We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean resort and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palmeraie Village Residence

Save Saved
You added Palmeraie Village Residence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palmeraie Village Residence
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Les Jardins de la Palmeraie II | Circuit de la Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 187 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean resort and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I was also dreading my stay here after reading the reports on here. We were supposed to stay in the Palmeraie Du Golf resort but this was fully booked. I stayed at te Palmeraie Village in February with my wife and our 2 year old daughter. We stayed in a ground floor apartment and were impressed with the space and comfort inside. 2 bedrooms, a living room, a bathroom, a toilet, a kitchen and a garden with a small patio and dining table. The apartments have a real homely feel to them and the furniture was clean, comfortable and modern. The staff were very friendly and accomodating throughout our stay - even when we checked in at midnight due to a delay!

The apartment was perfect for winding down at the end of a hectic day. On our last night we even bought some food from a local supermarket and ate our own dinner on the garden - which was great.

The only negative thing was that on the first morning of our stay, water came flooding into the bathroom from the apartment above. We had to pack our stuff and evacuate the room! We spoke to the staff who sent an engineer to the apartment immediately whilst they arranged an even better apartment for us to stay in. By the time we had finished our breakfast this was ready and they moved our belongings into the new apartment for us.

If you are after a typical 4-5 star service with concierge, room service at the snap of a finger and general pampering (eg on site salon and fine dining), I would suggest booking at the Du Golf resort.

And as another tip I would highly recommend using ZIPtransfers.com to arrange a driver to pick you up from the airport to the resort. Amazing service and a good price without the haggling!

Room Tip: If going for an apartment, go for a ground floor one near to the swimming pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    48
    39
    26
    34
See reviews for
97
28
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Arrived in the evening after a long days travelling-shattered and looking to relax. Had booked last minute through Expedia and had not read any reviews; just looking for a 5-star self-catering holiday in nice warm weather over Easter.

After walking through the door got a sense of dread and a feeling that we had made a big mistake. It didn't resemble anything near the quality of self-catering accommodation I have been used to in Portugal or Spain despite being told it was a five star resort.

Points
1. Check-in: ramshackle and cheap-looking reception area, staff friendly enough
2. Kitchen stove cracked (glass, so unsafe and low-rent)
3. No blinds or window coverings in kitchen, not good if on ground floor as we were)
4. Wardrobe doors falling off hinges
5. Plug sockets near bed so loose they come out of the wall when taking the plug out
6. Generally dirty, but no bugs seen
7. Bathroom door wouldn't close past halfway
8. Shower head broken and held together by gravity alone
9. Tv cabinet in master bedroom......but no TV
10. Door lock to room had clearly been pried open at some point, but only partially repaired
11. Double beds are actually two singles shoved together, and are covered in plastic undersheeting which crackle and crinkle every time you move.
12. The breakfast next morning was a complete farce and we were only able to see the funny side because we were checking-out straight afterwards. The cereal bowl doubled up as a bird bath for cheeky sparrow-type birds who had obviously learnt that the staff don't even notice them. The birds would fly in to the conservatory building as soon as the door was left open for a second, nibble on the bread on the buffet table, or jump around in the bowl of sugar-puffs. I mentioned to the staff and they took the cereal away but made no effort to keep them from coming back in, like keeping one of the doors closed. Myself and another guest managed to evict one of the birds only to see them come straight back in again and head straight for the buffet table. Apart from this I asked for something cooked and was offered an omelette- tasty enough!

After breakfast walked to the managers office and told him we would be moving to the Hotel du Golf within the hour and asked him to liaise accordingly. He made a half-hearted attempt at offering an upgrade but we were determined to leave. He then told us the apartments are owned privately and that they would feedback the information to the owner, but they have had difficulty getting control over maintenance, upkeep etc.

When checking in to the Hotel du Golf it was clear they were used to disgruntled Residence guests defecting mid-stay! Now very happy at the Hotel du Golf from where I am writing this review.

Room Tip: If you must stay ensure you get an apartment close to the repetition. If you don't mind missing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

my friend booked the villas here and after reading the reviews i was absolutely crapping it. However, when we got there it was absolutely amazing. The staff were great, check in was good, villa was spotless, swimming pool was clean. Cleaning and change of towels was also done daily. However, we did notice that the villas were about 5% occupied and that the bad reviews were of the apartments. However, it takes 20 minutes to get to the city centre but as we split it between 6 of us it cost 150 dirhams up till midnight in a 7 seater and 200 after that so it works out about £3 each. All in all had a brilliant holiday..

