We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms, but in a poor location with incompetent staff...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Palmeraie Village Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Palmeraie Village Residence to your Saves list
Palmeraie Village Residence
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Les Jardins de la Palmeraie II | Circuit de la Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 191 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good rooms, but in a poor location with incompetent staff...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We travelled as 4 mid-twenties girls looking for a fun budget holiday. We had not been to Marrakech before.
The resort was refreshingly clean and tidy after reading worrying reviews, with only one (dead) cockroach seen on our whole trip. It was a nice, pretty resort on the whole, with basic but very busy pool facilities and lots of kids. The rooms themselves were OK, the kettle didn't work but other than that it was more than adequate. It's a gated complex so we felt fairly secure, although one of our windows wouldn't close which we weren't comfortable with at all and fixed by ourselves.
It is however in the middle of nowhere and a 15 minute taxi is needed for everything if you want to leave the resort. Most of out money went on taxi fares. You will need to leave the resort as the one restaurant is terrible and overpriced, and there is no poolside refreshment service, all vending machines are also broken. The only location benefit - Nikki Beach, which is definitely worth a visit, is only a two minute walk down the road.
The MAJOR DOWNFALL of this resort were the staff. We failed to find a single receptionist who spoke competent English, and our pigeon French wasn't much help. We were given conflicting information by staff a number of times- being told we were able to use the shuttle bus for the supermarket one day, then being charged for it the next. Being told we could use the pool facilities at the nearby Golf Resort for free, someone else told us we weren't allowed at all, and then we were also told it was thirty pounds each to spend the day there. It was very frustrating and no one had a clue what was going on. The Golf Resort however- where we did spend 3 (free) days by the pool, is exceptional in comparison and definitely worth visiting if the reception staff allow it on that day!

General Marrakech extras-
Taxis were a massive rip off as expected, with locals paying 1/10th of the price of tourists- if you stand your ground on price (we usually offered a third of their initial price- which is still a rip off) and walk away, they accept your offer every single time. As 4 Western girls we had expected to be hassled in the city, and it exceeded expectations. Even when completely covered at night time we felt intimidated as local women are rarely seen after dark- it was not a threatening atmosphere but neither was it relaxing- so we took taxis everywhere! Once inside resorts, restaurants or bars it was fine.
There are hundreds of people desperate to be your 'guide' for the week- not just locals on the street but lifeguards, taxi drivers and waiters too. You don't need a guide at all, don't be conned, even for the Souks and tourist attractions - take a Lonely Planet travel guide and grab a map from reception and you're sorted. There are also people who will outright lie to you- we were told when getting out of the taxi at the Souks that we had to cover our shoulders and that he would take us to a scarf shop so we could buy something appropriate- complete rubbish. That being said, there are some lovely and genuine local people, just use your common sense!!
Avoid Marrakech during Ramadan if you're wanting to experience any nightlife!! Clubs don't open until midnight, and get busy around 2pm- we did have some good nights out at some of the main nightclubs but many places were empty.

Overall I would say we got what we paid for, but wouldn't stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    57
    38
    28
    36
See reviews for
105
31
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Went with a mate after hearing good things about Marrakech. On arrival at the airport in Marrakech theres the expected rigamarole of haggling down the ludicrous tourist taxi prices they try and rip you off with. We spent about 15 mins at that. The apartment was clean enough and comfortable, some ants but nothing to really moan to much about. The staff were friendly and corteous enough. The place is expensive though, its an effect of French Paris prices rubbing off on their former colonial enclave. Frankly prices are ridiculous. £5 for a beer. Food supermarket shop was expensive. Also theres no point going during Ramadan, if you like a drink, clubs shut early, place is pretty quiet. Big square was ok. Ramadan still didn't stop my phone getting nicked by a worker from my apartment terrace. So be warned!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

found the apartment very clean, the staff were accomdating,definilty recommed this resort for family or even for a short relaxing break, contain one large clean swimming pool with stunning views, plenty of deck chairs and coffee table this is all near a restaurant and bar, what else can you ask for



Kay

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor has access to the garden with chairs, well kept gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

i went with my family. we booked two apartments between us. they were clean. The stay was amazing. The staff extremely helpful. Only thing it was slightly far from the city center. The taxi will cost around 100 - 150 dirahms approx £13, each way.

however I did previously arrange for a free shuttle to the city with the hotel before we went. They did honor it after written proof presented.

we stayed on the ground floor apartments net to the pool. The pool was amazing and clean :) very happy.

