We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go during Ramadan. Doesn't stop phone getting stolen though!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palmeraie Village Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Palmeraie Village Residence to your Saves list
Palmeraie Village Residence
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Les Jardins de la Palmeraie II | Circuit de la Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 188 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Windsor, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't go during Ramadan. Doesn't stop phone getting stolen though!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Went with a mate after hearing good things about Marrakech. On arrival at the airport in Marrakech theres the expected rigamarole of haggling down the ludicrous tourist taxi prices they try and rip you off with. We spent about 15 mins at that. The apartment was clean enough and comfortable, some ants but nothing to really moan to much about. The staff were friendly and corteous enough. The place is expensive though, its an effect of French Paris prices rubbing off on their former colonial enclave. Frankly prices are ridiculous. £5 for a beer. Food supermarket shop was expensive. Also theres no point going during Ramadan, if you like a drink, clubs shut early, place is pretty quiet. Big square was ok. Ramadan still didn't stop my phone getting nicked by a worker from my apartment terrace. So be warned!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    48
    39
    26
    34
See reviews for
98
28
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

found the apartment very clean, the staff were accomdating,definilty recommed this resort for family or even for a short relaxing break, contain one large clean swimming pool with stunning views, plenty of deck chairs and coffee table this is all near a restaurant and bar, what else can you ask for



Kay

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor has access to the garden with chairs, well kept gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

i went with my family. we booked two apartments between us. they were clean. The stay was amazing. The staff extremely helpful. Only thing it was slightly far from the city center. The taxi will cost around 100 - 150 dirahms approx £13, each way.

however I did previously arrange for a free shuttle to the city with the hotel before we went. They did honor it after written proof presented.

we stayed on the ground floor apartments net to the pool. The pool was amazing and clean :) very happy.

They are sooooooo many brits there lol

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Booked lastminute.com hol for the family. My daughter chose Marrakesh, so we thought why not.
We went in February, so it was cooler - we were v lucky, had great weather and larked about in SWIMWEAR! the village apartments are clean and basically equipped. There is an expensive shop up the road (10 min walk) which stocks everything. Staff are nice.
As it was out of season, there is not much about, but we wanted to chill and we did. Take a guided trip around town and enjoy some local customs. remember you are "on holiday" so don't be offended by people. This is another country!

Just a point tio remember, although the village is part of a massive resort - you CANNOT use the other services for free. We went to a lush pool area in the Golf part and nearly had to pay £20.00 PER PERSON (YES POUNDS!) FOR THE DAY - ER, NO! Batted my eyelashes and we got it for free. It will not be the case high season!

I would recommend for a short stay, as Self catering is pricey. But nice peope and beautiful country. fab food and we had fun!

Room Tip: pick a villa near the little pools - wish I did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I was also dreading my stay here after reading the reports on here. We were supposed to stay in the Palmeraie Du Golf resort but this was fully booked. I stayed at te Palmeraie Village in February with my wife and our 2 year old daughter. We stayed in a ground floor apartment and were impressed with the space and comfort inside. 2 bedrooms, a living room, a bathroom, a toilet, a kitchen and a garden with a small patio and dining table. The apartments have a real homely feel to them and the furniture was clean, comfortable and modern. The staff were very friendly and accomodating throughout our stay - even when we checked in at midnight due to a delay!

The apartment was perfect for winding down at the end of a hectic day. On our last night we even bought some food from a local supermarket and ate our own dinner on the garden - which was great.

The only negative thing was that on the first morning of our stay, water came flooding into the bathroom from the apartment above. We had to pack our stuff and evacuate the room! We spoke to the staff who sent an engineer to the apartment immediately whilst they arranged an even better apartment for us to stay in. By the time we had finished our breakfast this was ready and they moved our belongings into the new apartment for us.

If you are after a typical 4-5 star service with concierge, room service at the snap of a finger and general pampering (eg on site salon and fine dining), I would suggest booking at the Du Golf resort.

And as another tip I would highly recommend using ZIPtransfers.com to arrange a driver to pick you up from the airport to the resort. Amazing service and a good price without the haggling!

Room Tip: If going for an apartment, go for a ground floor one near to the swimming pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Arrived in the evening after a long days travelling-shattered and looking to relax. Had booked last minute through Expedia and had not read any reviews; just looking for a 5-star self-catering holiday in nice warm weather over Easter.

After walking through the door got a sense of dread and a feeling that we had made a big mistake. It didn't resemble anything near the quality of self-catering accommodation I have been used to in Portugal or Spain despite being told it was a five star resort.

Points
1. Check-in: ramshackle and cheap-looking reception area, staff friendly enough
2. Kitchen stove cracked (glass, so unsafe and low-rent)
3. No blinds or window coverings in kitchen, not good if on ground floor as we were)
4. Wardrobe doors falling off hinges
5. Plug sockets near bed so loose they come out of the wall when taking the plug out
6. Generally dirty, but no bugs seen
7. Bathroom door wouldn't close past halfway
8. Shower head broken and held together by gravity alone
9. Tv cabinet in master bedroom......but no TV
10. Door lock to room had clearly been pried open at some point, but only partially repaired
11. Double beds are actually two singles shoved together, and are covered in plastic undersheeting which crackle and crinkle every time you move.
12. The breakfast next morning was a complete farce and we were only able to see the funny side because we were checking-out straight afterwards. The cereal bowl doubled up as a bird bath for cheeky sparrow-type birds who had obviously learnt that the staff don't even notice them. The birds would fly in to the conservatory building as soon as the door was left open for a second, nibble on the bread on the buffet table, or jump around in the bowl of sugar-puffs. I mentioned to the staff and they took the cereal away but made no effort to keep them from coming back in, like keeping one of the doors closed. Myself and another guest managed to evict one of the birds only to see them come straight back in again and head straight for the buffet table. Apart from this I asked for something cooked and was offered an omelette- tasty enough!

After breakfast walked to the managers office and told him we would be moving to the Hotel du Golf within the hour and asked him to liaise accordingly. He made a half-hearted attempt at offering an upgrade but we were determined to leave. He then told us the apartments are owned privately and that they would feedback the information to the owner, but they have had difficulty getting control over maintenance, upkeep etc.

When checking in to the Hotel du Golf it was clear they were used to disgruntled Residence guests defecting mid-stay! Now very happy at the Hotel du Golf from where I am writing this review.

Room Tip: If you must stay ensure you get an apartment close to the repetition. If you don't mind missing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

my friend booked the villas here and after reading the reviews i was absolutely crapping it. However, when we got there it was absolutely amazing. The staff were great, check in was good, villa was spotless, swimming pool was clean. Cleaning and change of towels was also done daily. However, we did notice that the villas were about 5% occupied and that the bad reviews were of the apartments. However, it takes 20 minutes to get to the city centre but as we split it between 6 of us it cost 150 dirhams up till midnight in a 7 seater and 200 after that so it works out about £3 each. All in all had a brilliant holiday..

Room Tip: definitely spend the extra and get the villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palmeraie Village Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmeraie Village Residence

Address: Les Jardins de la Palmeraie II | Circuit de la Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 188 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palmeraie Village Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palmeraie Village Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmeraie Village Marrakech
Hotel Palmeraie Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmeraie Village Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.