We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Due

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Due to your Saves list
Riad Due
2 Riad Laarousse, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #166 of 1,060 Marrakech B&B and Inns
galveston, tx
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Riad Due is located in the Old Medina, Riad Larouse. The staff were friendly and pleasant and the decor was impressive. There are 4 suites/rooms, a kitchen, rooftop terrace, very small central pool, outdoor central sitting/eating area. There is a bit of a walk from the nearest taxi drop-off point which is very congested during the day with a lot of for traffic and speeding mopeds. Unfortunately, our suite was so incredibly hot that the first night we did not sleep since the AC was not working. The second night was still so hot that we had to sleep in the central courtyard to try and catch a breeze. Again, we could not sleep due to the noise and discomfort. The third night we chose to try the room again and leave the door to the suite open. In addition, we had massages in our rooms that were booked by the staff. The exchange rate was 8.6 MAD per USD. However, I was told that the "hotel exchange rate" was 7 MAD per USD. After being haggled to death during our stay in Casablanca, I was hoping the experience in Marrakech would be different. I did not feel that the staff at Riad Due were protective of us. Instead they were also interested in the kickbacks that is typical of Moroccan service personel. Finally, the availability of food is very limited, there is no TV and the lighting in the rooms was extremely poor. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
49
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Another Very sweet, calm and tranquil space, wonderful staff- Emanuela, Rashid, Roselin, and the lovely lady who helped with my laundry (please forgive me if my spekllings are wrong!)Thank you all! The staff were so gracious, and helful, and even made me a special breakfast cake, helped me book my Hamman, was very very kind in their assistance. Highly recommend this Riad.
.

Room Tip: it was a plunge pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

When you arrive from the heat and craziness of the Medina. Your welcomed by a wonderful calm and the friendly staff of Riad Due. Our suite was amazing ,beautiful features and very comftable . Food was really tasty. Cant recommend getting a guide enough, Mustafa the official guide was great and we really enjoyed spending the day with him taking in the sights of Marrakech.
The staff were very helpful and nothing was any trouble and they also gave you plenty of space.
10 out 10 experience .

Room Tip: The suits down stairs are worth the extra cost as they stay cool day and night. We didn't need a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We went there on honeymoon in Sept 11, but have only just got around to writing the review. It was absolutely outstanding! Great location - very easy to get into the souks of Marrakech, and the staff are INCREDIBLY helpful. They cooked a fabulous dinner for my wife and I to eat in the open air, on top of the Riad, watching the sun set over the city - VERY romantic!! They also found a guide to show us around the town, who was extremely knowledgeable, and spoke excellent English.

This is a really great spot - calm, luxurious, stunning, and a perfect spot from which to explore the Medina. Booked through Mr & Mrs Smith, who were, as always, totally efficient.

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite Zan - the biggest bedroom I've ever slept in! But they all look good - and v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We can't praise this Riad and the wonderful team enough. We were 6 lively blonds on our first trip to Marrakech and a little unsure of what to expect. Khalid (the wonderful man who runs the Riad) met us from the taxi to take our bags and we followed him the short walk to the Riad - and were greeted by Ghizlaine with mint tea. The team of 3 are all absolutely fantastic, nothing is too much trouble, Ghizlaine and the lady that cooks are so lovely and gracious and they all make your stay a very special experience.

The Riad is so lovely and clean and the rooms very spacious, we had the 2 rooms on the first floor and had 3 in each room, but even so they still felt huge and the beds/pillows/duvets are all really comfortable. There are only another 2 rooms on the ground floor which I believe are just as nice as the ones we had.

Khalid looked after us so well - nothing was a problem for him. We ate at the Riad the first night of our stay which was delicious and beautiful surroundings. And on the other 2 nights Khalid would book our chosen restaurants for us and then walk us there and even comes back at the end of our evening to take us home - we felt so safe. The list goes on of the amount of things he did to make our stay special, from the arranging of a guide/camel ride/Hamamm to all the trips up and down the steps to the terrace with our drinks ( cause the lift was broken ) not a problem for us - but must have been for them carrying all our supplies :) but they always carried a smile, so friendly and chatty.

This is a great place to stay for anyone - but any groups of girlfriends who are planning a trip to Marrakech who think they may feel a little vulnerable then this is ideal as we felt very safe and secure knowing that Khalid was there to look after us.

We had such a fun time it was very sad to leave and have promised Khalid that we will all return one day to visit him and his team again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemyock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I agree with everything that the other reviewers have said. The riad was beautiful, calm and luxurious. Our room was spacious and comfortable, although it was a little odd that the bathroom was only partitioned off, not a separate room. Breakfasts were delicious, leaning towards the French style of cooking rather than the Arabic, with pancakes and French bread on offer. The staff were extremely helpful and the location is perfect. Good value for money too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Riad Due is centrally placed in the Medina making it a great base from which to explore Marrakech. The Riad is well looked after by a very friendly team for which nothing was too much trouble and they helped us book a guide and a trip out to the Atlas mountains. The suites were lovely - well taken care of - and very comfortable. Breakfast was different each of the 4 mornings we were there (with loads of food each time) and we also had a great dinner one evening. We would certainly recommend Riad Due.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Due? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Due

Address: 2 Riad Laarousse, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 1,060 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the souk area in the old medina of Marraekch. Riad Due is a fusion between modernity and traditional style of the riads. Developed around an elegant patio with a central plunge pull. Fabulous location and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Due reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Due Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Due, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.