They are sooooooo many brits there lol

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Booked lastminute.com hol for the family. My daughter chose Marrakesh, so we thought why not.
We went in February, so it was cooler - we were v lucky, had great weather and larked about in SWIMWEAR! the village apartments are clean and basically equipped. There is an expensive shop up the road (10 min walk) which stocks everything. Staff are nice.
As it was out of season, there is not much about, but we wanted to chill and we did. Take a guided trip around town and enjoy some local customs. remember you are "on holiday" so don't be offended by people. This is another country!

Just a point tio remember, although the village is part of a massive resort - you CANNOT use the other services for free. We went to a lush pool area in the Golf part and nearly had to pay £20.00 PER PERSON (YES POUNDS!) FOR THE DAY - ER, NO! Batted my eyelashes and we got it for free. It will not be the case high season!

I would recommend for a short stay, as Self catering is pricey. But nice peope and beautiful country. fab food and we had fun!

Room Tip: pick a villa near the little pools - wish I did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I was also dreading my stay here after reading the reports on here. We were supposed to stay in the Palmeraie Du Golf resort but this was fully booked. I stayed at te Palmeraie Village in February with my wife and our 2 year old daughter. We stayed in a ground floor apartment and were impressed with the space and comfort inside. 2 bedrooms, a living room, a bathroom, a toilet, a kitchen and a garden with a small patio and dining table. The apartments have a real homely feel to them and the furniture was clean, comfortable and modern. The staff were very friendly and accomodating throughout our stay - even when we checked in at midnight due to a delay!

The apartment was perfect for winding down at the end of a hectic day. On our last night we even bought some food from a local supermarket and ate our own dinner on the garden - which was great.

The only negative thing was that on the first morning of our stay, water came flooding into the bathroom from the apartment above. We had to pack our stuff and evacuate the room! We spoke to the staff who sent an engineer to the apartment immediately whilst they arranged an even better apartment for us to stay in. By the time we had finished our breakfast this was ready and they moved our belongings into the new apartment for us.

If you are after a typical 4-5 star service with concierge, room service at the snap of a finger and general pampering (eg on site salon and fine dining), I would suggest booking at the Du Golf resort.

And as another tip I would highly recommend using ZIPtransfers.com to arrange a driver to pick you up from the airport to the resort. Amazing service and a good price without the haggling!

Room Tip: If going for an apartment, go for a ground floor one near to the swimming pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Arrived in the evening after a long days travelling-shattered and looking to relax. Had booked last minute through Expedia and had not read any reviews; just looking for a 5-star self-catering holiday in nice warm weather over Easter.

After walking through the door got a sense of dread and a feeling that we had made a big mistake. It didn't resemble anything near the quality of self-catering accommodation I have been used to in Portugal or Spain despite being told it was a five star resort.

Points
1. Check-in: ramshackle and cheap-looking reception area, staff friendly enough
2. Kitchen stove cracked (glass, so unsafe and low-rent)
3. No blinds or window coverings in kitchen, not good if on ground floor as we were)
4. Wardrobe doors falling off hinges
5. Plug sockets near bed so loose they come out of the wall when taking the plug out
6. Generally dirty, but no bugs seen
7. Bathroom door wouldn't close past halfway
8. Shower head broken and held together by gravity alone
9. Tv cabinet in master bedroom......but no TV
10. Door lock to room had clearly been pried open at some point, but only partially repaired
11. Double beds are actually two singles shoved together, and are covered in plastic undersheeting which crackle and crinkle every time you move.
12. The breakfast next morning was a complete farce and we were only able to see the funny side because we were checking-out straight afterwards. The cereal bowl doubled up as a bird bath for cheeky sparrow-type birds who had obviously learnt that the staff don't even notice them. The birds would fly in to the conservatory building as soon as the door was left open for a second, nibble on the bread on the buffet table, or jump around in the bowl of sugar-puffs. I mentioned to the staff and they took the cereal away but made no effort to keep them from coming back in, like keeping one of the doors closed. Myself and another guest managed to evict one of the birds only to see them come straight back in again and head straight for the buffet table. Apart from this I asked for something cooked and was offered an omelette- tasty enough!

After breakfast walked to the managers office and told him we would be moving to the Hotel du Golf within the hour and asked him to liaise accordingly. He made a half-hearted attempt at offering an upgrade but we were determined to leave. He then told us the apartments are owned privately and that they would feedback the information to the owner, but they have had difficulty getting control over maintenance, upkeep etc.

When checking in to the Hotel du Golf it was clear they were used to disgruntled Residence guests defecting mid-stay! Now very happy at the Hotel du Golf from where I am writing this review.

Room Tip: If you must stay ensure you get an apartment close to the repetition. If you don't mind missing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palmeraie Village Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmeraie Village Residence

Address: Les Jardins de la Palmeraie II | Circuit de la Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 191 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palmeraie Village Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Palmeraie Village Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmeraie Village Marrakech
Hotel Palmeraie Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmeraie Village Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.