We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost a 5” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Borjs de la Kasbah

Save Saved
You added Les Borjs de la Kasbah to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue du Mechouar | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE NIGHT OFFERS
Ranked #53 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Almost a 5”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This is a really nice Riad, only a few niggling issues stopped me from rating it a 5.

We arranged a transfer with the hotel and the driver was waiting for us when we landed. It is a very short drive to the Riad and we were greeted with welcome drinks on arrival. The room was absolutely huge and well maintained. The whole property is a wonderful retreat from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech.

The Riad seems to be in a more local area of the Medina and we did not see as many tourists as we expected walking from there to the main square. However, this was probably an advantage as the area felt safe and was full of families both day and night. There was also far less hassle than nearer the square and souks. It takes about 15 minutes to walk to the main square and much of this is spent dodging traffic. This wasn't a problem for us but is definitly something to be aware of. On the plus side, taxis are able to pull up right outside here, which is impossible in some other areas.

The staff were consistently friendly and helpful, with excellent English. It was great to have the pool, especially in such heat. Drinks at the Riad are more expensive than outside but very reasonable by UK and international hotel standards. We booked a hammam and massage which was very good and also very reasonable.

There were 2 things that sold Les Borjs de la Kasbah to me when booking. 1. The air conditioning and 2. The wifi. However, these are two things that did not function well during our stay. The air conditioning was not cool enough and the wifi was incredibly patchy. I know this wouldn't bother many people but it was a nuisance when I was relying on it for an important work email.

I also found myself slightly dissapointed with breakfast. The cereal never had any bowls and when something was gone it was very rarely replenished. Some of the fruit also did not seem very fresh, but these are really just me being picky. All in all, a good choice of Riad, great atmosphere, friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    57
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
53
179
42
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Really enjoyed my stay here, the staff were wonderful and seemed genuinely happy to be there and to help. The property itself is beautiful, lovely Riad. Great pool, great fountain in the middle of the property, the room was very nice, shower was clean and seemed new. Wifi wasn't great, but frankly I'm not sure you're going to get very fast internet anywhere. Excursions arranged through the hotel were enjoyable and available at a decent price. The included breakfast was very good, I didn't try the lunch, dinner or spa, but all were offered at reasonable prices.

Nice public areas, was fun to watch the FIFA match with others staying in the hotel in the common TV room. TV also available in the rooms, lots of english channels.

The location was good, short walk away from the centre of the old city, overall everything was great - would not hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: I'm not sure you can really get a bad room, but you could get one facing the inside of the court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We arrived very late in the night and had arranged a pick up with the hotel in advance. The flight was early but the driver was only five minutes away. Arriving late and having never been to Marrakech did mean that when no-one answered the door for a little while, we got a little on edge but then we were welcomed in, greeted by the hotel director and shown to our room which was a great size and beautifully presented - right down to the rose petals on the bed everyday!

The pool is a good size and it's very refreshing, you can have food by the pool when the Moroccan heat gets too much and take a dip too. It's incredibly relaxing which is exactly what you need when you've walked the streets of Marrakech.

Food-wise, breakfast was included and a wide selection provided, including the Moroccan pancakes. When we overslept on our first day, they kept breakfast running a little longer for us and that sort of detail is typical of the hotel. We also ate one evening meal there which was very nice and not unreasonably priced by european standards.

We also took a spa treatment which was brilliant and hugely recommended too, the price is reasonable and the treatments are very relaxing (enough to make you fall asleep). If your aim is as ours was, to have a relaxing getaway for four days, Les Borjs de la Kasbah is ideal - you'll feel welcomed and the staff are really helpful, the reception staff speak English perfectly although a little French is helpful at times.

I'd say this is a hotel for couples, friends or solo travel rather than families - who may want a more resort style hotel with more activities for the kids but there was a family staying there who seemed to be enjoying it as well.

Room Tip: There are only 18 rooms here - we had 205 which was a beautifully arranged double room with a view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from this lovely hotel in the Kasbah after taking a cooking class. The very kind Miriam showed us how to cook a traditional Chicken Tagine, soup with dates and some lovely almond pastries. one of the reception staff was also with us translating as we don't speak French but that added to the class more. We were able to choose which dishes we wanted, but you must book ahead. I originally thought it was a little bit pricey at ?40 each but you do get to eat the meal afterwards for lunch and we enjoyed cooking together and had fun doing something new, and we were there for 4 hours all in. We ate by the pool and would have used the pool if we had remebered to bring our swimming costumes and could stayed on for evening drinks. It's a lovely hotel in a quiet part of the Kasbah, really charming with warm friendly staff and we may stay there next time we visit Marrakech.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We went to Marrakech early June. There are so many choices of where to stay, making a decision was very difficult, but we chose Les Borjs de la kasbah based good reviews, a recommendation of a friend and that they had a decent sized pool which is not that common for the riads.