Room Tip: definitely spend the extra and get the villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Well... Where can I start. We booked this self catering accomodation on the travel republic website, where the property is marketed as good quality, four star with fabulous pictures showing modern, funky decor and picturesque pools and surroundings.

Frankly, it's all lies.

We arrived at our apartment to be told that only one of the pools was open and if we wanted to eat after 6pm, we would have to go to the Golf Palace (10 mins drive away). This was a minor issue as once we were shown to our apartment and left there by the porters, we coulted no less than 13 dead cockroaches under the furniture, around the toilets, in the showers and in the kitchen. There were liquid stains down the bed head boards and curly pubic hairs on the pillows. Underneath the furniture in the living room area was thick with dirt and there were previous 'prisoners' items of rubbish - suitcase labels, tickets, receipts etc all under the chairs. Spiders nests present in the wood carvings on the roof and furniture which was generally shabby.

You have to bear in mind that hot countries such as Morocco are always prone to bugs and general nasties but please trust me on this - I am an experienced traveller and this issue was more to do with the fact that the standards of cleanliness at this property are so poor. Unfortunately, all the cockroaches we saw were dead, so ask yourself what did they die of..... and why had they all been left on the floor in the apartment...?!!!!

I complained to the manager who was rather indifferent but offered to move us to another apartment (2 bedroom)... He acted as if we should be eternally grateful for the additional space however upon closer inspection this room was just as disgusting as the first. The electric shutters were broken, and when we pulled out the double bed we found no less than 11 dead cockroaches right behind the head board...!!

Please do not think I am exaggerating in any way... I am absolutely not, and I have attached photos below which I took.

We simply could not stay in this property for obvious reasons, so incurred significant costs in moving to another hotel....... Bear in mind TRAVEL REPUBLIC could not have been more disinterested when presented with these photos and a formal complaint.

Room Tip: Don't - Book the Holiday Inn Palmerai (Hotel Du Golf) instead - It's beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

It is a shame to rate this accommodation as poor, but it is not average. The good news was that despite expecting the worse I did not see a creepy crawly in the apartment. We had to move after the first night as the heating wasn't working, and you need that in Jan. They did offer for us to move straight away, but we hoped they would fix it the next day, but they couldn't. They did provide one heater. The rooms are very dark, even with the blinds open. There was enough cutlery and plates, but not glasses. Big fridge/freezer. No plug in the kitchen sink. Lid of toilet seats might not be attached! Curtains needed re-hanging. Furniture grubby, in fact coffee table in lounge had carving in the wood and this was full of crumbs etc, quite off putting.Bedding/towels (bit grey) are changed if you stay over 4 days (I think it was 4) and they clean rooms, but not kitchen. You need to provide washing up liquid,tea towel and dishcloth etc. Shop is withing walking distance, but you need to be fit as it is quite a long way. Don't plan to walk back with heavy bags. Swimming pool area quite nice, but no cushions on sunbeds and no pool towels as far we could see. It would be very easy to make this a very nice place, but they need to invest some money, do some spring cleaning!!!! Driving is NOT recommended!!! Didn't eat here, had a meal in the restaurant by the shops, not bad. Free wifi in reception, not room. TV has lots of channels, safe, iron & board, Hot water, but it does run out if too much used. Beds comfortable. If you need fresh air at night you need to open the roller blinds a fraction, and then leave the patio doors open a little. If you leave the blinds and the doors open any more than this you may get unwelcome visitors in.

Room Tip: We stayed in F3 block room 618 which was near the pool and restaurant. Reception was also within ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our advice would be to steer clear of Palmeraie Village. It is absolutely filthy, for example if you walked bare foot through the apartment the soles of your feet would turn black from the dirty floors. There were blood stains on the mattress, which had no sheets. It was very dangerous at night as there is no lighting. You also have to keep your shutters down at all times whilst away from the apartment and at night, we were informed due to burglaries.

There is currently building works next to the pool and in some places at the hotel so quite noisy. You will find there are lots of locals at the pool so don’t count on sun bed, particularly during the weekend. They are currently re-grouting the sides of the pool, which they don’t close, so the water is quite unclean as it spills into it.

The hotel is not a few minutes away and you wait on average an hour for the company’s shuttle, if you are willing to put your life at risk. If not, there are taxis available at a very high cost. The shuttle is extremely hazardous. No seat belts, the door swings open whilst driving along, which they try to tie shut with a piece of string but it doesn’t work, the suspension has gone, there is no horn and lastly it is a health hazard – disgustingly filthy to the point it marked our clothes.
There is actually only one restaurant open at the village not 2 and only 3 at the hotel not 5. Not much choice of food. And food cannot be delivered to your apartment in the village as stated in their brochure.

