We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming boutique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Borjs de la Kasbah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Les Borjs de la Kasbah to your Saves list
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue du Mechouar | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
5 nights for price of 3
Ranked #75 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Charming boutique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Just returned from this wonderful boutique hotel that is full of morrocan charm. My sister and I had a fantastic time and definitely highly recommend. The staff were wonderful (nothing was too much trouble), the pool is great - can always get a sunlounger, there is a little bar (that does serve alcohol) and several lounge areas. The courtyard is also a nice cool place to sit. The location is great - close to old and new town and 10 minutes from the airport. We also had a massage in their spa - heavenly!

The hotel recommended us a great place to buy argan oil which is just around the corner from the hotel and is pure argan oil rather than vegetable oil sold in the souk. I've been using every day and my hair and skin never felt so good.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    70
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
61
200
53
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We wanted a hotel in the old part of Marrakech but we also wanted a pool to cool off in which is what made us choose this hotel over a riad. I'm so glad we did! This place was simply amazing. It was an oasis of calm in a crazy city! The staff were really helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and had air conditioning. The pool area was lovely (and we couldn't hear any noise from the streets outside). The choice on offer at breakfast was great. The only slight down-side was the beds were not very comfortable but this would not stop me from returning. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Marrackech.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the courtyard which was really peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stopped at this hotel Last week and the service from staff and director made the holiday. I proposed to my partner during the stay and all staff were extremely helpful during our trip. We booked an excursion through the hotel; the driver took us on a 2 hour 30 minute drive to some amazing waterfalls and talked to us along the way pointing out various landmarks. The hotel is situated around a 20 minute walk from the main square which has various bars and restaurants as well as a variety of shops and souks. The hotel restaurant is delicious and we dined there for 3 of our 7 night stay. First class hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We wanted a hotel in the old city and this was just perfect.we were greeted with drinks on arrival then taken to our rooms.the rooms were clean and large.overall the hotel had a lovely relaxed atmosphere and the staff were superb.breakfast was nice and we also had a couple of evening meals which were very good.the English manager/director was on hand and very helpful.they organised a trip for us at reasonable cost .i would recommend this hotel and would return myself.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This is a really nice Riad, only a few niggling issues stopped me from rating it a 5.

We arranged a transfer with the hotel and the driver was waiting for us when we landed. It is a very short drive to the Riad and we were greeted with welcome drinks on arrival. The room was absolutely huge and well maintained. The whole property is a wonderful retreat from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech.

The Riad seems to be in a more local area of the Medina and we did not see as many tourists as we expected walking from there to the main square. However, this was probably an advantage as the area felt safe and was full of families both day and night. There was also far less hassle than nearer the square and souks. It takes about 15 minutes to walk to the main square and much of this is spent dodging traffic. This wasn't a problem for us but is definitly something to be aware of. On the plus side, taxis are able to pull up right outside here, which is impossible in some other areas.

The staff were consistently friendly and helpful, with excellent English. It was great to have the pool, especially in such heat. Drinks at the Riad are more expensive than outside but very reasonable by UK and international hotel standards. We booked a hammam and massage which was very good and also very reasonable.

There were 2 things that sold Les Borjs de la Kasbah to me when booking. 1. The air conditioning and 2. The wifi. However, these are two things that did not function well during our stay. The air conditioning was not cool enough and the wifi was incredibly patchy. I know this wouldn't bother many people but it was a nuisance when I was relying on it for an important work email.

I also found myself slightly dissapointed with breakfast. The cereal never had any bowls and when something was gone it was very rarely replenished. Some of the fruit also did not seem very fresh, but these are really just me being picky. All in all, a good choice of Riad, great atmosphere, friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Really enjoyed my stay here, the staff were wonderful and seemed genuinely happy to be there and to help. The property itself is beautiful, lovely Riad. Great pool, great fountain in the middle of the property, the room was very nice, shower was clean and seemed new. Wifi wasn't great, but frankly I'm not sure you're going to get very fast internet anywhere. Excursions arranged through the hotel were enjoyable and available at a decent price. The included breakfast was very good, I didn't try the lunch, dinner or spa, but all were offered at reasonable prices.

Nice public areas, was fun to watch the FIFA match with others staying in the hotel in the common TV room. TV also available in the rooms, lots of english channels.

The location was good, short walk away from the centre of the old city, overall everything was great - would not hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: I'm not sure you can really get a bad room, but you could get one facing the inside of the court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We arrived very late in the night and had arranged a pick up with the hotel in advance. The flight was early but the driver was only five minutes away. Arriving late and having never been to Marrakech did mean that when no-one answered the door for a little while, we got a little on edge but then we were welcomed in, greeted by the hotel director and shown to our room which was a great size and beautifully presented - right down to the rose petals on the bed everyday!

The pool is a good size and it's very refreshing, you can have food by the pool when the Moroccan heat gets too much and take a dip too. It's incredibly relaxing which is exactly what you need when you've walked the streets of Marrakech.

Food-wise, breakfast was included and a wide selection provided, including the Moroccan pancakes. When we overslept on our first day, they kept breakfast running a little longer for us and that sort of detail is typical of the hotel. We also ate one evening meal there which was very nice and not unreasonably priced by european standards.

We also took a spa treatment which was brilliant and hugely recommended too, the price is reasonable and the treatments are very relaxing (enough to make you fall asleep). If your aim is as ours was, to have a relaxing getaway for four days, Les Borjs de la Kasbah is ideal - you'll feel welcomed and the staff are really helpful, the reception staff speak English perfectly although a little French is helpful at times.

I'd say this is a hotel for couples, friends or solo travel rather than families - who may want a more resort style hotel with more activities for the kids but there was a family staying there who seemed to be enjoying it as well.

Room Tip: There are only 18 rooms here - we had 205 which was a beautifully arranged double room with a view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.5 mi away
Al Fassia Aguedal
Al Fassia Aguedal
#86 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kasbah Agafay
Kasbah Agafay
#188 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Les Jardins de la Medina
Les Jardins de la Medina
#50 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,069 reviews
1.7 mi away
Albakech House
Albakech House
#129 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Melhoun
Riad Melhoun
#51 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Borjs de la Kasbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Borjs de la Kasbah

Address: Rue du Mechouar | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#33 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#33 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#36 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#56 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Borjs de la Kasbah 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Borjs de la Kasbah is a charming boutique hotel (opened in 2007) combining all the character of a traditional riad with the modern comforts and professionalism of a luxury hotel. Adjoining two borjs (defensive towers), the hotel stands at the southern edge of the walled city, close to the royal palace, a 15-20 min walk through the kasbah from the Place Jemaa. There are 18 rooms, 3 lounges, a bar, restaurant and meeting room, all with free internet access. In a separate, secluded part of the complex there is also a 10m swimming pool (a rarity in the kasbah), with poolside bar, and a spa with traditional hammam, treatment rooms and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Les Borjs de la Kasbah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Borjs De La Kasbah Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Borjs de la Kasbah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.