We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Riad, so beautiful and magical.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ghallia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Ghallia to your Saves list
Riad Ghallia
21 derb El Khemis | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #966 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Riad, so beautiful and magical.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

Stayed here with a friend in March 2010. It is an amazing traditional Riad, which really provide a magical feel as you stepped through the small wooden door into the courtyard of the Riad. the rooms are all decorated differently (we stayed in two over the course of our stay) and the roof terrace is lovely way to start the day eating breakfast (was yummy!) up there. The owner is extremely friendly, speaks english and helpful. He booked us taxis and a massage. this is the kinda of place that rings true morroco! the staff went extremely out of their way to help me when i left my sleeping bag in a taxi and a member of staff went to collect it from out of town first thing the next morning to retrieve it! Also we went on a 3 day trip out of Marrakech and they kindly looked after our excess luggage whilst we were away.
The location is a bit of a walk away from the centre square, which at daytime is no problem but a night i would get a taxi. although this may be a negative, it means you see the more authentic marrakech streets and people, than just the tourist drag!
such good value for money here, cant believe how cheap and beautiful the Riad is, recommend!! a true gem!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
1
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of august. Unfortunately we were greeted by a non-english speaking housekeeper who handed us a piece of paper explaining the manager was away til the next day. This was a problem because the riad is located in busy residential area and not really on the tourist drag and so finding our surroundings difficult.

The room was nicely decorated but the lack of AC made sleeping very uncomfortable!
The riad provided free wi-fi which was useful and double bed and small sofa area.
Shower barely worked and a lot of the time had to shower under tap but it was all part of the adventure.
Breakfast was served on the roof terrrace which was tastefully decorated.
The staff were friendly and attentive particulary Adil and Thierry who organised a nice tour around the city for us.

The riad is a modest 20 minute walk from the square, the route is difficult at first but became easier, however we found the locals around the riad to be quite intimidating at times, especially when you are very hot and very lost.
Ignore any talk of road closures or tanneries and keep walking towards the square where the atmosphere is much more relaxed.
When eating out on a reasonable budget the square is the only option, the local Foundouk restaurant is rather expensive for what it is. Despite reading otherwise we were never offered ANY food for the evening or lunch which we had been planning for our first night.

Overall we had a pleasant stay and had a taste of real life marrakech.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

The Riad is good quality for money. the rooms are spacious and clean and the roof terrace is really nice..

the owner is so helpful and recommended various places for us to go and see and things to do!
The riad is hard to find so reccomend either an airport pick up or get a taxi but write the address down as the taxi drivers dont have a clue if your english! (or have selective hearing)
The only bad part about the riad is the bathroom is constantly soaked threw but you dont care after a hot day at the markets apart from that a*****
All in all the riad was a lovely touch after a hectic day at the markets! Thank you so much to the owner and the lad who worked there he was fantastic!!!! :) xxxx

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

My husband and I sepnt 5 nights at Riad Ghallia over christmas 2009 and had a wonderful stay here. Where do I even start....highlights for me was our room (hot pink with a beautiful bathroom and great shower!). Thierry, the owner was really thoughful and a beautiful gift was on the bed when we arrived. The staff that are on hand 24/7 are all lovely and helpful (although our french is terrible but Majeet one of the staff members was well versed in english as is the owner Thierry....thanks guys!). We ate at the riad one night and it was the best food we ate in Marrakech (and we ate in varied places both budget & high end in Marrrakech). The breakfast will keep you full the whole day....absolutlely beauitful and alot of food. The instructions are good for getting around the medina, it is about a 10min walk to the main square with lots to see one the way. We felt very safe walking around at night even though our initial impression was to be cautious. I'm not sure what a previous reviewer was talking about with it being in a noisy area, it is in a very quiet location. Definetly recommend getting tips of Thierry about the best place to get a hammam because it was an awsome experience. Thierry will recommend you do it late afternoon.....I also recommend coming straight back to the riad for dinner and a couple bottles of red to wind down even further.
Thanks Thierry (& Thierry 2), Majeet & the 2 other staff who prepared the amazing breakfast & dinner for a wonderful experience in Marrakech!
Ruth & David (London/Sydney)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

Ran by two very fabulous hosts this Riad is a true oasis in the middle of the hussle and bussle that is Marrakech. The rooms are decorated with flair are comfortable and clean. Faboulous hospitality is offered and while in a sticky situation our hosts really went the extra mile to help out (thank you). There is a lovely rooftop terrace where breakfast is served and dinner can also be arranged. Riad Ghallia is located in the medina, but not right bang smack in the middle, however with the great directions provided its a very quick walk to where you want to go. Priced very reasonably, if I was heading back to Marrakech I would head straight to this Riad Ghallia. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackly, Northants
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

Stayed here last week for 5 nights with a friend and have no complaints whatsoever. On the contrary, Thierry and Thierry were the perfect hosts as were their memebers of staff. They could not have been more helpful and accommodating. The rooms are great - brightly painted and great decor. We were in the red room. Loved the bathroom! There's also a couple of blue rooms and pink room.
Breakfast was lovely each morning - selection of pastries, breads, honey and jam, moroccan crepes, tea, coffee, freshly squeezed OJ, hot chocolate. Perfect way to start the day!
Thierry and Thierry obviously know all the touristy places to go in and around Marrakech and are on hand to advise how best to spend your time. They recommended a really nice Rhiad where we spent the day lounging by the pool and eating yummy food (Dar Donab - 150 dirhams to spend the day there, 100 dirhams if you're not eating lunch).
Like other reviews have mentioned, it is hard to find so let T + T know in advance and they will have someone pick you up. I think it was 125 dirhams to be picked up so just over a tenner.

Oh! And for 10 dirhams an hour you can hire out a notebook or bring your own as the Rhiad has wifi. Ideal for skyping and facebooking!

All in all a great stay at the Rhiad Ghallia. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

A charming riad/guest house in the Medina. While it would have been hard to find on your own, they arrange a car pick up (extra cost) from the airport and a map when you arrive to get you to and from the main square in the middle of Marrakech.

The daily tea/coffee/hot chocolate and breakfast is a fantastic way to start your day, especially when the weather is nice and its on the roof. The views across the Medina to the Katubia are fantastic, you really feel in the heart of it all. The rooms were perfectly comfortable, and the public space in the courtyard was an excellent place to unwind at the end of the day. The security guard, cook/cleaner and owners all made you feel at home, and mingling with other guests added to the richness of the experience too.

It rained most of our time there, and the owners made sure we found things to do, and even lent us umbrellas. Short of making it big and staying in a 5-star resort, I'll be returning to Riad Ghallia next time I'm in Marrakech.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Ghallia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ghallia

Address: 21 derb El Khemis | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #966 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Medina of Marrakech, charming guesthouse, 5 bedrooms, marrocan lounge, sunny terrace, patio with fountain. Family atmosphere, local cooking. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Riad Ghallia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ghallia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.