There is no Hollywood Bowl at the hotel as advertised. They should really update their pictures, as the place is very run down and it appears a lot different in person. I was quite shocked.

We did make complaint on the first day and arranged numerous appointments then onwards to see numerous managers. We waited hours at times and was often told that the manager had gone and was now not available or was not actually in. We finally managed to speak with the manager of the village on our second to last day, which we believe only decided to see us then as we were about to go home. He shrugged us off and said he couldn’t do anything as we was going home the next day. He did however say he would look at our complaint and email me. I have received no emails as of yet. The way in which we were dealt with was unacceptable and no one should have to endure that kind of treatment. We really advise people to think twice about booking here.

Marrakech itself is a lovely place, but not much to do. We would advise people to stay a maximum of 2 days.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel altogether.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I recently stayed here in a group of 6 adults (3 couples) and had a fantastic 3 double bedroom apartment. It was beautifully decorated in a traditional Moroccan style with decent sized rooms and very powerful air conditioning which was a God send! I stayed in the master bedroom which was enormous with a comfy bed, tv, walk in wardrobe and en suite bathroom with bath and shower. There was a large indoor living area with comfy seating (including a fold out sofa bed) and a tv with American movie channels and BBC News 24. There was a good size kitchen with enough pots and pans to make simple meals. We had a large outside balcony (we were on the first floor) with seating, tables and shelter from the sun. The promotional photos provided by the Palmeraie were surprisingly accurate!

From our block it was a 5min walk to the pool and 5mins to reception for taxis and shuttle bus to sister hotel. La Pergola pool is huge and quiet. Unfortunately the poolside bar has closed and looked like it had been closed for quite some time but there are lots of sun loungers and parasols. Les Jardins is the other pool which is much more child friendly as it's shallower and has a poolside bar. This bar is quite pricey if you want to drink beer (Flag 40dhm, Casablanca 60dhm which is approximately £3.50 and £5 for small bottles).

Some reviews on here really slate the quality of service but when we had a problem they were really efficient. Our fuse blew in the apartment causing all the electricity to stop working. I reported it to Reception and they sent someone round who fixed it and showed is what to do if it happened again. One of our party also lost the key to the apartment (oops!) and Reception radioed a member of staff who literally came running across the complex to let us in. Of course we gave him a grateful tip!!

There is a free shuttle bus to the larger sister hotel. If you call Reception and tell them you want to go there they call a driver and can give you an expected departure time (usually only 10-20mins) or you can turn up at Reception and wait there (with the free WiFi). It's a 10min drive to the other hotel where there are lots of restaurants, a lovely bar, traditional mint tea with a tea server, and an incredible pool which is available for you to use. They also provide a free shuttle to the centre of Marrakesh (15min drive) which we took into town but it finishes at 11pm so we took a taxi back to the Palmeraie after dinner which costs about 200dhm for 6 of us (approximately £18).

We went in August in the middle of Ramadan. Lots of places are closed but there were enough restaurants etc to feed us for a week. Morocco is a predominantly Muslim country so alcohol doesn't flow as freely or a cheaply as in the UK. We thought ahead and bought alcohol at Duty Free before we boarded the plane. You can buy alcohol in restaurants but it's incredibly expensive so we mainly drank in the apartment before going out. My main criticism is there isn't a shop on the premises but we found a fab taxi driver who took us to the local supermarket and waited whilst did our shop and drove us right back to the door of our apartment (despite some others comments on here the taxis can drive to the apartments). The driver even followed me and my friends round the supermarket and pointed out things we might like e.g. Earl grey tea and chocolate!! He helped us pack our shopping and even pushed our trolley. It was lovely if a bit weird...! For this he charged us a total of 200dhm (approximately £18). When we ran out of alcohol the taxi driver took us to a special alcohol shop which was basically a cash and carry place. You need to take your passport with you.

Finally, BUGS. You will get bugs anywhere that is hot. Don't leave crumbs, wash your cups/plates straight after you use them and leave the air con on when you are out. We found a couple of cockroaches in our apartment but they were dead on their backs. We think they froze as we had the air con on high for the whole week. When we arrived there were a few ants on the balcony but after lunch we swept up and they didn't bother us again.

Overall a fantastic resort!

Room Tip: Ask for 1st floor so other won't be walking past you when you're sitting on your balcony. Mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palmeraie Village Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmeraie Village Residence

Address: Les Jardins de la Palmeraie II | Circuit de la Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 187 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palmeraie Village Residence 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Palmeraie Village Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmeraie Village Marrakech
Hotel Palmeraie Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmeraie Village Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.