We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with excellent service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Borjs de la Kasbah

Save Saved
You added Les Borjs de la Kasbah to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue du Mechouar | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Cambs
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with excellent service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

We stayed for 5 nights in February and were delighted with our choice. The hotel itself is very attractively laid out and clean, with great attention to detail by the staff. The room was very comfortable with a lovely view of the courtyard. The breakfast was good with plenty of choice. We ate in the restaurant several times and were impressed by the quality. The spa and pool area were impressive for a hotel of this size - we experienced the hammam and would recommend it as a perfect way to relax.
Overall, there was a feeling of peace and tranquility, which made it a perfect place to escape from the chaos of Marrakech. The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly, they were simply superb. The hotel is a 20 minute brisk walk from the square, but we didn't find this a problem and it was a good way to experience the street life by day or night. The only minor negative comment was the temperature of the water - could be a bit hotter, although I imagine this would not be a problem at any other time of the year.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    307
    55
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
53
179
38
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

Stayed at Les Borjs for a long weekend in August 2008 with my best friend and my 18 year old daughter. What a fab hotel and fab city!!

We arrived in Marrakech quite early, and when we got to the hotel the room wasn't yet ready. We were given a cool drink and seated in a shady outdoor lounge area with some big comfy cushions to wait. They said it wouldn't be long - but in fact it did take quite a while. When we did get into our rooms they were lovely. Deep colours, lovely tiled shower room and nice and cool.

As in all of Marrakech, alcohol is difficult to find except in the hotels, as it is obviously a Muslim country. The hotel did some nice cocktails, limited choice of wine, all quite pricey. We only had breakfast in the hotel, which was a bit ropey - and worst of all - swarming with wasps! For someone who is allergic to these pests, not ideal.

The actual hotel is delightful. All built inside a high wall, like an oasis of calm in the midst of this mad city! The weather was hot and sunny, so it was lovely to sit in the courtyard gardens, or relax on a lounger by the pool. Everywhere clean and all the staff very nice and helpful.

Marrakech itself total madness 24/7. We tried to walk to the main square the first day - big mistake! It's such a maze of streets outside the hotel we got completely lost in five minutes even with the map! After that we jumped in a scarey taxi each time. All about 100 years old, probably no mot's or even driving licences! Still, cheap and fun - so who cares?!!

The square is great fun, especially at night time when the food sellers come out. Where else can you see people queueing up to eat sheeps brains? Not in Oxford I can tell you. The whole place is filled with hundeds of people, locals and tourists alike, and apparently like that every day of every year. Beware getting caught taking photo's during the day, the snake charmers and 'dentists' - don't even go there - try to get you to pay for the priviledge. The souk all around the square is extensive and you can get some great bargains. We bought leather bags and slippers, glass lanterns, the usual fake watches etc - all cheap as chips.

The Moroccans seem to be quite friendly - obviously haggling is the done thing - but if you do decide not to buy some of them can turn nasty. We didn't feel threatened at all, even as three women on their own, although my blonde daughter did get a lot of attention from the men, some even asking for her photo with their children! Mostly it was harmless banter and did not feel pervy or threatening.

One day we took a taxi to Nicci Beach Resort, which is out of town, about 45 minutes in a cab. This is a fabulous place - very boutique, hip and trendy, an oasis in the desert almost. We got there at 12 noon opening time, having called ahead in advance to ensure entrance. It was very quiet then, with chilled out background music playing. There is a huge pool area with swim up bars and beach areas, all surrounded with big wooden sun loungers with thick white mattresses, or four poster beds with white canopies over - heaven! Mind you - you have to pay a minimum spend to sit in some areas, so you can only sit where theyput you if you don't want to shell out a fortune.
As the day wore on, the place filled up with all the beautiful people. The background music was replaced by a DJ playing the funkiest tunes, and everyone was dancing - some out of the water, some in. The drinks and food were very expensive - but it was all about the experience, and that was great. They shut up around 6pm for an hour or two, then re-open as an outdoor club in the evening. We left around 5pm, and the road outside was filled with lots of very large shiney black sports cars and 4WDs.

If you get a chance to go to Marrakech you should definitely go, it is a true culture shock. The only downside was the food - everything was grim. People rave about the cous cous and tagine stews. Well - maybe if you are truly starving. A big pile of tastless cous cous with a load of soggy vedg on top is not my idea of fun. Consider Marrakech if you're on a diet.

