We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the most authentic experience...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Clock Storytelling

Cafe Clock Storytelling
224 Derb Chtouka, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-78367
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 88 Attractions in Marrakech
Type: Scenic Drives
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Traditional storytelling dates back thousands of years an is an important part of the Moroccan collective memory. However this rich tradition is fading asfewer raconteurs detail rich narratives for crowds in Jema el-Fna’a square. Cafe Clock reinvigorates this tradition by bringing retired storytellers to perform alongside freshly trained apprentices of the craft. Stories in English and Arabic.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator
derbyshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not the most authentic experience...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

If you want to have an authentic Moroccan experience in Marrakesh, absorbing the local culture with great food at a reasonable price...do not go here! The idea is probably a good one, but it's trying to hard, and isn't representative of the city itself. You could quite easily be in any other city, paying above average prices for drinks.

The story telling is a great idea, but when the stories told in Arabic are clearly only understood by a few people in the room (the ones that laugh when jokes or funny parts of the stories are reached), being surrounded by tourists leaning forward, filming and smiling intensely as if they understand is off putting and slightly disingenuous at least.

Having spent 8 days in Marrakesh, eating everywhere from tourist places to where the locals grab a snack, this was definitely our least favourite venue. I think it's strange that people would travel to somewhere like Marrakesh, then seek out a trendy cafe, similar to one they could probably visit in any country, but if that's your cup of tea, you'll probably love this place!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtoplo, Cultural Programming at Cafe Clock Storytelling, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you for your review of Cafe Clock. As we are new to Marrakech, it's very important to us to build upon our program by considering the feedback from our clients. As you likely realized during your time in Marrakech, there is a wide range of diversity within the city and our cultural program attempts to incorporate storytellers, musicians, artists, and others. As we move forward, we will certainly work hard to increase our reach to more Marrakshis as they are very important to creating a cross-cultural cafe.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Difficult to add to the excellent reviews already received, suffice to say this awesome little place (which only opened a matter of weeks ago) has a very bright future! A refreshing change from the tedious carbon copy menus which get quickly tiresome at "traditional" Marrakech restaurants. Bright, clean and fresh - you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A true moroccan experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I walked into this café with no idea what to expect! All I knew was that I was going to experience a kind of storytelling that was historically native to the moroccan people. Well, let me tell you, it was impressive, funny and extremely interesting and enjoyable! What a unique way to learn about the history of a people and of one of their traditions!
If you are looking for an authentic, but understandable (as some of the [apprentice] storytellers do a translation in english) moroccan experience, then a visit to Café Clock is absolutely a must! Not to mention, all the people are wonderful! Take the time to talk to them before and/or after the story and you won´t be dissapointed!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Feel the Culture . . . authentically”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Too often as foreign tourists visiting a country we find ourselves in establishments designed specifically for us but lacking authenticity. Often these places play to our fantasy about a culture from movies or images of a country long since changed and we miss experiencing the rich culture that currently exists. In a fun and inviting atmosphere, Cafe Clock offers a superlative alternative where tourists, expats, and Moroccans can come together to enjoy traditional Moroccan performances in a way that honors history and celebrates the beauty of Moroccan culture as it exists today.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“keeping the heritage alive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Glamorous, Charming and Warm is the way I feel right to judge cafe clock. I personally enjoy the experience everytime I visit . It has a unique character , great service and I am not talking about the food , because you should come and try it yourself !!( the best almond milk shakes and camel burger !!....)
As a Moroccan I am grateful to cafe clock for their story telling project , because it is considered a heritage that has almost vanished from its cultural context . and yet they have managed to bring it back through the real spirit and atmosphere.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Clock Storytelling also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Cafe Clock Storytelling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Clock Storytelling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.