We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent adventure at the Borjs de la Kasbah” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Borjs de la Kasbah

Save Saved
You added Les Borjs de la Kasbah to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue du Mechouar | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE NIGHT OFFERS
Ranked #47 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent adventure at the Borjs de la Kasbah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

Just returned from a wonderful trip to Marrakech, staying at the Borjs de la Kasbah - probably the best idea I've had. Great riad in both location and the quality of service they provide, giving you excellent meals, a good sized pool for relaxing in or by (some people from other hotels paid for meals so they could use it).
The single room is roughly equivalent in size to a city hotel but with nice, Moroccan styling and superb air conditioning (necessary in 40 odd degree heat of August). Also there were nice touches such as rose petals on the bed on arrival, the well stocked mini-bar and the bathrobe for the spa treatments.
The meals on offer were excellent 3 course meals or the option of a la carte dining if you preferred, being half-board I was given a meal of the day menu with two options each for starter, main course and desserts. Breakfast was Moroccan pancakes, crepes, croissants, etc... But the best meal was the Moroccan evening where dancers and musicians played while you were served a set Moroccan themed meal - an excellent evening.

I also took a couple of the excursions using the Borjs minibus, which despite the heat was largely comfortable and Abdul the driver was extremely good and informative - speaking French and English. The trips to Ouarzazate / Ait Benhaddou (where Lawrence of Arabia was filmed) and Cascades d'Ouzoud (waterfalls) were fantastic - if a little expensive for one person - check to see if anyone else would like to go so you spread the cost.

Marrakech itself is a little crazy and hectic at times, but the hotel is like a oasis of calm, very quiet, with excellent and attentive staff who litterally cannot do enough for you. I would definitely recommend this hotel as the best value in Marrakech and plan to use it again someday. I really cannot stress how good my experience of the Borjs de la Kasbah was and it made the holiday great.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    307
    55
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
53
179
38
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We've just arrived home after staying at Les Borjs de la Kasbah. We went to Marrakesh to celebrate our wedding anniversary and usually stay at 5* corporate hotels. However, we had a certain search criteria and Les Borjs looked like the closet to our match. We were so pleased with our choice, It was such a wonderful experience, the staff were incredibly helpful throughout the hotel. Our room was lovely, and much bigger that I was anticipating. We ate in the restaurant a couple of times and the food was fantastic. Another comment I read on here was that the pool can be become very busy, which we noticed on a couple of days. However, we also had a couple of days were there weren't many people around the pool at all.

I thought that this hotel was fantastically located for the main square and once inside it was incredibly relaxing and quiet. We had both enjoyed a Hamman on our last day which was another fantastic experience the hotel provided.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Great hotel in the Kasbah / old part of town. Rooms are large & very comfortable. Pool area is on the small side especially if the hotel is busy i.e. getting a bed can sometimes be a problem. However, having access to the pool after walking around the town / sights was another luxury.
Breakfast is plentiful & of a good quality.
All the staff are excellent & offer fantastic service with a smile.
Hotel is around a 15 mins walk to the Medina / Square & the local traders are keen for you to buy from their shops albeit this a common theme anywhere in the old town.
Petit Taxis are a good way to get out & about especially in the evenings & a return trip to the Medina or even new town should be around 100 dirhams.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Me and my girlfriend stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in August 2010, we found this hotel was a excellent as all the other reviews on trip advisor suggested.
We were able to easily arrange airport transfers via email for a reasonable price, the driver was very friendly & knowledgeable and their comfortable people carrier was also available for excursions etc.
On arrival the staff were very friendly especially the manager Mohammed, we were served complimentary mint tea and very tasty cake/sweets.
The food in the restaurant was of a very high standard, warranting the higher price than other local restaurants.
The pool was excellent for relaxing out of the very hot midday temperature, it also has a bar which serves reasonably priced snacks and light lunches.
There were several lounge areas close to the bar both inside and out with free wifi and even a computer free to use for internet browsing.
We found that our room was excellent, very well decorated in the traditional Moroccan style with high quality bedding, towel's, bath robes, naturally produced soaps and very effective air conditioning.
The bathroom was consistently decorated with the rest of the room, with a very pleasant bath and shower.
We also went on the fantasia horse show excursion, which although slightly expensive was really good, 5 course meal, great entertainment and travel to and from it, which was about 30 mins.
All in all we found that the hotel was great quality, had fantastic service and was in a great location about 15 mins walk from the main square so you are close to the culture but have all the amenities you would expect from a modern hotel.
This hotel really is an oasis of calm and comfort in a very hectic city, really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again and recommend for anyone wishing to stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

This is a gorgeous hotel in the middle of the craziness that is Marrakesh. The rooms are well appointed with air conditioning for the summer or heating, as we needed in the middle of winter! Rose petals on the bed everyday were a lovely touch.