All in all a great weekend and Les Borjs a great place to stay. We noticed on our drive out to Nicci Beach a lot of the big hotels are way out of town, so you would be in a scarey yellow taxi for most of your stay if you wanted to come to the square and the souks. Les Borjs in right in the old city amongst the dusty narrow streets and the real people.

  • Liked — location and luxury
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

I travel a lot with work and have stayed in 5 star hotels all over the world, but this was one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had.

The hotel has been beautifully constructed using local artisans to highlight Moroccan design. The hotel location is near to major attractions, yet tucked away off the busy streets and is therefore really quiet. The pool area is a real sun trap and the high walls keep out any wind.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, the food and wine was excellent (both Moroccan).

Will definitely return.

  • Liked — Attention to detail in the design
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

I'm surprised that this hotel receives such regularly good reviews as it is OK but certainly not that brilliant.

The buildings themselves have been very well renovated and the majority of rooms overlook the cental courtyard, which is lovely with a number of lounge areas around the sides, including the bar.

Maybe it was the time of year that we went but the hotel is COLD and the rooms take a long time to heat up from the single aircon/heating unit mounted close to the ceiling. The public areas (esp the bar) are also very cold and lack atmosphere - a real fire in this area would transform it. I'm sure in the summer it is a cool haven from the busy medina but be warned if you go in the winter!

The rooms are nothing special and are a little tatty around the edges. The beds were somewhat uncomfortable. Bathrooms are tired. Breakfast is basic, although the freshly cooked moroccan pancakes are a nice touch.

Be warned that they will sting you for MAD40 (about £3.50) per small bottle of water from the mini bar on check out which strikes me as a mean touch and the exchange rate is better on the Rue Kasbah.

The hotel is not difficult to find but is a good walk from the 'action' of the main square (20-25 minutes). Taxis are an experience! In a city so bereft of good (or even passable) restaurants, the saving grace is 'Tatchibana', a wonderful Japanese restaurant which is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The nearby 'Sultana' hotel is also good, with a fabulous terrace overlooking the Atlas mountains (but expensive). Alternatively try Cafe de la Poste in Gueliz.

We may go back to Marrakech but we wouldn't stay at the Borjs de la Kasbah again.

  • Liked — Fascinating local environs
  • Disliked — Very cold hotel in the winter
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyeman, Owner at Les Borjs de la Kasbah, responded to this review, January 11, 2009
I am responding to this review because it is the first negative report received since full opening of our hotel to the public two years ago but also because it contains a couple of statements which should not be allowed to pass unchallenged.

Every visitor will, of course, judge a hotel based on his or her expectations and impressions but also on their experience (if any) of other hotels of similar standard and price. It is curious, however, to say the least, that the assessment by Straightalk of Les Borjs de la Kasbah should be so at variance with that of every other reviewer (72 of them) on the TripAdvisor site where the hotel finds itself 28th out of some 350 Marrakech hotels. Is this latest review a fair reflection of the hotel today or an indication of a lack of objectivity and balance on the part of the contributor for whom this may simply not have been the right product? Perhaps the statistics tell their own story.

That said, the main issue, about low January temperatures, is worth raising and action has already been taken to address this by the simple expedient of keeping doors to lounges closed, as opposed to leaving them permanently open to the patios as they have tended to be year round. Daytime temperatures in Marrakech during January are generally between 15 and 20 degrees, very pleasant, but it is true that as soon as the sun sets they fall dramatically. A point well worth making. But all riad-style hotels are in the same position and, given their open plan design, it is true that they are perhaps less than wholly compatible with cosiness, in the north European sense, during long winter evenings. However, there is heating in every room of the hotel and it does work.

We are surprised by criticism of the bedrooms and bathrooms as being ‘a little tatty around the edges’ – it is not a comment we have ever received before and not one we are able to understand now. Unfortunately, Straightalk is not specific about the perceived deficiences and his/her unsubstantiated sweeping generalisations are not helpful – a pity, this, because they could have been. In fact, all (top of the range) beds were purchased new in 2006 which is when bedrooms were furnished and appointed. Straightalk generalises negatively about all the hotel’s beds, bedrooms and bathrooms but he or she is surely not qualified to comment on more than the one bedroom – of the hotel’s 18 rooms in four categories – of which he/she has personal experience.

