We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Altair

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Altair to your Saves list
Riad Altair
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   21 derb Zaouia | Bab Doukkala Mosquée, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My friend and I stayed here last June and thought this place was lovely. It had a great location for visiting the souks and the square and despite being located opposite a mosque, we were never woken once by the call to prayer first thing.

The riad was very luxurious, the rooms were gorgeous as were the communal areas and the rate we paid made it an absolute bargain. I would highly recommend for a romantic getaway and certainly have a meal there as the food and atmosphere were divine. There is also a hammam just around the corner (we didn't visit here so can't say if it was good or not, but its location was ideal for using whilst at the riad), so there's some spa luxury on your doorstep too.

Room Tip: There is a room on the ground floor, which is perfectly nice but I'd opt for one on the first fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    52
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
42
204
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Plus points - Food is excellent and Dinner is reasonably priced for a Riad, Breakfast - included in the B&B price is, again, first rate and served through until mid-day at least. Rooms are comfortable,
The staff are helpful and friendly, There is a sitting room / library with a fire in winter, There are six rooms which means the total number of guests is unlikely to overwhelm the facilities, there are ample terrace seating areas, the situation is ideal for access both to the Medina and to the New Town and supermarkets - for wine (Acima supermarket is a very easy stroll away - the cab fare we paid was 20 dr and we walked back in a few minutes),

Negatives - No in room tea or coffee making facilities - although free mint tea and western tea and coffee are readily available on request, not licenced - hence the stroll to the supermarket - but no problem with serving your own wines so a major plus on the cost side!, it is a B&B (a very nice B&B) so lacks the 'feel' of an hotel (again this could be a plus or a minus depending on one's viewpoint), sound carries - I would avoid the ground floor room which might be noisy with the wrong people sitting around the courtyard - during our stay in a first floor room we felt very 'involved' in a couple of late night conversations. There is a room on the upper terrace which I think I would vote for if revisiting.

General points - a typically sited Riad, down an alley and a tad daunting to find one's way about on the first trip however the Mosque acts as a good landmark and even I managed to get the hang of directions pretty swiftly. We experienced absolutely no harrassment from the locals - it may be that my permanent scowl and down at heel appearance had an influence here but my companion exudes apparent affluence and she had no problems whatever. I think that the situation is a major plus giving easy access on foot to both old and new city. I thoroughly recommend Riad Altair if you are looking for the Riad experience.

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We can only echo what previous guests have said, it's beautiful, comfy rooms, staff couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful.
It was the perfect retreat after the chaos of Marrakech. Within the within the walls of the Medina, yet peaceful (apart from the early morning 'call to prayers' (bring ear plugs!).
We initially thought we'd eat out every night but after experiencing the hassle of the city we decided to try the Riad food, it was excellent and reasonably priced, we never ate out again.
The excellent manager and his staff organised tours, transfers, suggested places to visit/ shop.
If you want a friendly welcoming atmosphere rather than a sanitised chain hotel you'll love the Riad Altair.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at the Riad Altair for 5 nights in November. A peaceful and relaxing environment with friendly, helpful staff, clean rooms and a generous breakfast. Our room was quirky but very nice with one of the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in.
The Riad Altair is well placed with most of the interesting parts of the city within walking distance.
Thanks to Abdel and Abdul for the interesting conversation, the excellent service and local information and advice.
If you want to stay within the Medina we would highly recommend the Riad Altair.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chile
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Little to add to the last reviews
Its a beautifull riad ,rooms on the small size 15 minutes walk to the souks
Its not a 5 star hotel in that scale its a 3 star but stars count for amenities not for the way you feel in the property if i will be having a holiday property in marrakech it will be exactly as this riad and if i am lucky with the same staff
So this riad was for us home away from home i think is the best i can say of a hotel
Riad is little away from main square but on the way to the new town which i believe also worth some time
Its really near a mosque so be prepare for a very early morning pray call

We got a very lousy tour guide so bad that is the first time that we got a discount in the service without even ask for it ,if you are getting a tour guide through the riad be explicit that you need a cultural guide

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk,uk
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

friendly staff, nothing is too much trouble. rooms are big and airey, beds are comfy. an oasis in the middle of a city. we went for a total relax and that is exactly what we got. never slept so much even slept through the prayer call one morning!
we ate in the riad every night during our stay (4 days) and the food was excellent value for money , 20 euros per person , for 3 course meal. we chose to eat there to sample the different foods on offer in marrakech.it was very tasty and enough for any appetite. i am not a fish eater and i could choose anything off the menu instead .thanks to abdul for all your attention during our stay.

Room Tip: only 6 rooms here all look good depending whether you want a bath or shower though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We have just returned from our break in Marrakech and stayed 5 days at the Riad Altair.
They arranged collection from the airport and welcomed us with tea and biscuits. Once we'd settled into our comfortable room we had a wander to get our bearings before dinner.
The Riad were able to cater for both a veg and non veg dinner.
The beds were large and comfortable and breakfast was delicious. However, it was the staff that were made our stay special. They was very helpful and attentive. They made recommendations for us and were happy to make any arrangements that we needed them too. A fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Altair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Altair

Address: 21 derb Zaouia | Bab Doukkala Mosquée, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Altair 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Altair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Altair Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Altair, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.