We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Shama

Save Saved
You added Riad Shama to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Shama
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Taht sour Ikbir | Zaouia Abbassia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€49 (EUR)
Ranked #215 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“All round perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights, with friends in January. The Riad Shama is an oasis of loveliness within the Medina, which, as mentioned by others, does exhibit some poverty, but whose inhabitants are, in the very significant majority, welcoming. The staff at the Shama are incredible. They are always helpful, well beyond their basic roles, and perform their duties with courtesy, and enthusiasm, with nothing seeming to phase them. Food (we had breakfast, an evening meal, and numerous nibbles) is good, freshly prepared for you, and I have to say, their mint tea was by far the nicest I came across during my stay..... and I drank a lot of tea! The Raid is an excellent base for exploring the Medina and its Souks, but is also good for exploring further afield. Staff in Reception speak fluent English, as do their colleagues who form the public face of the enterprise. The rooftop affords a view of the Medina and beyond, with the Atlas Mountains forming a lovely backdrop, especially when snow capped, and at dawn or sun set. Rooms are large, being beautifully and tastefully furnished with lots of Moroccan ware. The bathrooms are exquisite with an apparently limitless supply of hot water, even in the morning in January. The room, and, indeed, the whole of the Riad, was kept scrupulously clean. In fact, the Medina as a whole was rubbish free when compared to other similar areas in North Africa and the Middle east.
As a place to visit and stay in, I can truthfully recommend the Riad Shama.

Room Tip: We saw several rooms during our stay, but, I have to say that all were equally delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    28
    1
    4
    7
See reviews for
17
50
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at Riad Shama for a week at the end of December 2012 and had the most amazing time! The staff are so helpful and nothing we asked for was ever a problem.

We were welcomed with a fresh pot of mint tea before getting settled into our massive suite with an amazing bathroom. They really treat you like kings and queens here!

The whole property is incredibile..you can easily spend a whole day relaxing in the riad. I would definitely recommend asking for breakfast on the sunny rooftop terrace (which is obviously no problem at all :) ). The pool was a bit cold (December), but we jumped in once just to test it. Must be great in summer! Theres lots of space and little hidden corners to relax, read and drink lots of (free) mint tea.

Even though Riad Shama isn't situated right amongst the souks, you're still within 10 minutes of the action and a taxi from Place de Bab Taghzout to Djeema el Fna only costs around Dh 60 - 100! The riad is a one minute walk from Bab Tagzout and very easy to find after being shown where it is once (we booked the €20 airport transfer and were greeted by a really nice man from the riad and shown to the hotel, he tried to carry as many of our bags as he could down the street!). There's also plenty of things to explore in this neigbourhood as well: make sure to try the Dh 15 brochettes with bread and tomatoes from one of the Bab Taghzout grill stalls!.

The riad also provided us with their own car and driver for numerous short trips around town with very reasonable prices.

The food in the riad was very good and breakfast kept on getting better and better every day! Lots of local specialities.

The main thing I loved about this place was that they really made you feel at home and because of the location you really got to feel how the people in Marrakech really live.

Go see for yourself, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: We booked the amazing "Suite Shama" and loved it! Our friends booked the other two-story s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at Riad Shama fabulous location to stay and take in the authentic Marrakech experience!! The staff were very accommodating and welcoming with the owner speaking excellent english. 15 minutes walk from the Souks (once you get your bearings) stepping back into an oasis of calm after the hustle and bustle of our city adventure. Food great too!

What more can I say, thank you Riad Shama for our wonderful stay and the friends we made whilst there :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had 3 nights here and would definitely recommend a visit. Although it was Eid and there were very few guests staying, the staff were helpful and sweet. We ate in twice and the food was good and reasonably priced. Delighful friendly service from Soufiane and Jamal, and all the other staff too. Rooms were comfortable, as were the lounge areas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Well I am afraid that we are unable to recognise the comments by DFJ from Brighton. We stayed at the Riad Shama for 5 nights in Feb this year and had a magnificent time. The Riad is comfortable and clean with attentive and helpful staff (admittedly you benefit from being able to speak a little French as their English is limited - but this is true throughout Morocco). The rooms are around the courtyard pool, are a good size and well equipped. It is however not a hotel, the concept of the Riad being somewhat more informal.
On our first night the weather was exceptionally cold but we lit the open fire in the room and the staff lit one in the dining room. The weather soon turned warmer and by the third day we were spending the afternoons lounging on the roof terrace with mint tea and cold beers.
We ate in a few times and were served delicious local food in a private dining room. The staff decorated the table and fountains with rose petals and the service was perfect.
Breakfast was a mixture of local breads, yoghurt, fruit salad, cheese and preserves, with fresh orange juice, coffee and mint tea.
At the moment they are extending the Riad and it would seem about that an additional 8 or so rooms will be created. There was no work in progress whilst we were present and we in fact had the entire Riad to ourselves after the second day.
The location is as you would expect (and is clear with any research). It as at the northern end of the Medina about a 15 min walk from the souks and main square, a little further from the palaces. The city is busy and bustling but actually remarkably clean for a working North African main centre. The roads are swept each morning and there is no visible dirt even in the back roads. Yes you have to pass through working districts to get to the Riad but if you wish to stay in a faceless bland hotel nearer the square then there are clearly options available, the location is part of the attraction. Clearly you have to be wary of 'over attentive' locals who are seeking to divert you to their preferred 'shops'.
We visited a part of the city each morning (the palaces are fabulous), had lunch out and then back to read in the sun mid afternoon. Even a walk into the city in the evening to eat was entirely safe and uncomplicated. For those who prefer taxis are available although we never used them once.
A fabulous break in a place we would highly recommend, just be sure that you realise it is a boutique townhouse and not a chain hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

I stayed at this Riad in February 2011, I found that it was not to the standards, or stars it claimes, the pictures, and write up in the Kuoni brochure are not of this property.
It actually stands at the near end of an alleyway in the slum area of Marrakech, it's a cold, dark, damp property, which is under renovation, or so they say? {but this was not told to me at the time ob my booking}. The roof garden is absolutley filthy, with dirt, and the only views are of the rooves of the slum houses, and woshing, along with satellite dishes on them.
The food comes up cold, and greasy, and very repetitive. They advise you not to use the tap water for anything but bathing. They provide bottles of water in the rooms, for you to drink and clean your teeth with at the end of your stay they will bill you for this, along with any extra coffees, or teas you might have had at breakfast, or dinner times and during the day (2 is your limmett), but no worning will be given as to them doing this. The bottles of water cost me £2-50 each (phew)?
When i booked both I and Thompsons checked with Kuoni to make sure that they did Half Board, and were geard up to do this? We were assured that they were. This was absolutely in my opinion (Lies), as they admitted they were realy only a Bed and Breakfast, short stay facility (this was told me on the day I departed by the General Manager of the group a young Lady.
I left after only part of my stay, this has cost me quite an amount of cash, I strongly advise the older person against staying at this particular Riad, or any of the others within the company, which is Maisons et Traditions, or Epoque Hotels it's partners { it takes 20 to 25 minuts to walk from the properties to the centry of town).
Mr name and address is David Jeal Brighton U.K..

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

i were with my husband in Riad shama last december for the new year's eve, our stay was incredible , the staff was amazing as well, we spent the most beautiful holidays in our entire life, thank you nezha for the delicious morcoccan food and we'll be back next year for sure

Love u all

Michel

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Shama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Shama

Address: 22 Taht sour Ikbir | Zaouia Abbassia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#85 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#156 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Shama 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Shama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Shama Marrakech
Riad Shama Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Shama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.