We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Palmeraie Village Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Palmeraie Village Residence to your Saves list
Palmeraie Village Residence
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Les Jardins de la Palmeraie II | Circuit de la Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I would not recommend the Palmeraie Village for first-time visitors to Marrakech.

However, if you're a French or Arabic speaker, know the region well and have ample resources (bring enough food and drink for your stay), then the Palmeraie Village would be a fine place to stay if you want the privacy of your own apartment or villa for you and your family.

The resort is a long-way away from the city centre and Djema el Fna and taxi fares will sting you.

I must stress - this review is for one of the resort's Villas (this review is not for their apartments) as I stayed in a Via there with my family for a few days in August 2013.

Check-in was painstakingly slow - with one lady left to deal with everyone whilst we saw two men smoking and chatting in an office behind. She did her best to deal with everyone and was pleasant but everything was slow.

There is no WIFI available throughout the resort except the reception area and 3G signal is very weak, often non-existent throughout. It's not the best place to be if you like/need to keep connected.

The villas are great, like a fortress, but from all accounts - the apartments are small and substandard.

An arabesque and traditional Moroccan décor is the theme across the villas and all have private pools. There are 4 bedrooms with the master suite occupying the whole upstairs with a large bathroom, fitted with a jacuzzi. The master bedroom has a TV and terrace. Downstairs, there is a large living room with TV, amply fitted kitchen, and 3 bedrooms varying in size, each with a private bathroom and shower.

There is very few towels - so bringing your own towels, especially larger ones, is a must.

Upon check-in, our villa's pool was dirty, but maintenance sorted this quickly.

Upon check-out, we waited 1 hour for a car to pick us up, compounding the very slow and poor service which is riddled throughout the resort.

As I have mentioned, if you know the region well, if you speak French or Arabic, if you are well stocked up on food and drink in advance, if you have brought your own towels and if you don't mind not being on the internet, the resort is a nice place for some peace and tranquility with your family.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    55
    39
    27
    36
See reviews for
104
30
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
København
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Ihave been in palmeraie village last summer with my family and friends ! we booked 4 weeks before and get confirmed ,everything seems to be ok ! we arrived to the reception then we get to know that some the names doesn't exist and they can´t find us in the system bla bla but everything is in our document we have already receive it and printed out ! after one hour back and forward they managed to find us !!!!
3 days after our stay in the hotel my phone and my 12 years old son despaired from the room in the morning ! iv called the reception to come over ,they sent me some guys from the security
iv told them i can´t find our phone ! they checked the rooms nothing is there ! they made report and told me they were going to contact me if they find some thing !! otherwise i should contact the hotel director , and i did !! his answer was I'm on vaccination call me back within 2 weeks !!! i went back to denmark ,iv called him send him mails NO ANSWER!!!!!! i had to call another boss to get him to answer me back ! and the answer was i can do nothing about it !! bad luck!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Myself and two friends stayed at Palmeraie Village in a 2 bedroom selfcatering accomadation,(D4) it was large living room bathroom separate from toilet,the maid came in only if you were staying longer than 4days with clean bedding and towels,the apartment was fab but the smell from the drains nearly knocks you out lol we kept putting bleach down was ok while you were in but once you went out and came back later it was the same maybe 'cos we were ground level but you overcome it,all the pool areas were clean and tidy and plenty of sun beds (with no cushions on so a bit hard)the reception staff,security guards hotel staff all very helpful and polite.If you are arriving after 6pm make sure you take fresh water with you as there is nowhere you can get any till nxt day we were lucky reception staff gave us a bottle of there own so we was able to make a nice cuppa,if you get a taxi to Marrakech square befor 8, oclock its 100dirhams after its 150 or its best to get a return price befor you go and just phone the driver when your ready to return to the complex,it is best to change your money when you get there better exchange rate Hotel Ally in the square is good,the complex is quiet as its a bit outside of Marrakech but would Recommend, its a large complex we were always getting a bit lost but there are signs(just us a bit thick) lol.There is a beach about an hour and a half away we never visited that but heard it was good,we arranged for a taxi to take us to Agadir for the day and went to the beach there and taxi driver knows good non tourist places to eat,it took 31/2 hours so you have to leave early for three of us it cost 500 Dirhams each return thats only £32.75 you could get the Supratour bus from the bus station in Marrakech our taxi driver was called Mustapha 00212661422084 he speaks french better than english but we managed he is very polite he stayes in his car till your ready to go else where but he knows Agadir.Don't for get to barter right down watch out for the beggers and enjoy your holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We travelled as 4 mid-twenties girls looking for a fun budget holiday. We had not been to Marrakech before.
The resort was refreshingly clean and tidy after reading worrying reviews, with only one (dead) cockroach seen on our whole trip. It was a nice, pretty resort on the whole, with basic but very busy pool facilities and lots of kids. The rooms themselves were OK, the kettle didn't work but other than that it was more than adequate. It's a gated complex so we felt fairly secure, although one of our windows wouldn't close which we weren't comfortable with at all and fixed by ourselves.
It is however in the middle of nowhere and a 15 minute taxi is needed for everything if you want to leave the resort. Most of out money went on taxi fares. You will need to leave the resort as the one restaurant is terrible and overpriced, and there is no poolside refreshment service, all vending machines are also broken. The only location benefit - Nikki Beach, which is definitely worth a visit, is only a two minute walk down the road.
The MAJOR DOWNFALL of this resort were the staff. We failed to find a single receptionist who spoke competent English, and our pigeon French wasn't much help. We were given conflicting information by staff a number of times- being told we were able to use the shuttle bus for the supermarket one day, then being charged for it the next. Being told we could use the pool facilities at the nearby Golf Resort for free, someone else told us we weren't allowed at all, and then we were also told it was thirty pounds each to spend the day there. It was very frustrating and no one had a clue what was going on. The Golf Resort however- where we did spend 3 (free) days by the pool, is exceptional in comparison and definitely worth visiting if the reception staff allow it on that day!