The pool is lovely to relax by after a day wandering around Marrakesh. The hammam and massage were good too.

Had dinner there a couple of times, which was good but by far the best was the mint tea and little moroccan cakes and biscuits that we had at least once a day in the relaxed bar whilst we were there.

The staff are great, all of them were extremely helpful and it was interesting to talk to Francoise about the environmental practices that they try to employ at the hotel.

Whilst I was happy enough to leave Marrakesh, I didn't want to leave this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

I stayed in this hotel with my boyfriend and I think we couldn't have chosen better. Staff is really friendly and helpful, rooms are clean and comfortable, the mint tea is perfect!
We've also taken a day trip to the atla's mountain, organized by the hotel, which was also great.
They have a very nice restaurant, too.
We have absolutely no complaints about the hotel - Marrakech, in the other hand, was kind of disapointing... streets are crazy, traffic is just non sense and when you go to the market, thousands of seller practly force you to buy stuff. You get lost easily and local people try to confuse you even more, so they can charge you later to help you get back to a familiar spot... It was certainly a once in a lifetime (literally) experience!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights to roughly coincide with my birthday. From the moment we arrived at reception the welcome was warm and friendly - as was the complimentary mint tea! We had booked a superior room which was pretty large, very comfortable and well appointed (and on special offer at 4 nights for the price of 3!) .

We ate out each night except the last when we had a very enjoyable meal in-house which was pretty reasonable pricewise. The first 3 nights we ate at Chez Chegrouni (authentic unlicenced on Main Square nr Cafe de France), Le Marrakchi (touristy with belly dancing!), and Riad des Mers (specialist seafood in a riad) all of which were excellent but Chegrouni, on the main square was without doubt the most authentic & best value for money. We had excellent lunches at The KozyBar (Place Des Ferblantiers nr Bahia Palace) & The Old Post Office (New City behind the new Post Office).

We tended to do our sight-seeing in the mornings & get back to the hotel late afternoon to relax by the pool or in our room before having an aperitif in the courtyard before dinner. One day my wife and I had Hamman treatments which were very relaxing and excellent value for money. The buffet breakfasts in the hotel although not abundent were excellent - including the made to order pancakes cooked before you!

We visited many of the sights both in the Medina and in the New City and overall had a fabulous time and found eveybody to be very friendly. One of the better places we found for shoppong as an alternative to the main souks was the Artisan Centre on Rue Mohammed 5 which is a co-op and haggle-free zone! The Main Square at night time is a crazy place & you need to have your wits about you, but we never felt threatened despite walking wherever we could rather than taking taxis.

We would recommend Marrakech and more importantly Les Borjs des La Kasbah without hesitation, and would specifically mention a number of their excellent staff who made our visit a bit more special - Mustapha in the Bar; Fatima at breakfast (plus the pancake lady!); Nadia at reception ; Assiza in the spa/hammam ; Senna at the pool bar ; Naoul ; and last but not least, Mr Tayeb the manager who gave us a lift one day to Jardins Majorelle when he thought the taxi driver was asking to high a fare!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Borjs de la Kasbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Borjs de la Kasbah

Address: Rue du Mechouar | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#19 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#29 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#34 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Borjs de la Kasbah 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Borjs de la Kasbah is a charming boutique hotel (opened in 2007) combining all the character of a traditional riad with the modern comforts and professionalism of a luxury hotel. Adjoining two borjs (defensive towers), the hotel stands at the southern edge of the walled city, close to the royal palace, a 15-20 min walk through the kasbah from the Place Jemaa. There are 18 rooms, 3 lounges, a bar, restaurant and meeting room, all with free internet access. In a separate, secluded part of the complex there is also a 10m swimming pool (a rarity in the kasbah), with poolside bar, and a spa with traditional hammam, massage rooms and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Les Borjs de la Kasbah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Borjs De La Kasbah Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Borjs de la Kasbah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.