Breakfast is described by Straigtalk as ‘basic’ but, sadly, he/she does not say in what way it fell short of expectations. We serve home-made bread (and yes, pancakes), French style viennoiseries, fruit, yoghurt, cereals, cheese, cold meats and freshly squeezed orange juice as well as eggs cooked to order. Short of a full English breakfast (not something generally expected in Morocco) we fail to see what more we can provide. Presumably, Straightalk did not try our ‘Le Jasmin’ restaurant which serves refined French cuisine as well as Moroccan specialities.

Finally, to correct a couple of factual inaccuracies, bottled water is charged at 20 dhs, the going rate, not 40 dhs, as suggested, and currency exchange, offered more as a favour to guests rather than a commercial service, is conducted at exactly the same daily rate as quoted by our bank.
Whilst all feedback is valuable, and avidly studied (we receive up to 50 questionnaires every month), Straightalk’s review is much less constructive than it might have been in providing helpful suggestions to us or the sort of objective, balanced guidance to consumers that TripAdvisor visitors really value – this is both a shame and a wasted opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

Myself and my boyfriend just returned from staying in Marrakesh in this hotel for almost a week in November 08. I would totally recommend the hotel, the staff are very helpful and friendly. When you arrive you are ushered to the lounge and sat down with a fruit juice and little biscuits while they process your check-in. After that they totally give you a tour of the hotel and services, they are super professional and its quite impressive. The rooms are very very nice and the bed was the most comfortable I have slept in in years! The rooms are clean and rose petals are left on your bed and towels each day. The position of the hotel means it is extremely quiet in contrast to the bustling centre of the old city.
It's Restaurant food is also excellent.
It might be noted that the hotel is about 25mins walk from the main square but there are taxis, however one or two did not know the hotel. Also its a completely non smoking building. Other than that can't fault it.

  • Liked — The bed
  • Disliked — Bit chilly this time of year
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twickenham
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2008

A girl-friend and I wanted a short break in the sunshine and chose this hotel which is nothing short of delightful.
Courteous staff, excellent food (Moroccan and European).
The spa treatments are a must, especially the Hamman.
Ideally placed for exploring the medina and souks.
Even the muezzin call to prayer was soporific.
Weather perfect - we went in late October.
All in all, a sublime experience.
Would happily go again.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everywhere
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

A delightful little hotel, with good service (by Moroccan standards), all the comforts of home, a good restaurant and a wonderful hamman. The only real complaint I had was that it was virtually impossible to find initially. I had a local women helping me and after stopping a dozen cabs, we finally found a driver who claimed to know where it was. He then drove me to the closest gate but lied and said he could not go into the medina (cabs can - don't fall for this line). I was then set upon by all the "guides", hustlers and kids who prey on lost tourists in the medina. I ended up costing me 40 DHM just to have someone walk me the two blocks to the hotel. Once found, however, this is a great little hotel. I recommend it highly and without qualification. Breakfast is a treat and get as many treatments in the hamman as you want - they are all great value.

  • Liked — the staff, the hamman, the restaurant, all the little touches
  • Disliked — trying to find it!!!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyeman, Director at Les Borjs de la Kasbah, responded to this review, October 29, 2008
While delighted that 'Bonedigger' enjoyed our hotel it is disappointing to hear that he (or she?) had so much trouble finding it. One reason for the name 'Les Borjs de la Kasbah' is that the approximate location (i.e. the kasbah) should be obvious to any local, especially taxi drivers. The hotel is actually very easy to find and, unlike so many places in the medina, accessible directly by car and horse drawn carriage. Precise directions for reaching the hotel are shown on the hotel's web site but, in any event, all our clients are offered complimentary collection from the airport, provided flight details are supplied in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Borjs de la Kasbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Borjs de la Kasbah

Address: Rue du Mechouar | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#30 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#34 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Borjs de la Kasbah 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Borjs de la Kasbah is a charming boutique hotel (opened in 2007) combining all the character of a traditional riad with the modern comforts and professionalism of a luxury hotel. Adjoining two borjs (defensive towers), the hotel stands at the southern edge of the walled city, close to the royal palace, a 15-20 min walk through the kasbah from the Place Jemaa. There are 18 rooms, 3 lounges, a bar, restaurant and meeting room, all with free internet access. In a separate, secluded part of the complex there is also a 10m swimming pool (a rarity in the kasbah), with poolside bar, and a spa with traditional hammam, massage rooms and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Les Borjs de la Kasbah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Borjs De La Kasbah Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Borjs de la Kasbah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.