We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly calm from the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Due

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Due to your Saves list
Riad Due
2 Riad Laarousse, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #153 of 1,065 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Heavenly calm from the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

When you arrive from the heat and craziness of the Medina. Your welcomed by a wonderful calm and the friendly staff of Riad Due. Our suite was amazing ,beautiful features and very comftable . Food was really tasty. Cant recommend getting a guide enough, Mustafa the official guide was great and we really enjoyed spending the day with him taking in the sights of Marrakech.
The staff were very helpful and nothing was any trouble and they also gave you plenty of space.
10 out 10 experience .

Room Tip: The suits down stairs are worth the extra cost as they stay cool day and night. We didn't need a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
50
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We went there on honeymoon in Sept 11, but have only just got around to writing the review. It was absolutely outstanding! Great location - very easy to get into the souks of Marrakech, and the staff are INCREDIBLY helpful. They cooked a fabulous dinner for my wife and I to eat in the open air, on top of the Riad, watching the sun set over the city - VERY romantic!! They also found a guide to show us around the town, who was extremely knowledgeable, and spoke excellent English.

This is a really great spot - calm, luxurious, stunning, and a perfect spot from which to explore the Medina. Booked through Mr & Mrs Smith, who were, as always, totally efficient.

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite Zan - the biggest bedroom I've ever slept in! But they all look good - and v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We can't praise this Riad and the wonderful team enough. We were 6 lively blonds on our first trip to Marrakech and a little unsure of what to expect. Khalid (the wonderful man who runs the Riad) met us from the taxi to take our bags and we followed him the short walk to the Riad - and were greeted by Ghizlaine with mint tea. The team of 3 are all absolutely fantastic, nothing is too much trouble, Ghizlaine and the lady that cooks are so lovely and gracious and they all make your stay a very special experience.

The Riad is so lovely and clean and the rooms very spacious, we had the 2 rooms on the first floor and had 3 in each room, but even so they still felt huge and the beds/pillows/duvets are all really comfortable. There are only another 2 rooms on the ground floor which I believe are just as nice as the ones we had.

Khalid looked after us so well - nothing was a problem for him. We ate at the Riad the first night of our stay which was delicious and beautiful surroundings. And on the other 2 nights Khalid would book our chosen restaurants for us and then walk us there and even comes back at the end of our evening to take us home - we felt so safe. The list goes on of the amount of things he did to make our stay special, from the arranging of a guide/camel ride/Hamamm to all the trips up and down the steps to the terrace with our drinks ( cause the lift was broken ) not a problem for us - but must have been for them carrying all our supplies :) but they always carried a smile, so friendly and chatty.

This is a great place to stay for anyone - but any groups of girlfriends who are planning a trip to Marrakech who think they may feel a little vulnerable then this is ideal as we felt very safe and secure knowing that Khalid was there to look after us.

We had such a fun time it was very sad to leave and have promised Khalid that we will all return one day to visit him and his team again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemyock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I agree with everything that the other reviewers have said. The riad was beautiful, calm and luxurious. Our room was spacious and comfortable, although it was a little odd that the bathroom was only partitioned off, not a separate room. Breakfasts were delicious, leaning towards the French style of cooking rather than the Arabic, with pancakes and French bread on offer. The staff were extremely helpful and the location is perfect. Good value for money too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Riad Due is centrally placed in the Medina making it a great base from which to explore Marrakech. The Riad is well looked after by a very friendly team for which nothing was too much trouble and they helped us book a guide and a trip out to the Atlas mountains. The suites were lovely - well taken care of - and very comfortable. Breakfast was different each of the 4 mornings we were there (with loads of food each time) and we also had a great dinner one evening. We would certainly recommend Riad Due.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

From our first step out of the cab till our final goodbyes, we were treated as welcomed house guests by the staff here. Our hostess and host were warm, gracious, and ready to help, always there when we needed something. The riad is gorgeous -- serene and beautiful -- with a wonderful rooftop terrace with views to the Atlas Mountains, and perfectly located in the Medina, about 15 minutes from Jemaa al Fna, very near some museums and the souks, and two minutes to a taxi stand. The two dinners we had there were marvelous. We, too, hate to let the world in on this lovely riad, but they deserve the praise.

Room Tip: We had the smallest room -- there are just four -- and it was very big. The bathroom was small but p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

I am reluctant to write a review about this place, because it is a gem, and sefishly I wouldn't want too many people to find it. That said, I am a businessman and I know how important it is for businesses to get the reviews they deserve, far too often this portal is used by uneducated traverlers in the wrong way.

I cannot rave about this place enough. It is an oasis, from the moment you arrive. It is small, intimate, and if you are lucky you might get the place to yourself, as did I, my partner and my family. We booked 3 out of the 4 rooms for our stay.

It is designed tastefully, is spotlessly clean and all of the staff fall over backwards to help. When I was there , the team was headed up by a gentleman called Lido, he lives in the Riad too and is always on hand for advice, assistant or even just a chat. You are made to feel as if this is your own home. The rest of the team are great too, the cook and the housekeeper. Standards are impeccable. My thanks, Lido especially too you but also to all the team.

The company that runs them, also has a number of other small Riads in the medina that you can choose from. My first visit was to Riad 72 , great place also and an amazing roof terrace fro breakfast.

Great place, can't wait to return

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Due? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Due

Address: 2 Riad Laarousse, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 1,065 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the souk area in the old medina of Marraekch. Riad Due is a fusion between modernity and traditional style of the riads. Developed around an elegant patio with a central plunge pull. Fabulous location and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Due reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Due Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Due, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.