General Marrakech extras-
Taxis were a massive rip off as expected, with locals paying 1/10th of the price of tourists- if you stand your ground on price (we usually offered a third of their initial price- which is still a rip off) and walk away, they accept your offer every single time. As 4 Western girls we had expected to be hassled in the city, and it exceeded expectations. Even when completely covered at night time we felt intimidated as local women are rarely seen after dark- it was not a threatening atmosphere but neither was it relaxing- so we took taxis everywhere! Once inside resorts, restaurants or bars it was fine.
There are hundreds of people desperate to be your 'guide' for the week- not just locals on the street but lifeguards, taxi drivers and waiters too. You don't need a guide at all, don't be conned, even for the Souks and tourist attractions - take a Lonely Planet travel guide and grab a map from reception and you're sorted. There are also people who will outright lie to you- we were told when getting out of the taxi at the Souks that we had to cover our shoulders and that he would take us to a scarf shop so we could buy something appropriate- complete rubbish. That being said, there are some lovely and genuine local people, just use your common sense!!
Avoid Marrakech during Ramadan if you're wanting to experience any nightlife!! Clubs don't open until midnight, and get busy around 2pm- we did have some good nights out at some of the main nightclubs but many places were empty.

Overall I would say we got what we paid for, but wouldn't stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Went with a mate after hearing good things about Marrakech. On arrival at the airport in Marrakech theres the expected rigamarole of haggling down the ludicrous tourist taxi prices they try and rip you off with. We spent about 15 mins at that. The apartment was clean enough and comfortable, some ants but nothing to really moan to much about. The staff were friendly and corteous enough. The place is expensive though, its an effect of French Paris prices rubbing off on their former colonial enclave. Frankly prices are ridiculous. £5 for a beer. Food supermarket shop was expensive. Also theres no point going during Ramadan, if you like a drink, clubs shut early, place is pretty quiet. Big square was ok. Ramadan still didn't stop my phone getting nicked by a worker from my apartment terrace. So be warned!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

found the apartment very clean, the staff were accomdating,definilty recommed this resort for family or even for a short relaxing break, contain one large clean swimming pool with stunning views, plenty of deck chairs and coffee table this is all near a restaurant and bar, what else can you ask for



Kay

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor has access to the garden with chairs, well kept gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

i went with my family. we booked two apartments between us. they were clean. The stay was amazing. The staff extremely helpful. Only thing it was slightly far from the city center. The taxi will cost around 100 - 150 dirahms approx £13, each way.

however I did previously arrange for a free shuttle to the city with the hotel before we went. They did honor it after written proof presented.

we stayed on the ground floor apartments net to the pool. The pool was amazing and clean :) very happy.

They are sooooooo many brits there lol

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palmeraie Village Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmeraie Village Residence

Address: Les Jardins de la Palmeraie II | Circuit de la Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palmeraie Village Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Palmeraie Village Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmeraie Village Marrakech
Hotel Palmeraie Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmeraie Village Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.