We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and peace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Altair

Save Saved
You added Riad Altair to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Riad Altair
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   21 derb Zaouia | Bab Doukkala Mosquée, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #131 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Comfort and peace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had a lovely stay at Riad Altair for a week. Within the hectic Medina, but situated down a quiet street, our accommodation gave us respite and a place to relax and unwind after daily adventures. The walk to Jemaa El Fna is only 10-15 minutes, with no problems walking in the area in the evening as there is a lot of foot traffic on the roads leading to the Riad.

The staff at Riad Altair were the high point with Abdel and Bader going out of their way to make sure that we were enjoying our stay, and offering opinions on things to see, do and eat in and around Marrakech.

The Riad itself is a very comfortable place to relax in rooms, on the terrace overlooking the mountains, or in the common areas with log fire during the chilly winter evenings. Rooms were a good size, and well maintained each day.

Breakfast is advertised as continental, but was way more substantial with varied extras each day on top of the coffee, orange juice, yoghurt and fresh bread/croissants. We only tried the set menu evening meal once as there were so many places to eat locally, but that was tasty and traditional local food that I would recommend but expensive compared to local eateries. Alcohol is not available at the Riad, but can be brought in to drink with meals.

There is a mosque very close to the Riad, so a pair of earplugs is useful if you don't want to be woken up a couple of times before 7am.

Thanks to the staff for making our stay in Marrakeck so enjoyable and easy.

Room Tip: The first floor (4 of the 6 rooms) seems the quietest. With the ground floor room being near where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    283
    47
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
39
188
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Good location in the Medina, super service, very intim. Special. Maby because this was a riad and not a common hotel. One of the best location I ever have been, the staff is very attentive! I would warmly recomand this riad!

Room Tip: All rooms are different from ach other but all are very nice, individual styled
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed here for a 3 nights deal with BA.com and the place looks exactly as in the picture nice& cosy. The staff were the best of all, who were very helpful and gave us tips on how to cope in town! 10 minute walk to the Medina the old town which is good as you can go to the market have a look or buy but you'll have to be ready to haggle...I will definitely. Breakfast was amazingly fresh and so were teh cookies we ate every night :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stayed at Riad Altair for 4 nights last November. We arrived during the evening rush hour in Marrakesh which was very hectic to say the least!! We expected this as had read lots of reviews and as the other reviewers say, when you arrive at the riad it is an oasis of calm. We were greeted by Badar who made us feel right at home, offered us refreshments, and gave us the low down of do's and dont's and where to go etc etc. We ate that evening in the riad, which was lovely and we took our own wine which they served with the meal (they don't sell alcohol though, so take your own if you wish).

We stayed in the room on the ground floor which was a bit noisy in the morning, but there are only 6 rooms in the riad so its not exactly Picadilly Circus! The bathroom looks great, with a very Moroccan feel, but the sunken bath is so huge the hot water runs out when it is only a inch full!

Breakfast each morning consisted of croissants, fruit, scrambled egg etc and was always very tasty and filling.

The roof terrace has sun loungers and chairs and is a great place to have a drink and read a book before or after you brave the crowds of the square!

If ever we needed anything Badar was on hand to help us out, he is very helpful and efficient without being overbearing. We only saw Abdel a couple of times but he was very helpful and friendly too.

The only thing I wasn't keen on was the call to prayer in the morning. I was aware of the mosque next door and didn't think it would be a problem, but they do it at about 4.30am and 5.30am and it goes on for about 3 mins each time! A bit annoying when you are in a nice deep sleep, but I like experiencing new countries and cultures and that's all part of it I guess!

The great thing about this riad is that is away down an alley way away from the crowds, but only about a minute's walk so no chance of getting lost. It's about 10 mins walk from Jemaa El Fna square and the route is easy.

I can thoroughly recommend this riad!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We found this location to be an excellent Riad in Marrakech. We arrived early evening, and were given mint tea & homemade biscuits whilst the Manager explained all about the Riad (small hotel). The room was spacious, & comfortable, and had a lovely bathroom. We had breakfast in the central area which was light and airy. The breakfasts were all excellent and were too much for us to eat. The staff were excellent, friendly, attentive, helpful and knowledgeable of the town. It is with their help that we visited certain places. We arranged to have a late lunch on our last day at the Riad which was delicious, well presented and reasonable. Our room was on the ground floor and our only criticism was on one occasion when people were smoking in the central area which comes into the room. It would be better to allow smoking just on the terraces. We would definitely recommend this venue to anyone wanting a break from the hectic city.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlingford, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

The Riad Altair is like a peaceful paradise in the middle of Marrakesh Medina, in walking distance to everything you want to see in in the city. Super clean, comfortable and secure, the hole staff is extremely nice and helpful. Abdel and Badar will organise anything you need 24 h a day.

The traditional Moroccan style rooms are very romantic, breakfast is delicious and very well presented and slightly different every day.

I will definitely recommend it to all my friends!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Super place, great staff, lovely room and fantastic views of the snowy tipped Atlas Mountains from the roof terrace. The breakfasts are varied, well made and presented and very filling. The one evening meal we had was also of high quality. The Riad was kept fastidiously clean, security was spot on and the place exudes tranquillity and peacefulness, in fact the whole experience was brilliant; except.... When we arrived, after trailing down the alley in the pouring rain we were informed there was not a room available. The management had arranged accommodation and a free dinner for my wife and I on the other side of Marrakech for two nights and then back to Riad Altair. So a wait for a taxi, then back into the rain and across town to the Riad Aladdin. We were not made over welcome, hurried through a cold dinner because service had closed, and so to our room. And what a lovely room it was, all you would expect from a Marrakech Riad. But we were above the kitchen, and as soon as the five o'clock prayers had finished the loudest cook in the world started up. Add to this the very noisy plumbing and we were not at all amused. We mentioned these points to the staff and were greeted with a polite smile but no action.
Two days later we were back in Altair where we could make a fair comparison. Altair wins hands down. Abdel advised us to book direct with them if we return, and next year we will..
I should mention we booked this holiday through British Airways and the whole experience, flights, transfers and Altair were spot on, they are investigating our problem with the lack of a room as I write.

Room Tip: First floor rooms appear quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Altair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Altair

Address: 21 derb Zaouia | Bab Doukkala Mosquée, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Altair 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Riad Altair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Altair Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Altair, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.