We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant - lovely place, great service, very relaxing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Altair

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Altair to your Saves list
Riad Altair
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   21, derb Zaouia | Mosquée de Bab Doukkal, Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 1,149 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant - lovely place, great service, very relaxing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed here with boyfriend for 7 nights. Right from the word go we were made to feel very welcome and at home. The Riad is small with only 6 rooms so its very relaxed and service feels personal. The rooms were really well decorated & great ensuite. Felt very at ease about security of the room.

As for the January climate - we were lucky to have 5/7 days of sun, but it was cold and wet on the other two. The Riad has plenty of heaters though and a cover over the courtyard during winter so it can still be fully enjoyed. The split level roof terrace was a great place for sunbathing and reading, whilst downstairs there are areas to sit in and around the courtyard and a lounge area with an open fire in the evenings.

We had dinner in the Riad twice when we stayed - the food was fantastic - the best we experienced, and tables are set up in the central courtyard - candles and rose petals, great service, and although they don't serve alcohol at the Riad, you can buy wine, etc from the new town area nearby for meals or drinks on the roof terrace.

The breakfasts are fantastic - fresh fruit, juice, coffee, eggs and pastries, etc - either in the courtyard or in the sun on the roof terrace.

The location is great - 10-15 min walk to the main square, and a good place to walk to & experience the new town too. Easy to find as well (once you've been shown the first time!). Would recommend booking the transfer with the hotel. The guys loitering in the nearby alley should not be an intimidation either (as i read previously) - all they're interested in is getting free wifi!

I would thoroughly recommend the Riad Altair for your visit - it is both a special treat to stay here, as well as feeling as comfortable & relaxed as home - a refuge from the madness of the city & its souks!

Room Tip: 6 rooms in total - best to choose one of the 4 on the first floor. There is then one located on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We spent four nights here and agree with others on the lovely reception from all of the staff. Abdel speaks English and is always on hand and ready to help. One room is situated on the ground floor and opens onto the communal area, one is on the roof and the others are around the first floor balcony. Our room, on the roof, was clean and comfortable with plenty of hot water to the shower whenever needed. The call to prayer could be heard in the room but was never a problem for us. Enjoy the experience of Marrakech.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank micra50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed here for four nights and can only say what a lovely place with a warm and friendly staff - fantastic stay altogether! Would love to be back there soon for a much longer period. Thanks Abdel and Badr!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tain, Ross-shire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

What a lovely experience staying at the Altair. From the moment we arrived, we were treated with a real personal touch by the warm' friendly staff. We had the Deneb room on the gallery (they are all named after stars), which was simply but elegantly furnished. Bathroom was spacious, with a good hot shower. My only complaint was the pillows were a little firm for my liking.

Breakfast was a triumph. Freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit, homemade crepes and fresh bread, with variations each day, such as eggs, served in the beautiful, sunlit courtyard.

We visited in winter, and the lounge had a nice log fire, which was welcome on the chilly evenings.

We ordered an evening meal on one night (this needs to be done in the morning). It was a three course set menu at 20 Euros. More expensive than could be found in local restaurants, but excellently prepared, and with the same smiling service.

The Riad is located right in the heart of the Medina, within a couple of minutes' walk of the souks. You have to walk a 100 metres or so from the nearest road, but the staff help with your luggage. It is right next to a mosque. The downside of this is the call to prayer at 4.00 and 6.00 am, but we didn't mind as it's part of the atmosphere of Marrakech.

This Riad is excellent in many ways, but the stand-out feature is the staff. They clearly share the owner's vision for the type of experience they wish to create, and do so with style and flair.

I have a feeling we'll be back!

Room Tip: Probably best to avoid the downstairs bedroom if you like a lie-in. It opens directly onto the brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We rested at this hotel with my husband in September for 7 days. Hotel very much. We always choose a hotel on the principle of location, service, price. This hotel was all wonderful. The breakfasts are good, every morning orange juice, fresh yogurt, fruit and pastries. The hotel staff we organized excursions to the Atlas Mountains and Essaouira. I thank them very much.
Dinner must be ordered the day before, it was not very convenient.
I hope next time to stay in this hotel again. Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank I-Zhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here in Jan 2014 for 4 nights. During our stay we didn't have a single complaint about the riad. Everything was spotlessly clean and comfortable and the staff are friendly and amazingly helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. While it's not the most extravagant or luxury riad in Marrakech, it has an understated and relaxed charm to it and the simplicity of the interior makes it a very calm place to be in the madness of Marrakech.

Breakfast was more than enough and varied every day with fresh fruit, yoghurt, honey, bread, pastries and sometimes eggs or cake. We had the room called Sirius on the first floor which was beautiful and had a massive bath.

As other ppl have said, the riad doesn't sell alcohol, but you can bring it in with the receipt and they'll chill it for you. You can then enjoy it in front of the fire (if it's still winter!) or on the roof terraces.

We found the location perfect for exploring the city but were glad we booked the airport transfer as it took so much stress out of the trip. Things can be very hard to find in Marrakech as there are so many winding alleyways!

The best thing about this place really is the staff. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I called the Riad from England to check that we had a room with a bath as I know it can get cold in the evenings. I was assured that we did indeed have a room with a bath but nobody mentioned that the tank was only large enough to fill it with 3 inches of hot water and that this was the same in all the rooms with baths. They also only had hand held shower attachments and no curtain so you have to sit in the cold bath to have a shower. Why wasn't I told this when I booked? They refunded my 170 dirham from the taxi ride but still no bath.
Apart from that the Riad is lovely inside and furnished with style. Really delicious breakfast and the staff are the most charming and helpful ever.
We arrived late so arranged to have dinner that night in advance which worked really well. The food here is some of the most delicious food that you can eat in Marrakech, excellent value with fantastic service. If you want alcohol don't forget to buy it beforehand.
Do ask them to organise to collect you from the airport as it is much easier and cheaper.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank candycandy1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,487 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#4 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 780 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#40 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 783 reviews
4.3 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Altair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Altair

Address: 21, derb Zaouia | Mosquée de Bab Doukkal, Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 1,149 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Altair 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for rest and relaxation … named after the main star in the Eagle constellation, Riad Altair and its devoted staff provide pleasure and tranquillity. From high on the roof terrace, You have a 360° view of the Red City, while the patio and pond are a cool oasis in the heat of the day. 6 air-conditioned rooms each with a private with safe Wifi throughout the riad. We organise private functions of all kinds (birthdays, events etc). Discreet, attentive staff to meet all needs. Elegant, restrained decor. Just by the tree-filled patio and the Plunge Pool there is a winter sitting room with an open fireplace, various summer sitting rooms, 6 air-conditioned bedrooms, and terraced sunbathing areas. We are always happy to help you explore the Red City and its surroundings.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riad Altair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Altair Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing