We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tammou

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Tammou
Save
You added Riad Tammou to your Saves list
Km 15 Route de Ouarazazate | Chwiter, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #388 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Big disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2009

i went away with my girlfriend, having seen the pictures and the reviews on the website. All I can say is that I do not know how anyone can give this place more than a 2* rating.

The first piece of advice to highlight to any others thinking of going here is BEWARE! Contrary to one or two other reviews, there is NO CINEMA ROOM and there is NO CHEF THAT COOKED for the King of Jordan.

The Riad is about a 30minutes drive from Marakech (further than expected), and in the middle of nowhere, surround by barren land with some dead trees scattered around. The pool area looked quite nice, but we were invaded by an army of flies that made it impossible to lie still for more than 2 minutes at a time. In the absence of the expected cinema room, there is absolutely nothing to do in this place - the flies made it impossible to sit outside, and on a rainy day it is pure boredom.

The food was overpriced and unappetizing. I got ill with food poisoning and when my gf asked for a light meal for me, the hotel odd job man brough a bowl of vegetables and plain rice for her too! The foos is more expensive and no where near as good as at the restaurant in the Meridien N'fils, in which we stayed for the first 2 days of our stay. The rooms were ok, but the plug in the bath did not work properly, so our romantic shower did not happen either. I was utterly miserable there.

We read the guestbook and saw ridiculous comments such as "Waffle (name of the female owner), Riad Tammou will liv in our hearts forever." Call me cynical, but such adornment for what is, essentially, a basic building in the middle of a desert, appears to be a little overblown.

If you want to stay somewhere cheaper, with better food, a nicer pool area, and better located, I woul go for the Meridien N'fis - every time.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Location, overpriced, poor food, flies!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    3
    4
    6
    4
See reviews for
3
25
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

stayed at the Riad Tammou for our honeymoon. hotel very nice and staff very freindly and really look after their guests. not so good was the extra £150 we got charged when my credit card bill arrived when we got home. e mailed the hotel several times and go no reply back from them.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilminster, Somerset
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2008

We holidayed at Riad Tammou in September 2007 and enjoyed it greatly, so we talked to the owner, Ahmed, and found out how much it would cost to book the entire riad so that we could bring our friends out to celebrate our marriage and honeymoon with us in Marrakech. We paid a large deposit then and there.

We made the rest of our wedding plans and about 3 or 4 weeks before the date, we heard from the riad telling us that they had built more rooms and that we either had to pay yet more money (nearly 50% extra) or risk having strangers sharing the riad with us, which was what we had specifically tried to avoid.

I can't begin to describe how disappointed I was, but we just couldn't afford to pay the extra and we really didn't want to share the riad, so we cancelled. We asked for our deposit back, as the riad had broken the contract we had made, but they said no. We asked again, and when it was too late to do anything about it, they offered us the remainder of the riad free. Clearly, by then we had made other arrangements and it wasn't a realistic proposition, so we asked for our deposit (that they had been sitting on for a year), but they have refused.

Clearly, there's a lesson for us in that we shouldn't have taken these people on trust, but in all other dealings with the Arab world, a man's word has been his bond and it has never been a problem. So, we are hugely out of pocket, had our honeymoon plans wrecked and the riad is laughing up it's sleeve. Riad Tammou is not somewhere I would recommend anyone to unless they make sure that they have a firm, written contract with these sharks.

  • Liked — Nice staff
  • Disliked — Sharp practice and underhand methods that cheated us of our honeymoon
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

If you want to relax away from the Medina but still be close enough to drop into town Riad Tammou, owned by interior designers who have renovated and furnished it in a more contemporary style with lovely muted tones, this is the place to stay.
Wafa, the owner’s sister-in-law, looks after the running of the Riad and does so with that relaxed manner that takes care of all your needs yet at the same time is totally unobtrusive. We arrived the day after my wife’s birthday and were the only two in the Riad for our three day stay. On our first evening we walked down to dinner only to see the whole garden lit with candles and a table set with flowers for the two of us. Wafa had spotted the date from the passport and arranged a special dinner including a cake.
With five rooms at present and another three under construction (ready by August 08) the place is furnished in a boutique hotel style but is made to feel almost like a home. The inner courtyard has a central ornamental pool strewn with rose petals is surrounded by low tables and seating arranged against the walls that are themselves hung with old black and white prints of Moroccans in traditional dress from years gone by. There are cushioned seating areas under the shaded entrance with tables for breakfast and round the huge pool are sun loungers and beds. (Yes, double bed-sized mattresses with pillows, shaded canopies and sun hats should you need them).
Breakfast is included in the room price as are soft drinks available at any time and also afternoon tea. Lunch is available if required, however, afternoon tea was all we needed before the dinner which at 250 dh served round the pool or on the veranda is a bargain. A bottle of wine at 150dh is also cheaper than at most of the inferior restaurants in town.
Transfers are arranged from the airport for 200 dh and trips/tours can be catered on request although as it was our last three days we simply crashed out and relaxed.
All in all we can thoroughly recommend staying here not only for couples wanting to simply relax but also with the new rooms families are well catered for. The rooms are all named after girls and whilst all are lovely we suggest you try and get Yasmine or Mamass which overlook the pool. One of the new rooms, Zena, will also overlook the pool.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2008

We stayed 5 nights at Riad Tammou and loved every minute of it. The Riad is very beautiful and the ambience is so tranquil. The staff is very friendly and so helpful. We spent most of our days relaxing by the pool listening to the wonderful music from the Riad's stereo. Lunch was served in the garden and everyday a real treat. We only ate out one night in Marrakech and quickly decided that the food at Riad Tammou is very hard to beat. THE FOOD IS AMAZING!!! They offer transport to the town centre so it is easy and comfortable if you do want to go out. Fresh towels were provided everyday and our room was very clean and well looked after. We highly recommend Riad Tammou it is worth every penny/dirham!!

  • Liked — the food, the staff, the garden & pool
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

We arrived at Riad Tammou after a terrible night at Kasbah Toubkal and were delighted as we entered the beautiful Riad. The Riad is simply stunning and is obviously well looked after by the owners. When we arrived the riad was full and the next day we were left on our own as the sole guests - which was perfect for us and was very tranquil!

Our room was beautiful although the taps were leaking which had lead to a damp patch - am sure this will be rectified asap though! We booked Suite Yasmine and were given Mamass which was a little disapointing as Yasmine was by far the superior one but it didn't really matter in the grand scheme of things. Be aware though that the Riad is on the main road and I am sure had you a room which didn't look over the swimming pool then the experience would probably have been tainted as these rooms were rather loud. (Suits Yasmine and Mamass and the one upstairs are all the "right" side of the riad). Also note that the riad is about 25 minutes by taxi to Marrakech and it is about 150 dirhams to get there...which was fine for us as we didn't like Marrakech!

The food was plentiful but there is no menu so it is a case of eat what is made and the service was ok - if we wanted a 5* experience though we would have checked in the Amanjena up the road!!

All in all a nice experience and relaxing experience!

  • Liked — Relaxing by the pool
  • Disliked — Perhaps a bit too quiet and the fact that you have fininshed eating by about 8pm...
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2007

My husband and I went to Marrakech for our first year anniversary and staying in Riad Tammou made our celebration all the more amazing. It is one of the most tranquil places we have ever stayed in. I can only use one word to describe the service offered at Riad Tammou and the place itself and that is.....Exquisite!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Tammou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tammou

Address: Km 15 Route de Ouarazazate | Chwiter, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#150 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Riad Tammou Marrakech
Riad Tammou Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Tammou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.