We stayed in a suite because I was aware some of the rooms didn't have a shower but knew the suite had both and we wanted to make sure we had a shower. The suite was beautiful, big, decorated with such attention to detail. The room came with a plate of fruits, toiletries in the bathroom and complimentary water.

The Riad itself is beautiful, very clean, a lovely courtyard, lots of places to chill out and take things in. I am glad we chose somewhere with a pool as we spent a lot of time by it when it was abit too hot to go out walking. We were there at low season and it was still pretty busy so I would imagine at busier times you would struggle to find space round it.

The breakfasts were lovely, a selections of eggs, bread, pancake and fruits. No meat, sausages etc

We tried the Hamam and a massage, which was great. The massage was amazing! Highly recommended!

The staff were on the whole very friendly and welcoming. Service could be pretty slow, in the restaurant and bar, staff seem to disappear all together for long periods of times. I noticed guests at the restaurant having to knock on the door of the kitchen to get attention. But this seems to abit of a theme when reading reviews of hotels and eateries in Morrocco that generally service is relatively slow so I don't think this particularly unusual. But just something to be aware of, things are much slower paced!.

The location was ok, it's a 15-20 min walk to the main square, but it's not relaxing one, the locals tend to get around on motorbike driving them very fast down the little alleyways, so you do have to have your wits about you. They also try to trick by telling you roads are closed when they aren't! So make sure you know where you are going.

I think this place is beautiful but perhaps a little isolated ..I would definitely come back here again if I wanted to get away from it all. But if I wanted to be in and around the action, the nice restaurants shops etc, I would probably chose something more central Overall a lovely place and lovely holiday.

Room Tip: If you can, go for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We could not believe the peace and calm that you experience in this wonderful riad, once you step through the door off the street. The welcome started with mint tea and patisserie in the courtyard to the gentle sound of birds and the fountain. Everywhere was spotless, the staff immaculate in their outfits and with a ready smile and greeting at all times. With temperatures outside nearing 40 degrees the air-conditioning in the room was really effective and when combined with a very comfortable bed we slept well during our 3 night stay. We really enjoyed our breakfasts - especially the fresh fruit and omelettes but, due to the draw of Jemaa el-Fna Square and other evening entertainment, we only managed one evening meal at the riad, but that was excellent. We really hope to return to Morocco and this is definitely where we would always want to stay in Marrakech.

Room Tip: Room 204 was ideal for us - it didn't seem to get direct sunlight and had a good view of the cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

This was our first night stay in a 13 day Morocco tour. Looking back I would say it provides a good view of the overall Riad experience. It has a nice garden area with a good sized pool for a Riad. The seating around the garden is in a very comfortable alcove type arrangement with some privacy but a community feel. The food was always well done with the ever present Tangine and Grill options. As we noted with all Moroccan hosts the service is an interesting blend of traditional waiting and do it yourself. You will need to reach out for assistance more than you are used to but the response is always warmly received and well executed. The rooms are comfortable with very firm beds that are a standard everywhere we went and a clean layout. Given it is a Medina location and in densely populated surroundings the views and light in the room are limited but the space is open and airy. Internet is spotty everywhere so you have to find the zone that works - here is was out in an alcove off the garden.

All in all we a glad this location was selected for the first phase of our trip and we would certainly consider it if we return to Marrakech.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Borjs de la Kasbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Borjs de la Kasbah

Address: Rue du Mechouar | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#20 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#35 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Borjs de la Kasbah 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Borjs de la Kasbah is a charming boutique hotel (opened in 2007) combining all the character of a traditional riad with the modern comforts and professionalism of a luxury hotel. Adjoining two borjs (defensive towers), the hotel stands at the southern edge of the walled city, close to the royal palace, a 15-20 min walk through the kasbah from the Place Jemaa. There are 18 rooms, 3 lounges, a bar, restaurant and meeting room, all with free internet access. In a separate, secluded part of the complex there is also a 10m swimming pool (a rarity in the kasbah), with poolside bar, and a spa with traditional hammam, massage rooms and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Les Borjs de la Kasbah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Borjs De La Kasbah Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Borjs de la Kasbah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.