We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Altair

Save Saved
You added Riad Altair to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Altair
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   21 derb Zaouia | Bab Doukkala Mosquée, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #124 of 1,043 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We spent four nights here and agree with others on the lovely reception from all of the staff. Abdel speaks English and is always on hand and ready to help. One room is situated on the ground floor and opens onto the communal area, one is on the roof and the others are around the first floor balcony. Our room, on the roof, was clean and comfortable with plenty of hot water to the shower whenever needed. The call to prayer could be heard in the room but was never a problem for us. Enjoy the experience of Marrakech.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    282
    46
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
39
188
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed here for four nights and can only say what a lovely place with a warm and friendly staff - fantastic stay altogether! Would love to be back there soon for a much longer period. Thanks Abdel and Badr!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tain, Ross-shire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

What a lovely experience staying at the Altair. From the moment we arrived, we were treated with a real personal touch by the warm' friendly staff. We had the Deneb room on the gallery (they are all named after stars), which was simply but elegantly furnished. Bathroom was spacious, with a good hot shower. My only complaint was the pillows were a little firm for my liking.

Breakfast was a triumph. Freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit, homemade crepes and fresh bread, with variations each day, such as eggs, served in the beautiful, sunlit courtyard.

We visited in winter, and the lounge had a nice log fire, which was welcome on the chilly evenings.

We ordered an evening meal on one night (this needs to be done in the morning). It was a three course set menu at 20 Euros. More expensive than could be found in local restaurants, but excellently prepared, and with the same smiling service.

The Riad is located right in the heart of the Medina, within a couple of minutes' walk of the souks. You have to walk a 100 metres or so from the nearest road, but the staff help with your luggage. It is right next to a mosque. The downside of this is the call to prayer at 4.00 and 6.00 am, but we didn't mind as it's part of the atmosphere of Marrakech.

This Riad is excellent in many ways, but the stand-out feature is the staff. They clearly share the owner's vision for the type of experience they wish to create, and do so with style and flair.

I have a feeling we'll be back!

Room Tip: Probably best to avoid the downstairs bedroom if you like a lie-in. It opens directly onto the brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We rested at this hotel with my husband in September for 7 days. Hotel very much. We always choose a hotel on the principle of location, service, price. This hotel was all wonderful. The breakfasts are good, every morning orange juice, fresh yogurt, fruit and pastries. The hotel staff we organized excursions to the Atlas Mountains and Essaouira. I thank them very much.
Dinner must be ordered the day before, it was not very convenient.
I hope next time to stay in this hotel again. Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here in Jan 2014 for 4 nights. During our stay we didn't have a single complaint about the riad. Everything was spotlessly clean and comfortable and the staff are friendly and amazingly helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. While it's not the most extravagant or luxury riad in Marrakech, it has an understated and relaxed charm to it and the simplicity of the interior makes it a very calm place to be in the madness of Marrakech.

Breakfast was more than enough and varied every day with fresh fruit, yoghurt, honey, bread, pastries and sometimes eggs or cake. We had the room called Sirius on the first floor which was beautiful and had a massive bath.

As other ppl have said, the riad doesn't sell alcohol, but you can bring it in with the receipt and they'll chill it for you. You can then enjoy it in front of the fire (if it's still winter!) or on the roof terraces.

We found the location perfect for exploring the city but were glad we booked the airport transfer as it took so much stress out of the trip. Things can be very hard to find in Marrakech as there are so many winding alleyways!

The best thing about this place really is the staff. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I called the Riad from England to check that we had a room with a bath as I know it can get cold in the evenings. I was assured that we did indeed have a room with a bath but nobody mentioned that the tank was only large enough to fill it with 3 inches of hot water and that this was the same in all the rooms with baths. They also only had hand held shower attachments and no curtain so you have to sit in the cold bath to have a shower. Why wasn't I told this when I booked? They refunded my 170 dirham from the taxi ride but still no bath.
Apart from that the Riad is lovely inside and furnished with style. Really delicious breakfast and the staff are the most charming and helpful ever.
We arrived late so arranged to have dinner that night in advance which worked really well. The food here is some of the most delicious food that you can eat in Marrakech, excellent value with fantastic service. If you want alcohol don't forget to buy it beforehand.
Do ask them to organise to collect you from the airport as it is much easier and cheaper.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had a lovely time at this Riad. They welcome you with some typical Moroccan pastisserie and mint tea and the breakfasts (included in the price) are simply delicious! (And massive ;))
As for our room, it was clean, the bed being the best (big and so comfortable), BUT I must say it's very simple. Don't harbour big expectations in that regard. I only have a slightly negative comment here about the room: the toilet (with a shower, not tub) was separated from the rest of the room by a curtain... I even mentioned it in our customer satisfaction survey. Oh, forgot to mention our room was Algedi, maybe the rest don't have that inconvenience...
There are two very nice (and warm at midday in January) terraces where you can enjoy the views and the sun!

Finally, there's sth important you must know: it really can be irritating but in the end for us was even fun... Every night at around 2 and then 6 again muslims are called to pray from a nearby mosque and you'll have to hear the whole prayer every night. It'll wake you up but it lasts for 5 minutes so if you dont have trouble to sleep don't worry. I've even learnt a few versicles!
As a whole, my boyfriend and I were very pleased with our stay and would repeated if we came back. Oh and thanks to the wonderful staff! They make everything easier. We'll see you soon in sha Allah!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Altair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Altair

Address: 21 derb Zaouia | Bab Doukkala Mosquée, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 1,043 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Altair 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Riad Altair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Altair Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Altair, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.