We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Riad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Altair

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Altair to your Saves list
Riad Altair
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   21 derb Zaouia | Bab Doukkala Mosquée, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Riad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Spent a week at Riad Altair and it was a lovely place to stay. Close walking distance to the square. The staff are very helpful and go to great lenghts to ensure that you have a wonderful stay. The Riad itself is comfortable and the food when you eat there is delicious, but best of all is the breakfast, a little something different every morning. A great place to stay if you want a good restful holiday.

Room Tip: Get your room on the 2nd floor, lovely layout
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    52
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
42
205
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

stayed Friday to Monday here.........great location (everything is walkable from here), great Riad, lovely ambiance to the place and make sure you get a room on the first floor as its quieter.........just eat in the Riad, much cheaper and the food is really good......the people who work here are really helpful (look out for Badir! what a guy!)......get your feet in the plunge pool after 6 hours of walking in 40 degree heat its a godsend.......do the day trip to Essaouria which Riad will organise.......like night and day to Marrakech (chilled and laid back) and you can walk for miles along the beach.....eat fresh fish cooked in front of you at the market - for £12 we had red snapper, halibut, crab, shrimps, lobster and more etc with soft drinks.......Morrocco is safe and we had no hassle whatsoever apart from in the Souks but thats part of the fun........enjoy!!

Room Tip: 1st floor the best.......minimal noise..........ground floor would probably still be fine but you ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We spent a week at Riad Altair and loved it. It is such a beautiful building and the rooms are fantastic. The staff can't do enough for you and the breakfasts are just lovely. We went on the mountain trip organised by the riad and it was brilliant and really good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Recommended by our travel agent, we found the Riad Altair a perfect home base for seeing Marrakech and a day trip to Essaouira. The location makes everything within walking distance (though not in the hectic area), the property is nice, the rooms large and nicely appointed, and dinner in the hotel was convenient and good.

What sets it apart for me is the excellent service! Our two major contacts, Abdel and Badir are friendly and fun while always being professional and providing great service. I felt as if I were with family. I'd absolutely stay again!

Sidenote: There are many stray cats in the medina, and being an animal lover, it broke my heart to see them hungry. I named two, Marra and Kech, and brought food for them when I could. The cooks at the riad gave them milk and extra servings when I asked and that meant the world to me. Thank you, Riad Altair.

Room Tip: We stayed in the ground floor room and felt as if the courtyard was our personal space. Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed a week in Riad Altair, and we had a very good time. Very friendly yet discreet staff, good location, comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast and dinner. They also work together with a reliable travel agency for trips and airport transfer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dursley, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The riad is beautiful, so relaxing in the middle of a hectic city! The staff are fantastic- they are there when you need them, but not intrusive in any way. The rooms are chic, beautifully decorated and have everything you need. The breakfasts are lovely and can be taken in the courtyard or on the terrace. The terrace is a great place to relax in the sun.

It's close to both the new town and the old town- good location for all the attractions.

Overall- highly recommended. We really enjoyed our week in Marrakech at Riad Altair!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a 6 night stay and can highly recommend this riad, which is situated in a friendly part of the city. It is simple, but clean and has everything needed. Without exception, all the staff are helpful and friendly at all times, a credit to the establishment. The breakfasts are first class, with fresh orange juice, bread, pastries, honey, conserves, yoghurt and tea or coffee plus another different dish each day and can be taken in a shady inner area or on the sunny terrace. We ate dinner here for the first 2 nights, which were very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Altair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Altair

Address: 21 derb Zaouia | Bab Doukkala Mosquée, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Altair 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Altair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Altair Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Altair, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.