We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a nice place to relax.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Altair

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Altair to your Saves list
Riad Altair
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   21, derb Zaouia | Mosquée de Bab Doukkal, Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 1,149 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
norfolk,uk
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“what a nice place to relax.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

friendly staff, nothing is too much trouble. rooms are big and airey, beds are comfy. an oasis in the middle of a city. we went for a total relax and that is exactly what we got. never slept so much even slept through the prayer call one morning!
we ate in the riad every night during our stay (4 days) and the food was excellent value for money , 20 euros per person , for 3 course meal. we chose to eat there to sample the different foods on offer in marrakech.it was very tasty and enough for any appetite. i am not a fish eater and i could choose anything off the menu instead .thanks to abdul for all your attention during our stay.

Room Tip: only 6 rooms here all look good depending whether you want a bath or shower though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We have just returned from our break in Marrakech and stayed 5 days at the Riad Altair.
They arranged collection from the airport and welcomed us with tea and biscuits. Once we'd settled into our comfortable room we had a wander to get our bearings before dinner.
The Riad were able to cater for both a veg and non veg dinner.
The beds were large and comfortable and breakfast was delicious. However, it was the staff that were made our stay special. They was very helpful and attentive. They made recommendations for us and were happy to make any arrangements that we needed them too. A fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Si_and_AliJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is one of the loveliest places I have stayed. The riad has been beautifully renovated, the bedroom was lovely and. The staff were excellent. A very comfortable bed and peaceful setting made a welcome haven of calm from the souks. The breakfast is delicious and different everyday and the staff remembered my particular coffee after the first day - it's the little things.

I recommend getting their pick up from the airport and eating in for dinner for the first night. Their meal was one of the nicest and best value we had. Remember to bring wine with you though as the nearest supermarket is about fifteen minutes walk away.

Abdel and his staff are delightful and very helpful without being obsequious. The terrace is lovely for breakfast or afternoon mint tea and their collection of umbrellas proved useful in the torrential rain this afternoon!

It is about ten minutes walk to the main square and a taxi can be picked up two minutes walk from the riad.

Definitely recommend this lovely place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonatempler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We couldn't fault it. The staff were outstanding and all the meals were fabulous. We arranged trips through the hotel and the driver was very polite and friendly. Would recommend trips to Ilmil and Essouria. Overall a great stay.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor, could be very noisy...although staff went out their way to be quiet in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Somany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

A Wonderful, peaceful Riad inside the Medina in Marrakech. The staff were very attentive and the Riad very clean. Lovely breakfasts each morning and the evening meals were super.
The meals were cooked fresh on site and to your specific requirements. This was a traditional Riad with only 6 rooms which was exactly what we were looking for. It did not have a pool which would have been nice but would have also made it more expensive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DARINABEESLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was our first trip to Morocco and we chose to stay in a Riad on the recommendaton of our daughter, We picked Riad Altair by chance through the BA website. It is a wonderful place. The food was excellent; the welcome friendly and helpful; the accomadation comfortable. But the thing that stands out was the way the staff always seemed to provide a bit more than we expected. For example, when we wanted a taxi they booked it but then accompanied us into the street to make sure we found it. We recommend this place without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G-V R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This riad is fantastic. The welcome we recieved was warm and very helpful. We ate twice in the riad-other than the comptoir du pascha restaurant these were the best meals we had. We had the ground floor room-absolutely no problem with noise and privacy.Rooms large and very clean with quiet air con. The staff are really carefull to make sure your stay is special-we loved their gentle humour and all the helpful tips. The terrace is very tranquil and a bonus to get a warm breeze after the stifling heat of 40c.
We would recommend this riad very highly.
Tip-get the transfer from the airport-you would never find it otherwise. If booking an excursion with the hotel don't expect an english speaking driver-we were promised one but we had to converse all day in pidgeon french;not the riads fault.
Do eat once in the main square at a stall-an experience!!
We were in marrakech for 5 nights so had a trip to Essouria-fantastic place. Its too far for a day trip to the mountains-you can do the foot hills.

Location of the riad is good-within the medina and can walk everywhere. Do go to the Majorelle gardens if you do nothing else;its a magical,peaceful place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank argentineali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Aladdin
Riad Aladdin
#202 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#40 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Ambre et Epices
Riad Ambre et Epices
#138 of 1,149 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad la Parenthese
Riad la Parenthese
#28 of 1,149 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Pavillon Oriental
Le Pavillon Oriental
#172 of 1,149 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Sohane
Riad Dar Sohane
#126 of 1,149 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Altair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Altair

Address: 21, derb Zaouia | Mosquée de Bab Doukkal, Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 1,149 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Altair 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for rest and relaxation … named after the main star in the Eagle constellation, Riad Altair and its devoted staff provide pleasure and tranquillity. From high on the roof terrace, You have a 360° view of the Red City, while the patio and pond are a cool oasis in the heat of the day. 6 air-conditioned rooms each with a private with safe Wifi throughout the riad. We organise private functions of all kinds (birthdays, events etc). Discreet, attentive staff to meet all needs. Elegant, restrained decor. Just by the tree-filled patio and the Plunge Pool there is a winter sitting room with an open fireplace, various summer sitting rooms, 6 air-conditioned bedrooms, and terraced sunbathing areas. We are always happy to help you explore the Red City and its surroundings.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Altair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Altair Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing