We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Altair

Save Saved
You added Riad Altair to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Riad Altair
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   21 derb Zaouia | Bab Doukkala Mosquée, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #131 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“We loved this Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We can only echo what previous guests have said, it's beautiful, comfy rooms, staff couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful.
It was the perfect retreat after the chaos of Marrakech. Within the within the walls of the Medina, yet peaceful (apart from the early morning 'call to prayers' (bring ear plugs!).
We initially thought we'd eat out every night but after experiencing the hassle of the city we decided to try the Riad food, it was excellent and reasonably priced, we never ate out again.
The excellent manager and his staff organised tours, transfers, suggested places to visit/ shop.
If you want a friendly welcoming atmosphere rather than a sanitised chain hotel you'll love the Riad Altair.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    283
    47
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
39
188
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at the Riad Altair for 5 nights in November. A peaceful and relaxing environment with friendly, helpful staff, clean rooms and a generous breakfast. Our room was quirky but very nice with one of the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in.
The Riad Altair is well placed with most of the interesting parts of the city within walking distance.
Thanks to Abdel and Abdul for the interesting conversation, the excellent service and local information and advice.
If you want to stay within the Medina we would highly recommend the Riad Altair.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chile
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Little to add to the last reviews
Its a beautifull riad ,rooms on the small size 15 minutes walk to the souks
Its not a 5 star hotel in that scale its a 3 star but stars count for amenities not for the way you feel in the property if i will be having a holiday property in marrakech it will be exactly as this riad and if i am lucky with the same staff
So this riad was for us home away from home i think is the best i can say of a hotel
Riad is little away from main square but on the way to the new town which i believe also worth some time
Its really near a mosque so be prepare for a very early morning pray call

We got a very lousy tour guide so bad that is the first time that we got a discount in the service without even ask for it ,if you are getting a tour guide through the riad be explicit that you need a cultural guide

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk,uk
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

friendly staff, nothing is too much trouble. rooms are big and airey, beds are comfy. an oasis in the middle of a city. we went for a total relax and that is exactly what we got. never slept so much even slept through the prayer call one morning!
we ate in the riad every night during our stay (4 days) and the food was excellent value for money , 20 euros per person , for 3 course meal. we chose to eat there to sample the different foods on offer in marrakech.it was very tasty and enough for any appetite. i am not a fish eater and i could choose anything off the menu instead .thanks to abdul for all your attention during our stay.

Room Tip: only 6 rooms here all look good depending whether you want a bath or shower though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We have just returned from our break in Marrakech and stayed 5 days at the Riad Altair.
They arranged collection from the airport and welcomed us with tea and biscuits. Once we'd settled into our comfortable room we had a wander to get our bearings before dinner.
The Riad were able to cater for both a veg and non veg dinner.
The beds were large and comfortable and breakfast was delicious. However, it was the staff that were made our stay special. They was very helpful and attentive. They made recommendations for us and were happy to make any arrangements that we needed them too. A fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

This is one of the loveliest places I have stayed. The riad has been beautifully renovated, the bedroom was lovely and. The staff were excellent. A very comfortable bed and peaceful setting made a welcome haven of calm from the souks. The breakfast is delicious and different everyday and the staff remembered my particular coffee after the first day - it's the little things.

I recommend getting their pick up from the airport and eating in for dinner for the first night. Their meal was one of the nicest and best value we had. Remember to bring wine with you though as the nearest supermarket is about fifteen minutes walk away.

Abdel and his staff are delightful and very helpful without being obsequious. The terrace is lovely for breakfast or afternoon mint tea and their collection of umbrellas proved useful in the torrential rain this afternoon!

It is about ten minutes walk to the main square and a taxi can be picked up two minutes walk from the riad.

Definitely recommend this lovely place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We couldn't fault it. The staff were outstanding and all the meals were fabulous. We arranged trips through the hotel and the driver was very polite and friendly. Would recommend trips to Ilmil and Essouria. Overall a great stay.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor, could be very noisy...although staff went out their way to be quiet in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Altair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Altair

Address: 21 derb Zaouia | Bab Doukkala Mosquée, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Altair 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Agoda, Escapio, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Riad Altair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Altair Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Altair, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.