We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Riad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Elma

Save Saved
You added Dar Elma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Elma
81 Derb Sidi Bouamar | Riad Larousse, Marrakech 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #543 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Riad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at the Dar Elma and went half board, the food was very good and the ladies working in the Riad were very friendly.
The only bad point about this riad is that you can hear everything, we spoke in whispers at night as to not disturb the other guests, you can hear everything so if you are wanting a lie in past 8am then this isn't really the place for you.
The positioning of the riad is very central but bring a good map and expect to get lost as Marrakech doesn't have many street names or sign posts.
I would recommend this Riad to people who want a true moroccan experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    24
    9
    7
    1
See reviews for
10
41
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there a couple of nights during our visit to Marrakesh last year. The service was good, they picked us at the airport ( which youhave to request in advance and pay an extra) which was awesome as we arrived at midnight and they offered us fresh mint tea upon arrival to the hotel.. the room was clean and well decorated but a bit small.. I the morning we had a good breakfast in the terrace.. overall very good and well recommended

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you stay at Dar Elma or its sister property L'heure d'Ete you will certainly meet Hassan. He's the one with the big smile. He speaks good English, is charming and personable, and has a great sense of humor. He divides his time between the two properties and is one of the friendliest and most helpful people I encountered during my 2 weeks in Morocco. He arranged a day tour of the souks for us, but can also arrange tours of any length to anywhere in all of Morocco. He's willing to do anything for you, all you have to do is ask.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This riad is beautifully presented, and the hospitality of the staff was very warm and welcoming. It is located in the medina of Marrakech, the old city. By staying here we were simultaneously immersed in the daily lives of Morrocans while having a peaceful oasis to stay in.

The staff, especially Hadija, made our stay exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble. She is fluent in French and English.

Our room was beautifully presented - clean, comfortable, and our room was of a generous size. We stayed in the water room, La Chambre d'Eau. The coffee and breakfasts tasted excellent and were a great start to a busy day. We highly recommend a hamam and a massage as well.

I would highly recommend staying here - this place is truly fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

This is a nice little riad with a pretty interior and a lovely roof terrace. The location is good and away from the noisy marketplace. The staff were friendly and offered a very warm welcome. The bed was comfortable and the riad was very quiet which meant we slept well.

However, the cleanliness of the room was a bit lacking and the towels were smelly and damp, we tried to get these changed by leaving them in the shower but they did not replace them. The breakfast was a bit skimpy with very small portions and for some reason we were asked to settle the bill halfway through our stay which was a little weird.

All in all, our stay here was nice and a pleasant way to start our trip through Morocco.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

In a nutshell, I'd go back for more!

Me and a friend booked the spa package which I believe you can book direct through their website (we did so through an agent). It involved one hour of treatments for three days and was incredibly reasonably priced.

The Riad prefers a modern style over traditional Morroccan style. The rooms are minimally decorated with fresh white linen/duvets and comfortable pillows. The rooms are decorated according to elements theme (Earth, Water, Fire etc). We stayed in Water which was a twin room with white and blues. The bathroom was sufficient but smelt a little bit odd (but that's the only fault I could name).

We arranged a meal in the Riad. It was not bad at all. Breakfast was a lovely affair on the roof and the meal set you up for the day.

The "pool" is really a dipping "square" in the small central courtyard.

What sets this Riad apart is that its very female friendly! The guard in the evening even accompanied us to the nearest point to pick up a taxi. Would recommend this place for ladies travelling in a group!

Would definitely recommend. You might want to hire the whole place for a party of 5+

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

I was so turned off by our poor experience at Dar Elma, that I had to write a review in order to encourage others to stay elsewhere. The rude attitude of the manager here bordered on offensive and turned what should have been a lovely stay, into one that we couldn't wait to end. Although the rest of the staff was warm and accommodating, the manager set the tone for the entire stay. She acted as if it was a terrible inconvenience to have us there.

The rooms here are very small and plain for the rate; however the patio and rooftop terrace are very nice. There are so many beautiful, authentic Riads in Marrakesh that offer far more welcoming and sincere service, as well as much better value for your money.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Elma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Elma

Address: 81 Derb Sidi Bouamar | Riad Larousse, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #543 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Dar Elma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Elma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.