We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why I'd go to Dar Elma Again and Again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Elma

Save Saved
You added Dar Elma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Elma
81 Derb Sidi Bouamar | Riad Larousse, Marrakech 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #542 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Wiltshre UK
1 review
“Why I'd go to Dar Elma Again and Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2008

Arrived tired after a long drive and were welcomed warmly. The tranquility of this Riad is wonderful and yet it's only a few minutes walk from the hubbub of the markets.

Our rooms were comfortable, clean and well-equipped and we found the staff extraordinarily helpful and hospitable - courteous, friendly and amiable all at once.

We particularly liked the cool quietness of the pool area inside Dar Elma and after a hard day walking round the souks and avoiding the motorbikes that whizz in and out of all the alleyways, to sit down at a table and have a drink was blissfully soothing.

Breakfast was something else - climbing up the elegant stairs to the roof terrace to bask in the early morning sun and enjoy a coffee made an excellent start to the day.

What didn't we like? Well, it was quite hard to find really and some clearer instructions - perhaps even a sketch map - would help. But I'm not sure whether Dar Elma or our travel agent should have supplied that. As it was, a number of small lads led us all the way to the door and expected an enormous "fee" for doing so. However, we'd been in Morocco for a week by then and knew what the going rate was: always a lot less than you get asked for!

Go to Dar Elma and you'll feel fresh and alert after a good night's sleep, ready to tackle the traders and enjoy Jama' El Fna.

  • Liked — Tranquillity
  • Disliked — Access, but then all Marrakech is confusing.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    24
    9
    7
    1
See reviews for
10
41
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2007

We stayed in this Riad over a long weekend and it was definitely a very good choice! The rooms are lovely and the other areas of the riad (dining area, tv room and rooftop) are just as nice! It is lovely and peaceful and the staff are very hospitable and helpful! There is a hammam in this riad, unfortunately we didnt get the chance to try it!

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2007

Flying in from London was arduous and so our first morning was spent on in the calm of Dar Elma's roof-top terasse. Entering the Dar Elma was such a relief after a long day starting at 4am. After a day of serenely sitting in the sun and drinking tea on the terasse, we chose to make use of the hammam and a massage. This was a key selling point of the riad and we were very glad to experience it in such luxurious conditions. In terms of value-for money, Dar Elma is really hands down! The internal courtyard it is beautifully redone, the rooms are spacious and the hosts are both kind and considerate. If you book a dinner there, it is both high quality and has a real home-made feel. It is centrally placed, down a warren of picturesque alleys in a family neighoubrhood. All of the local residents are very friendly and welcoming. All of the key sites are within a 15-20 minute walk. Although in reality, hanging out and relaxing on the terasse is a must after more than 15 minutes in the hustle-and-bustle of Marrakech. So if you're interested in staying at a great riad with a caring and attentive staff, good food and a in a superly done location try Dar Elma!

  • Liked — Hammam, massage and great staff
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marrakech
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2007

This was the last accomodation of what turned out to be a rather stressful 14 night holiday. We received a lovely warm welcome. The room was beautifully decorated with one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in although the noise prevented us from getting a good nights sleep. It was impossible to nap during the day as there is a lot of building work going on next door and in the vicinity. It wasn't to difficult to find compared to some of the other Riads. Breakfast was very dissapointing with a large breadcake, something greasy from the frying pan and a plain yoghurt every day. We left breakfast feeling very dehydrated as we didn't like the sugary mint tea and asked for coffeee. We were served carefully measured two espresso sized cups of coffee in a large tea pot, the orange juice was only the size of a small sherry glass. Everything we asked for we were told 'no problem' but we felt as though it was really. We felt as though we were intruding in somebody's private house as the owners had all their meals there. everything they did for us (eg. phoning for a taxi to the airport, 7 euros) had a price and was put on the bill. We weren't allowed in the kitchen to make tea and had to wait until they were ready to make it. We weren't given clean towels in four nights and although we noticed robes in the cupboard, we weren't provided with them.

  • Liked — The decor and the very comfortable bed.
  • Disliked — The hidden etra costs and stinginess of the breakfast.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2007

My husband and I stayed at this Riad in the center of the Medina for 4 days. The hosts, a young couple from Paris, were absolutely amazing. They were always available and ready to fulfill our wishes and extremely professional. They understand the needs of customers and go out of their way to ensure that customers have a fantastic stay. Whether you want to relax or go visit sites, they will cater for anything.
The cook is absolutely amazing. I spent the whole day watching her cook and was amazed. There is also no risk of getting food poisoning as she very carefully selects the vegetables from the market (trip to which you can also go if you like) and thoroughly washes them. She cooks excellent traditional moroccan food as she would for her own family and it never failed to satisfy us and other customers staying at the riad.
The beautician is also a gem. She speaks french fluently and understands quite a bit of english too. Her massages are fantastic and a step above what I have had done in many other places. She will also give you a hammam upon request which I highly recommend. She is professional and unobstrusive but also keen to chat if you fancy.
The rooms were very comfortable and what you would expect from a traditional riad. They have the most amazing roof garden at the top where we spent most of our time in, whether it was for breakfast or to chill out on the comfy sofas with a fresh pot of mint tea and traditional morcoccan sweets. Heaven.

Overall, 10 stars to this new little riad who is great value for money.

  • Liked — the service from the Dar Elma team
  • Disliked — The occasional smell of sewage
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2007

We are just coming back from a great five nights stay at the Dar Elma Riad in Marrakech.
The Riad is very well located (in the centre of the Medina) and we managed to reach every interesting places of Marrakech, just by walking.
This typical Moroccan Riad has been recently renovated and decorated with an excellent taste by its owners, Virginie and Lionel, a friendly French couple.
It has a nice terrace overlooking the Medina where we enjoyed taking our breakfasts or lying in the sun and a small Hammam with massages provided by a skilled employee.
A Moroccan cook is also available at anytime if you wish to have a quiet and typical dinner at the Riad, highly recommended after a day spent in the noisy souks (just five minutes walk from the riad).
The owners were very helpful in providing tips on what to visit, where to buy the best spices or arts and crafts, etc…
Christine Naslin
To summarize: a great place to stay at reasonable price, if you want to be in the heart of Marrakech, in a typical Moroccan house and relax (hammam, Jacuzzi, massages) in a peaceful and friendly environment.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Elma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Elma

Address: 81 Derb Sidi Bouamar | Riad Larousse, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #542 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Dar Elma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Elma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.