof terrace. One of the reasons i picked this Riad was due to the plunge pool on the roof, it's a welcome addition after a hot and sticky day walking all over town.

We stayed in Turqoise Suite and it lived up to expectations, occassionally a little noisy if guests were leaving very early the next morning as they were served breakfast on the roof terrace directly above our heads. But that was no real issue. On his actual birthday my husband was wished a happy birthday by all the staff and we had a delicious meal at the Riad that evening. The hammam recommended by Georgina was well worth the price tag, the best massage i have ever had.

I would certainly recommend this Riad to anyone visiting Marrakesh.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    988
    29
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
125
571
47
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

As soon as you enter this Riad makes an impression, lovely smells, tranquil!
Amazing cozy riad, greatly located in the medina, very close to the plaza Jema el Fna.
We stayed at the citrine room, it was lovely, beautifully decorated, clean and big.
Staff is very friendly, very attentive. Georgina was ever so helpful in every aspect, she gave us a very welcoming stay.
I highly recommed the food in this riad, it was by far the best food i have tasted in all of Morocco. Last year I travelled all around Morrocco, but none of the food I tasted was as good as the food in this Riad. Next time I would like to take cooking lessons from the staff which is available. Beautifully presented, so tasteful. Breakfast was also amazing, fresh orange juice, a variety of bread, home made cake, home made jams, bowl of fruits, coffee or tea.
Beautiful terrace. We had the pool pretty much to ourselves during our stay.
I highly recommend this Riad to anyone visiting Marrakech. I would def. come back.

Thank you Georgina and all the lovely staff!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We could honestly not tell you in words how lovely this place is! No photos do it justice. Giorgina was a god send, she could not be more helpful and knows everything from who the best guides are, to how much to pay for a tajine!

Staff were excellent and the rooms were beautiful. Also have wifi, for those techies! Will most certainly be coming back.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We spent a long weekend at Les Clos des Arts, and from the moment we arrived, it was like another world, away from the bustle of Marrakesh.

Beautiful individually and tastefully decorated large rooms around a central courtyard, a small fountain playing, the scent of orange flowers in the air, peace and quiet, a wonderful reception by a very warm and professional couple.

Drinks by the pool on the roof terrace in the evening, with a view over the roof tops.

Definitely a special place to discover and spend some time in.

Many thanks.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I also have to apologise in the delay in posting this review. We had a wonderful 2 night stay at Le Clos Des Arts last year. It was the last place we stayed on our 3 week trip and was definitely the highlight. Welcoming hosts, beautiful room (Nacre, on the ground floor), possibly the best meal we had in Morocco, friendly staff and the most comfortable, soft bed sheets that you could imagine!Would love to return!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We chose this Riad based on the Riad's website and advice from the Rough Guide based on our budget of below €100 per night. We read all the trip advisor reviews after booking and couldn't believe it could possibly live up to the positive feedback! Well we were wrong - this Riad fully lives up to its reputation, great location, stunning building, lovely breakfasts! The owners Giorgina and Massimo were so helpful and welcoming, as were all the other staff. Giorgina organised a trip to the Atlas mountains and a hammam for us which were both fantastic, highlights of our trip.

The Riad is located a few minutes walk from all the main attractions of Marrakech and we were able to get around the whole of the city on foot using the Riad as a base. There is also a lovely vegetarian cafe 1 min from the Riad (Earth Cafe) which we found, would recommend this as you will struggle to find a variety of other non meat options in Marrakech.

We would fully recommend this to anyone visiting Marrakech - the Riad made our trip to Marrakech truly memorable!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Having decided to spend my birthday in a Riad in Marrakech with my closest friends coming from all corners of the world, I knew it had to be good... After visiting 30 riads by foot (on an advance "mission" from Geneva) and another 100 over the internet, I found Le Clos des Arts. The moment I walked into the courtyard and met Giorgina and Massimo, I knew I had found the place that met all the criteria - tasteful, comfortable, cachet, delicate scents, cleanliness, relaxing atmosphere, and most of all, a strong sense of loving care by the owners. Le Clos des Arts exceeded all expectations. In addition to the physical aspects, which are all delightful, the personal attention was trully exemplary. The Riad is absolutely gorgeous, with beautifully decorated rooms, courtyard, a relaxing lounge, and a wonderful roof top terrace with a small pool (big enoug for a short swim). The staff was delightful and food excellent. I came with my 3-year old daughter who was treated like a princess and part of the family. As far as I'm concerned, if ever there was a home away from home, this is it. I cannot express enough appreciation to Giorgina and Massimo for making this birthday celebration so special, and look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, but the Turquoise is especially beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#2 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,077 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,068 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#4 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#6 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,329 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#48 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 752 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#14 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad le Clos des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad le Clos des Arts

Address: Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#20 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a narrow street of the Medina of Marrakech come and discover Riad le Clos des Arts: a charming Arab house renovated in pure Moresque style. Be seduced by this fascinating oriental atmosphere, be tempted by the authenticity of traditional Moroccan flavours, be refreshed by a plunge into the small pool on the terrace.The riad offers 4 suites and 2 rooms, all with ensuite bathrooms and the possibility to have dinner on order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Riad le Clos des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Clos Des Arts Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad le Clos des Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.