We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice please to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Shama

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Shama to your Saves list
Riad Shama
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Taht sour Ikbir | Zaouia Abbassia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€49 (EUR)
Ranked #208 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice please to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We have spent 4 days at this riad with 5 friends. Staff was very nice.
The location is a little bit far from the centre, but we could always count on our 'angel' driver Fetah to bring us to the centre and pick us up late at night! What a great service!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    31
    1
    4
    7
See reviews for
17
55
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in a good room in this beautiful riad not far away from the main ancient medersa of the medina. A special thanks to Youssef for his dedication when he fixed our ac troubles. Good value for the money.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
337 reviews 337 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

There are some very good things about Riad Shama and some not so good.

1. The Riad itself is charming with a lovely pool in the centre of the hotel (garden / courtyard). This is great for relaxing and some guests seem to just sit here all day, bathing when hot and calling for drinks or food when required. The atmosphere is tranquil.

2. The staff are charming. They never hassle you or give you any of the "special price", "I can show you a good shop," etc kind of chat. They work hard to ensure their guests are comfortable and relaxed.

3. The restaurant has good basic food - mainly Moroccan but also Spag Bol etc. Prices in Euros. No alcohol served.

4. The rooms are pleasant, nicely furnished and spacious but fairly contemporary. Despite air con it was very hot at night.

5. The Riad is located about 20 mins walk from the centre (Djemma El Fna) in a pretty rough area. People here are poor and will hustle you for money. It is hard to find your way through the back streets to the centre or back again. If you ask for directions people will hustle you. It's normal but annoying although not dangerous. You could take a taxi easily.

6. Price is not bad at all but this is because of the area and distance from centre.

I liked it here but prefer some other Riads.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

My daughter and I have just spent four days in this Riad. The staff very friendly and looked after us well, very helpful except when we asked them to book a table at a restaurant outside the Riad! Room was great, clean and spacious. They also have wi-fi which was great for us as we were able to download films to watch in the evening. Its is definitely worth using their own taxi guides, really nice chap took us to look at various gardens for 330drms. The location, although a bit of a walk from the main square, is great once you get the hang of where you are. We walked everywhere and didn't at all uncomfortable. We also used the spa at the sister Riad (10 mins walk from Shama). Compared to the UK its not expensive, I had the full works, a traditional exfoliation and my daughter had a pedicure etc. It was slightly shambolic but for us thats what made it special, the two women who looked after us were lovely if a little distracted at times! My only complaint would be that people are allowed to smoke which is horrible for non-smokers. Otherwise would defiantly go back.

Room Tip: Book a room upstairs, quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

It has been long and discouraging to work with Riad Shama in Marrekech. We paid for our 3 nights up front, since that was the only option, and then when I suffered an injury and could not walk, there was no question of making the trip to Morocco. 4 other reservations in different cities canceled and refunded any money we had deposited, but Riad Shama, after many tries to contact them, said, no, the hotel stay was not refundable, but that we could reserve again at any time, and they would honor our prepaid visit. When I attempted to reinstate the reservation, however, after e-mails and several phone calls, when I finally contacted them, no, they had a wedding and could not accommodate us. I changed the dates, went through the whole song and dance again to communicate, but no, this time, they could not accommodate us since too much time had passed since we had paid for our rooms. When I threatened to report to Trip Advisor my bad experience, they said, well, the responsible person for the hotel will contact you and suggest some dates. They never did. So, we are out the money, but also, wasted much time trying to follow up on the offers that they had made us. With all their different stories, I felt that there was much prevarication and a failure to be honest. I hope you do not fall into the same predicament that we did.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Béatrice T, Responsable commercial at Riad Shama, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Hi,
You have booked in December a non refundable stay with a central reservation. This non refundable rate was cheaper than the refundable one. It means that the debit is immediately done by the Riad. We have had the kindness to offer you to report your stay for the next three months. You have selected the month of May, at a time where the riad is privatized. In addition, you have offered your stay to a friend of you since.
Best regards.
Béatrice TIPP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed here for three nights in Feb 14. The staff are very friendly and welcoming and can all speak English. You are given Moroccan tea on arrival. Our room was spacious and clean.

The location is about 20 - 25 min walk from the main square (Jama El Fna) on the Souks side. This was fine as gave us a chance to walk through the alleys/Souks and explore. If you did not want to walk a cab was easy to arrange and only cost around £4 anyway (probably less if you are better at bartering than us). Streets felt safe but watch out for people trying to direct you as they will expect payment even though their help is not asked for. If you politely say 'no money' to these and keep walking when they first approach they go away with no trouble.

The Riad is not on a road accessible by car but is literally a thirty second walk from a car park area in well lit streets. Due to its location and lack of road signs generally in Marrakech we would recommend the Riad's airport transfer when you get there. As could be difficult to find if you have not been there before (it is not obviously a Riad from the outside).

Breakfast was tasty and filling consisting of a yogurt or fruit salad and a selection of bread, pancakes, cake and pastries with jams, orange juice and tea/coffee. Eggs were also offered but the breads etc were enough for us.

We had dinner at the Riad one night and although the food was fresh we did not find it as tasty as that found in the restaurants in Marrakech. Our 'star' rating of the restaurant is based on this and not the breakfast which we thought was excellent.

Overall an enjoyable stay

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed at the Riad Shama with a group of work friends, and we clearly made a good choice. The hotel arranged for us to be picked up from the airport and to be shuttled back again (yes, there was a charge for the shuttling, but definitely worth the convenience). When we arrived the staff were very friendly, offered us tea and biscuits, asked us what things we would like to do, and offered to arrange tours and trips if we wanted to. As it happened we ended up deciding to self tour, but it was nice to be given advice and to have the offer.

My room, was a superior room, on the ground floor and had an upstairs bath room, and was beautifully layed out and clean. On oasis of quiet in a lively and bustling city.

A few glitches in the water heating. On the morning we left there was a temporary power cut for a short while, and the basin hot water was not hot - although my bath hot tap strangely was.

Never the less, highly recommended, and enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Shama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Shama

Address: 22 Taht sour Ikbir | Zaouia Abbassia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#84 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#145 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Shama 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Prestigia and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Shama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Shama Marrakech
Riad Shama Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Shama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.